Share Your World – 2014 Week 6

It has been a busy week, what with appointments, errands, household chores and repair jobs, and I have had little time to think about blogging. Alright, I will confess I have also spent some time in front of the TV, watching Olympics events – but that is my patriotic duty, right? In any case, I am taking time now to sit down and spit out a few words in response to Cee’s weekly challenge to share my world.

1. Have you watched or plan to watch any of the 2014 Winter Olympics? Oh! Got a little ahead of myself and answered this one already. Yes. I have and do.

2. What is your favorite winter Olympic event? Would you ever want to be an expert in that sport? My favorite is figure skating. I love the grace and beauty of the sport, all mixed in with the incredible strength and athleticism required. The sparkly costumes also attract my attention because I do like my sparkly things. Would I want to be an expert? Nah, I don’t think so. I can enjoy it without a whole lot of knowledge about it.

3. Have you ever met an Olympic Athlete? No, I haven’t. Oh wait! Yes, I have as a matter of fact. We met Nancy Kwan in Arrowhead, California several years ago when she trained there. Such a pretty, tiny little thing with so much talent.

4. Do you have a favorite athlete? Name sport. Nancy Kwan was my favorite when she was competing. Now, I can’t think of anyone but I would call any athlete that has strong values, puts family and helping others first, a favorite. I’d so like it if our athletes would always remember that they are role models for our youth, whether they want to be or not.

5. What is your favorite exercise or sport? Is there a reason why? Umm. I hate exercising, unless it can be concealed as an enjoyable activity, something fun. So, exercising for me would be walking and/or swimming. Favorite sport? To participate in or to watch? Makes a difference you know. To watch would be figure skating, and football is okay too. To participate in? When I was in high school part of our PE class was archery. I’d like to do that again.

While so many of you have been deluged with the wrath of Old Man Winter and Mother Nature, we have had an unusually warm and dry winter. The past couple of days (and, if we can believe our weather forecasters, the next couple to come) have been wet however – rainy wet, not the cold white stuff. And when the weather outside is just too wet, at least one of my girls finds ways to amuse herself inside.

20140213-102842.jpg
She found the basket where I keep my trash bags.

20140213-103305.jpg
She would really rather be out there than inside looking out.

To all of you, a day filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 6

  1. Trisha says:

    What a gorgeous kitty!

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Cats are drawn to bags…. I adored reading your answers. I remember Nancy Kwan….thanks so much for sharing and playing! See you next week.

    Like

  3. lisa says:

    Whenever I watch the Olympics I marvel at the sheer beauty of the human body and its abilities. Not mine, mind you…..but theirs! Figure skating brings out the grace and gorgeous form; the skiing/boarding/speed skating events drive home the power and magnificence of a body’s strength. On a weather note, we’re being treated to days in the 40s and 50s over the next week and I’m so looking forward to a break. xoxo

    Like

  4. When Patrick and Dougan ā€” our two tuxedo cats who lived to be 18 ā€” were still alive, they loved to play with cellophane type paper; anything that made a noise when pounced on!

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    I’m impressed by so many of the events. Figure skating used to be my favorite, but now I like to watch lots of them. Except curling. I just cannot muster interest.
    I am like your cat; I’d rather be out there than inside looking out. Luckily, it was warm today so we rearranged our work schedules and went skiing earlier. About to start the second half of my workday now šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Figure skating has always been my favorite, for many of the same reasons. This season I have also taken great interest in snowboarding. I would never dream of riding on a board, shooting up into the air and twisting around and upside down and around again while still landing on my feet. I looks very extreme and thrilling but I’ll enjoy it from the sidelines thank you. The good news about the snow we are receiving is that tomorrow I will be able to cross country ski. No need to only enjoy that on tv.

    Like

  7. surprisebjg says:

    Such a cute cat and lovely blog!

    Like

  8. Karma says:

    I used to follow figure skating quite closely for a while. I remember Michelle Kwan, but not Nancy. Do you know if they are sisters or something? I loved Michelle Kwan in her day. I also remember all the drama of Nancy Kerrigan and Tonya Harding. What a spotlight was put on women’s figure skating that year.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Oh dear. Michelle does have a sister named Nancy who did also skate for awhile, but I was referring to Michelle. Sometimes my old brain fails me – I always say I need a “defrag” button for it.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  9. Kathy says:

    As someone without a TV, I must admit to not watching the Olympics. However, when we had a TV I did not watch. (Except sometimes the figure skaters back when our daughter was skating.) I suppose it’s possible to watch on-line if one were so inclined. It’s good to have something that interests us to do during this long winter. Even if yours hasn’t been that bad.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

