Projects Go On and On

My time has been full of late. Full of projects. Some still linger, waiting to be completed. Others are done. Thank goodness for those that are done! I have taken this weekend off, but must complete what remains unfinished soon because my cruise is coming up and by the time we return from that, it will be outside project time. See? Projects are like The Blob – spreading, consuming, absorbing. Satisfying.

To the dining area first – where the wall was painted and furniture rearranged. Right now it looks like this

20140209-082207.jpg
This is going to change, because this does not make me happy. Things are on order and I will follow up once they arrive and the changes are made. But before it looked like that, it looked like this

20140209-082422.jpg
But that changed because I rearranged the family room

20140209-082507.jpg
and needed to move the tree to the corner behind the couch. You see? For all things there is a reason. The reason for the furniture rearrangement was two-fold: the couch sat along the wall in front of the three windows but it blocked too much of the windows to suit me. The chairs were along the end wall, forming an L-shape of furniture. I grew weary of that. It seemed to be “furniture-all-in-a-row”. Boring. Tiresome. Change needed. Change accomplished.

And then there was that glass tile I bought for the kitchen backsplash. The tile I bought last May, but never installed because I knew it was a job that required a good block of time without interruption. So the tile lived in the garage with all of the needed supplies, waiting patiently. Waiting. This is what it looked like before:

20140209-083015.jpg
and after the tile was installed, but before it was grouted

20140209-083116.jpg
I learned some things when I did the grouting. I learned I hate grouting these little tiles with all of these joints. I learned that grout does not necessarily hide a multitude of sins, but actually emphasizes a multitude of sins, to my eyes at least. I learned that there is no such thing as completely level – my cabinets have this ever so-slight off-level thing going on, therefore the pre-installed blue tiles (which I had learned earlier on could not be removed unless I was willing to have drywall replaced) were not completely level, which means. . . I’ll let you guess on that one. I learned that even though the instructions on the box tell you to mix the whole ten pounds at once, that’s a bad idea. At least when the grouter is very slow in her work. I learned that as a result, I’ll be buying more grout before I finish the on-going project in the utility room (that’s another story). But finally the tile was grouted, cleaned and things put back on the counter

20140209-083651.jpg
closer

20140209-083720.jpg
and still closer

20140209-083747.jpg
because the grout cannot be sealed until Monday. However, the grout will wait to be sealed until after I’ve purchased sealer in a spray bottle because what I bought is in a bottle with a little brush – you know what that means, right? Yep. I am not, I repeat NOT, going to stand there and brush each little seam with the sealer in the bottle with the little brush. Nope. I refuse. Not gonna do that!

I hear you, you know. You’re saying “she said there were projects completed – what projects are those?” Well, the completed project (I should not have used the plural obviously) is the rearranging of the furniture in the family room. See? One project done! We won’t talk about the number of projects (plural works there) undone. Much talk at least. Since I’ve already talked about them.

Today? Today I’ll watch Olympics. And maybe diddle around a little bit with odds and ends. Or not. I’m not punching a time clock. I have only to answer to me. And maybe you, now that I’ve brought it up.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Projects Go On and On

  1. suzicate says:

    Impressive! Don’t think I’m brave enough to try tiling, but wish I was!

    Like

  2. sjbchamp85 says:

    Very impressive, Carol. I did tile once — and if I decide to do it again I’ll hire someone to do it. (We must keep the economy running, right?) You get a couple of “atta girls” for what you’ve accomplished.

    Like

  3. Dear Carol,
    You have been busy! I feel strongly about not covering windows with furniture. The light is too precious to block, so I think the moved furniture is a great improvement. I am SO impressed that you did all that tiling yourself. I’m glad you gave us a close-up shot. I really like the shiny strip of accent tiles you added. It looks great. Keep us posted on future projects. I love before and after shots.
    Enjoy the Olympics. You deserve a day off!
    You mentioned a cruise in your post. Did I somehow miss a previous post about a cruise? Where are you going?

    Like

  4. My hat is off to YOU! I’m not brave enough to give tiling and grouting a go, so there’s no way under God’s blue sky that I would criticize anyone else’s work. And your’s looks FANTASTIC! And I love the angled furniture arrangement!

    Like

  5. Robin says:

    Love the tile. It’s very pretty. And very impressive that you did it yourself. I have a similar project waiting on me in my new kitchen. And other projects all over the house and outside. I might have to live forever to complete them all. lol!

    Like

  6. pattisj says:

    Your family room looks so inviting, good choice on furniture placement. Now you can sit and see out those windows, too! Nice work on the tile job. That had to be a big, time-consuming job. I would gladly let you do mine!

    Like

  7. Tiling can be very difficult. We redid our master bath and had all kinds of issues. Thankfully the results were satisfactory and we are able to enjoy our new master bath. You mentioned a cruise. Did I miss something? Where are you headed?

    Like

  8. Heather says:

    For what it’s worth, your glass mosaic looks better to my eyes than the one we installed. I’m pretty sure I just used a sponge to apply the sealer. I decided to smear it over the tiles too 😉
    Funny how projects can pile up like cleaning. You go to pick up one thing, and then before you know it, you’ve remodeled the kitchen. Hope your day today was as relaxing as you needed.

    Like

  9. LG says:

    Beautiful.
    You inspire me to reorg/redecorate the house.

    Like

  10. Mission accomplished! And yes, you only have yourself to answer to, and not even us! We’re happy with anything that makes you happy. On whatever time schedule you choose. Progress comes in increments. When is your cruise? I’m sure you’re excited. 🙂

    Like

  11. dawnkinster says:

    I am exhausted. We need a back splash too…want to travel to MI? I think your work is wonderful!

    Like

  12. lisa says:

    The words projects and completed are never successfully combined. One project always leads to another…and another….and another….! Just think of it as a journey. 🙂 And I’m enjoying the scenery! xoxo

    Like

  13. Kathy says:

    Carol, I hate to say this but I am so happy for you. Your life was in a holding pattern for so long. And now it’s a time for change. And you are changing… This is beautiful, all of it.

    Like

  14. Karma says:

    Wow beautiful job on your backsplash! I am impressed. I’ve been wanting a new tile floor for my kitchen for years, and there always seems to be a reason not to get it done. I’ve considered learning to do it myself just to get it done, but a kitchen floor is a really daunting sounding job. I don’t remember you mentioning going on a cruise previously! How exciting! I loved the two cruises I’ve been on in my lifetime and do hope to do it again sometime. I hope you have a fabulous time.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

