Sea Swan and Gulf Winds Won my Heart

20140129-093026.jpg
Can you tell what I’ve been doing?

20140129-093121.jpg
The second hint. You’re so clever! You figured it out right away, didn’t you? Yes, I’ve been painting – those walls that were once a dark cranberry red that I grew weary of a couple of years ago but could not decide what new color I would use. Then I bought a couple of throw pillows for the family room, and another, and then another, and I realized each of them had a turquoise in varying degrees of brightness – like Swan Sea and a shade darker, Gulf Winds. Ah ha! Decision made.

Before I painted the dining area wall looked like this, except for a change made after the picture was taken

20140129-102517.jpg
After this picture was taken, I got more of the varied tans stucco type paint (fresco, I think Ralph Lauren called it) and splotched more of it on to tone down the too-much red that showed through and the gold.
And now, the new look

20140129-102821.jpg
I’m not sure if you can see the difference, but the arched area is the darker shade – Gulf Winds. I’ve decided I need new wall hangings for that area, and for the end wall that you cannot see in this photo. I need something with more colors – to break up the blues. Spots of color that jump out and say “hello!” Perhaps tomorrow I’ll go to town and see what I can see. I talked with husband as I painted – when I asked him if he liked it, he responded from up in his place of comfort and peace in the heavens that it was not the color he could have chosen, but he supposed if I liked it that was all that mattered. That was good – I did not expect more. He has always been patient with my whims, in the years before the cancer changed him, and I was pleased that he was back to his real self.

And then, into the morning room, where it had an wall in the same red

20140129-104014.jpg
Things had gone very well the first day. No incidents to bring sour words from my lips. The morning room was the day 2 project, and it started off well. Started. You’ll note I said “started”. Until I moved to the other side of the arch, arranging the ladder, setting the roller pan of paint on top of the ladder with an extra support under it and climbed up. Until I reached further then I should have from that ladder step one step lower than I should have been. Until I bumped the roller pan. Until the roller pan tumbled down, splattering paint. Everywhere. The photographer in me must have been asleep, because I failed to grab the camera, which was nearby by the way, to document my incident. For some odd reason, my primary concern was cleaning up. The floor had puddles of paint, it was running down the wall – primarily the wall I was going to paint fortunately, it was – a mess! I wiped, I scrubbed, I sprayed the floor with latex paint remover, hauled out scrub bucket and scrub brush, paint came up, mission accomplished! I made some very clean spots on the floor, and discovered that the vinyl floor covering has little flecks of that color in it anyway. Who knew?
Except

20140129-104926.jpg
The good news is I just bought a quart of the tan paint so I can repaint the arch. And I have the white paint for the baseboard. It could have been so much worse. And it made the story of my painting adventure so much more interesting.

It’s the things that don’t go exactly as planned that add flavor to our lives, don’t you think? That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sea Swan and Gulf Winds Won my Heart

  1. suzicate says:

    Painting is hard work! Every time I decide to change a paint scream, I really want to kick myself in the butt about ten minutes after I start. I want to make some changes but I really don’t want the back and headaches that go with it! Yours looks good and is inspiring me though!

    Like

  2. Dear Carol,
    It looks great! What a story, and what a recovery. Painting is a little like vacuuming or making a bed. You do that one thing–just one thing–and it makes all the difference in the world. Painting is harder than running the vacuum, but it is SO gratifying! Beautiful job. And I love that you have your real husband back in your heart and memories. It took me a long time to get beyond that painful period of illness and those months that I nursed her. It was such a gift to get beyond them, and I was able to do so by telling and remembering the stories about the wonderful adventurous funny and unusual person that she was, before the cancer had claimed her.
    Do you have any more home projects in mind? Please keep us posted. I really enjoy the before and after pictures!
    Love,
    Naomi

    Like

  3. Trisha says:

    I love the new look!

    Like

  4. Love this! And I love that you’re following those creative impulses and evolving this space… it will be fun to see what colorful thing or things you find to hang on those blue walls!

    Like

  5. Robin says:

    I love your new colors. I am a fan of blue. I love that you conversed with your husband about the change; and your memory of him. I would not have a good sense of humor about spilled paint – yes, it is a more interesting story.

    Our walls in our new home are still the builder’s off-white, and I can’t wait to paint them in the summer.

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    Glad the paint clean-up wasn’t too bad. Did it require a glass of wine?
    We got rid of one of the blues in our house, but it wasn’t fresh and nice like yours. I really like the two new colors (you can definitely tell a difference in them). More importantly, I’m glad Pat has accepted this new color and your need for it!

    Like

  7. lisa says:

    It’s the things that don’t go exactly as planned that add flavor to our lives, Yes, like the flavors of Merlot, Malbec, Shiraz and Pinot Noir! I really love the change in color. It looks so serene and peaceful.

    Like

  8. Great project! What a nice change of colors to create a refreshing feeling to that room. I am glad husband approved. As for the spill- nothing ventured, nothing gained. Sure it was a pain to clean up, but the sense of satisfaction when your room looked brand new and welcoming to future dinner parties, all from the stroke of your own brush, makes these projects worth doing. Congrats on a job well done!

    Like

  9. Carol, I’m sure it makes you very happy to make some changes as you explore the new you. I like the lighter color and I’m sure it cheers you up. It will be fun shopping for new colorful wall decor to enliven the area even more. It’s good your husband is indulging your whims now that he’s pain- free and in a better place. It’s great you can have a sense of humor, and wonder, about him.

    Oh well, what paint job would be complete without some frustration or crazy paint-splattering accident? It comes with the territory, at least in my painting experience. Kudos to you! 🙂

    Like

  10. Dawn says:

    Painting is not my favorite chore, but I can see how it would be fun to make those decisions without compromise and then see it all come together! I love your color choices!

    Like

  11. Kathy says:

    Oh no–what a crazy paint story. I can not imagine painting a room and thus admire your gumption so much. So much new energy in your life!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

