Share Your World — 2014

I am taking what I view as a well-deserved break to play with Cee’s Challenge, a slightly different take on sharing our worlds.

But first – the past few days have been busy – the last two with painting the walls in my dining area and morning room that were a dark cranberry red – they are now Sea Swan and Gulf Winds. That’s another story – perhaps tomorrow. The days before that were busy shopping – necessary shopping. For my new adventure in March. That’s also another story for another day.

And now, to Cee’s questions.

1. Do you recharge your energy by going out with friends for a good time or by spending with quiet time alone? I must have quiet time alone to recharge – I pull into myself, which sometimes creates misunderstandings, but it is something I have to do. When I am recharged, then I want to go out with friends. An uncharged me does not communicate.

2. What is the most number of blankets you’ve ever had on your bed? In the years that I can remember, two. Or a blanket and a quilt or bedspread. Now I have fleece sheets (heaven!) and a comforter and that is more than enough most nights. I like it cool when I sleep – I have my thermostat set for 55 at night. There may have been times in the past that is beyond my memory scope that I used more blankets. Possibly.

3. You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met. Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself? Those of you who are familiar with my answers know what’s coming on this one, don’t you? It depends (no surprises there!). It would depend on who the fascinating people are, my energy level, what else is going on, where the party was and what kind of party it appeared it would be. Not saying I’d wait to take the best offer, but I think if close friends were having something going on at the same time, I’d choose them over a world full of fascinating strangers.

4. Do you like talking to people on the phone? Or do you prefer voice mail or email? In distant past years, when I was in my teens and twenties, I spent a lot of time on the phone. But in my middle years, when I was an escrow professional, the eight hour official work days were spent on the phone for at least 95% of the time. Real work was done once the office closed and workdays were often 12-14 hours long. Plus some time on weekends. Those years burned my ears off and soured my attitude towards the telephone in any form. Now I only make calls if I absolutely must because there is no other way to take care of what needs to be done – Gracious One, you really need to decide texting is a good thing! So in answer to your question, I prefer email or text. Voice mail involves the phone.

No photos this week – see excuses above. Instead, I shall simply wish you enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Share Your World — 2014

  1. suzicate says:

    I prefer texting over talking, too! However, there are some exceptions to this, one of which is my mother. I talk to her every day, sometimes several times.

    Like

  2. Unlike suzicate, above, my daughter always wants me to text her; I’d prefer to talk, so this preference of hers is frustrating, to say the least. It gets frustrating when your own daughter never picks up the phone and continually asks that I text instead! I agree with you, Carol, that a {small} party of close friends is better than a party full of fascinating strangers. 🙂

    Like

  3. jay53 says:

    I hate talking on the phone, and really only want to talk with close friends and relatives, and sometimes not even then. I like my solitude, too.

    I like it cool at night, too, but I think 55F might be pushing it, even for me! We usually have the thermostat set on 17C, because OH feels the cold so much and it’s a compromise. When the boiler has been playing up I’ve turned it down to 16C to make it turn right off and I’ve slept a lot better. The dogs don’t like it so much, though!

    Like

  4. Many of my answers are similar this week. Texting or email is much more convenient, but I do love hearing everyone’s voice at least once a week. And my mom I talk with 3 to 4 times. I look forward to hearing about your new projects and trip.

    Like

  5. I agree – phoning doesn’t hold the fascination it once did. Still, there is nothing quite like hearing the voice of any one of my children!

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    You’ve answered the party question perfectly! Besides, who says these people are fascinating? Have they met my friends? 😉
    Hope you took before/after paint photos. Looking forward to seeing your cool new color. Speaking of cool, we set the thermostat to 55F overnight, too. You’re the first person I’ve talked to who didn’t think we were nuts! Or maybe you do, in which case we’re nuts together.

    Like

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    A small party with friends…that would be my preference too. I adored your answers as always. Thanks for taking the time to play with all of us Carol!

    Like

  8. Trisha says:

    Fleece sheets – that does sound like heaven!

    Like

  9. pattisj says:

    I blame my years of being bound to a desk/phone for the reason I choose not to go near one now. I was going to include it in my answer, but then didn’t. I’m glad I’m not the only one. Enjoyed reading your answers, I’ll bet that new paint is gorgeous! Can’t wait to hear what is coming up for you in the near future.

    Like

  10. lisa says:

    Blankets? I thought that’s why we have dogs and cats?! I think I love the names of your new paint colors. Can’t wait to see the finished project. And fascinating people parties are over-rated. Give me an intimate gathering of friends any day.

    Like

  11. Robin says:

    I spent a lot of time on the phone as part of the jobs I’ve had, too, and have a similar aversion to it now. Fleece sheets?? Why haven’t I heard of those? I must look into this… 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

