Taking a Day to Wander

Earlier in the week, the big furry girls and I hopped in the van – okay, so Shasta hopped, Bailey clambered and I climbed – and drove up this road through patches of heavy fog and patches of sunshine

20140118-105208.jpg
past pastures that are empty because – in the winter the cattle go to California

20140118-105306.jpg
and down this road

20140118-105507.jpg
to a campground devoid of activity because – in the winter campers go to Arizona.

20140118-105726.jpg
We wandered down to the river, through snow that was deeper than I’d anticipated – should have worn the higher boots!

20140118-105858.jpg
where the girls could decide which way to go

20140118-105934.jpg
and I could happily point my camera and click downriver

20140118-110010.jpg
and at this snow and frost covered bough

20140118-110113.jpg
and at the lichen and mosses that seem to thrive despite the snow, the fog, the freezing temperatures.

20140118-110233.jpg
We walked awhile, the girls gathering a great deal of information, me breathing deeply in the frosty air and luxuriating in being out there in it, until the my nose glowed red and Bailey began to slow down.

We had had enough for that day, and headed home via another road. And then – one more stop, an impulse I’m happy I gave in to. But, you’ll have to wait till another day for that story. Don’t you hate being left hanging?

To be continued . . . .

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Taking a Day to Wander

  1. The hook is firmly baited β€” all you have to do is reel me in for the “to be continued” part two πŸ™‚ Love the photos!

    Like

  2. Love a walk in the crisp winter snow! Thanks for taking me along. No snow for us here in Virginia, at least not now, although today it was firmly below freezing. Waiting for part 2…. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. dawnkinster says:

    Glad you got out there, wasn’t that beautiful! Love frozen fog! Can’t wait to hear what happens next…

    Like

  4. pattisj says:

    Lovely surroundings, thanks for sharing them with us.

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    Joke’s on you πŸ˜‰ I was away from the computer, so I get to read it all at once πŸ™‚
    That river has gorgeous water! So happy for the three of you to get to explore it. And isn’t it nice to have a place all to yourselves, when the cattle and campers remove to warmer locales?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Aren’t you the clever one? Yes it is very nice to be all alone, free to explore without restriction. I can’t do both dogs on leashes, so warmer weather explorations will require some sacrifice by the furry girls.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

      • Heather says:

        I expect two leashes is a bit tough to wrangle, but I’m sure they won’t mind taking turns. By which I mean I’m sure they’ll learn to deal with it πŸ™‚

        Like

  6. lisa says:

    Sequels! I love sequels! Sounds like quite the invigorating day for everyone. Gorgeous shots. Loved them all. xox

    Like

  7. jeshStG says:

    Beautiful snow pics:) and I like your writing style:)

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

