Retail Therapy

This past weekend has been devoted to a therapy for healing – nothing new certainly. It’s been practiced by many generations before me and I’m sure will continue with generations to follow. The title of this post has,of course, given it all away – retail therapy!

There are things I have wanted to change for awhile now. Many of the things husband and I furnished this house with were choices made by compromise – we all know about that, don’t we? It’s a necessary component in any relationship. Rarely did I really mind those compromises, although in some ways my heart yearned for something different. My biggest need over the past few months has been a need for color. Color! Weary of the muted tones we had chosen for most of our decor.

So on Friday I trekked to town, meeting the Artistic One for a visit to Big Lots followed by lunch. It is reassuring to have a partner in crime when it comes to spending money that maybe would be best left unspent, you know.

20140106-091420.jpg
Ahhh – so comfy, so cozy, so dog-hair-resistant. Yes, she said. YES! I said.
The pillows I had purchased over the past couple of months – developing a new color scheme. The throw was a gift from the Artistic One – a Sark throw, all about dogs. Fitting, she thought. Fitting, I think.
Now – artwork! Artwork with color. YES! I said. She agreed.

20140106-091700.jpg
For one wall, just because it delighted me.

20140106-091751.jpg
We chose the lower two on Friday, but after looking at them hanging on that wall with so much space above them, the Gracious One and I made a trip back to Big Lots yesterday and I purchased the top one. It just called for that extra, that last block of colors that called the eyes, and my spirits, upward.
There is that dark red wall in the dining area – the wall with the faux-painted arched area, my attempt to add a piece of Tuscan architecture. Or something. In the beginning, I liked it, but over the years its darkness has become oppressive. Time to lighten up! I think I have found my new colors.

20140106-092221.jpg
The top two colors – the lighter for the bulk of the wall, the darker for the arched area and the arched wall leading from the morning room to the kitchen. I’m not sure how well the colors replicate in this photo, but you get the idea.

Retail therapy – I recommend it. Although the husbands of the friends that picked up the new couch, squeezed it through my doors and into my family/living room, hauling out the old oh-so-heavy couch that made into a bed, have suggested if I feel a need to buy more big pieces of furniture I contract with a mover. As further justification for my retail therapy, the old couch was purchased from the Gracious One and her husband when we moved here – between the two of us, that couch has survived 28 years of use. It done us good!

I am making my imprint on what is now my house. It is uplifting. Today I box up old, useless books and make space for colorful baskets to put on those shelves – which baskets will become holders of yarn and craft supplies. The living room, which also is the computer room, has been mostly unused for the 14 years we’ve had this house – time for it to become more functional, to be my room for sewing (if I choose), crafting, creating, dreaming. The back bedroom can be released from its prison of holding too many things in too small a space and can become, simply, a bedroom. The bedroom my Kat uses when she is here, just as the middle bedroom is simply a bedroom. The bedroom my Gep uses when he is here.

Life moves on. Filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Retail Therapy

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Carol, I so enjoyed going along on your retail therapy adventures as you wrote. This is time for you and healing. I am one who adores color so of course I could appreciate all your purchases!!!

    Like

  2. I am glad you are seeing this type of therapy as a way to make some positive changes. Besides,January is dark and dreary enough. Color sounds great!

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    Good for you! This is a wonderful step of moving forward and following your spirit.

    Like

  4. I’m so glad to see you getting out and grabbing your dreams and creating a new space for your creative self. I love it all! It looks like this was just what you needed to lift your soul. xxx

    Like

  5. Carol – You’re rockin’ the color world. I love what you’ve done ā€” it’s positive, uplifting, constructive, and healing.

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    I can’t think of anyone who deserves some retail therapy more. Glad you went with colorful options; winter looks like it could drag this year and color inside will be just the thing šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. lisa says:

    Retail therapy is always good for what ails a person! Secretly, I have a list of things I’d change if Entrepreneur wasn’t around. But I’m not in a hurry to redecorate just yet. šŸ™‚ I love the new look and think it will reflect a bright future!

    Like

  8. Joanne says:

    I love your choice of wall pictures Carol, they are certain to lift you heart each time you look at them! Your plans for turning your home into your very own usable space are coming along brilliantly. šŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Robin says:

    Sometimes retail therapy is the perfect therapy, and I’m sure this is one of those times. I love what you’ve done so far, and look forward to following along as you imprint the house with your sights and sounds and flavors. šŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Kathy says:

    I am happy for you, Carol. How intriguing it would be too be able to decorate a house JUST the way one wanted, without making compromises. However, it’s also sad that one must lose a partner to have that “opportunity”. Glad you were able to shop and choose some color, some life. It’s been a long time you’ve been nursing…

    Like

  11. Trisha says:

    I love all your choices! In fact I think I have the same couch. It’s comfy and so nice that it’s never covered in pet hair.

    Like

  12. dawnkinster says:

    Great choices! Glad you got a bit of retail therapy in!

    Like

  13. Robin says:

    I’m not a fan of shopping in general, unless it is decorating. I understand compromise. What great fun to choose new furniture, paintings, accessories and colors! Beautiful šŸ™‚

    Like

  14. jay53 says:

    Twenty-eight years? It certainly IS time for a new sofa – and I applaud your choice! We’ve had leather here for almost as long as we’ve had dogs and have never regretted that choice. We have yellow leather sofa and chairs in the lounge and they stand up remarkably well to everything we throw at them (sometimes literally!). As to the artwork, ‘because it delighted me’ is absolutely the best reason for choosing art. For a long time we had none, but now we have a lot; photographs, movie posters, original artwork of various types, and my eye is drawn to it so often. It really does enrich my life.

    I’m so glad to hear that you have a lot of support and love surrounding you. And the dogs to curl up with when everyone has gone home, of course.

    Like

  15. Dear Carol,
    I am delighted to read of your ‘retail therapy’! This kind of change is good, and it’s so wonderful to have a partner, especially an Artistic One, to help and encourage one in one’s choices. My sister is my Artistic One, and she went to the paint store with me when I needed more color in my life. All the neutral walls were covered with sienna, the bathroom with purple and aqua and magenta, my son’s room with marigold and orange (his choice!), and our bedroom with a sage green. But now you have inspired me to go couch shopping! Keep us posted!
    Love,
    Naomi

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

