Share Your World -2013 Week 38

Today it’s time to play along with Cee and share some more of my world, because yesterday I was too busy sharing my run-away-day. Here goes!

1. What were you most likely doing on this day when you were 12 years old? I would have been in school. But don’t ask me where, because we moved around so much I can’t remember where I lived when. Somewhere in the midwest, certainly – or maybe Florida. I remember we lived outside of Pensacola, Florida during part of the winter when I was 12, and it snowed there that year. Not a lot, but still, they aren’t used to seeing white stuff on the ground.

2. If you could write about, paint a picture or photograph any scenery you’ve seen before, what scene would your use? Oh gosh. Do you mean one I haven’t already taken a picture of? Maybe an old, nearly falling down barn. In the eastern part of the country, because that’s where you find the best barns. Well, okay, east of the Rockies. I would imagine the family that lived on that farm/ranch, and the stories the barn could tell.

3. What is one of your favorite quotes? There are many quotes I love, but of course I can’t recall any of them now that I need one. Almost always, it’ll be something from Mark Twain or A.A. Milne. For today, it’s Mark Twain: A man cannot be comfortable without his own approval.

4. What is your favorite type of dog? (can be anything from a specific breed, a stuffed animal or character in a movie) I love labs – those gentle, intelligent, eager-to-please (for the most part) lovers. I do not love the constant shedding however. I have met few dogs that I didn’t love, like a lot, or couldn’t live with. Anything too frenetic would make me crazy I think, and some of those with high-pitched yappiness would not be my favorites. But usually, if it has fur and big eyes, it’s my friend. Old Yeller, Marley, Hachi from Hachi: A Dog’s Tale. I cry when bad things happen to good dogs.

Today, just a couple of photos – because my photo gallery is full of the yet-unshown Crater Lake pictures which will come another day.

20131029-122936.jpg
Having a cup of tea on the deck with husband after my Crater Lake adventure, the Nuthatches were gathering to quench their thirst. Tea time all around.

20131029-123349.jpg
After my Ran Away from Home post, Jay asked where the picture of the Nepal-made bag was – the one I’d bought in the gift store. Remember? It was the one calling my name the loudest. So, especially for Jay, here it is!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World -2013 Week 38

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks so much Carol for sharing. I can see where you remember it snowing in Florida!!

    Like

  2. “A man cannot be comfortable without his own approval.” — Mark Twain

    yes, Yes, YES!

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    I wouldn’t know where to start on answering these questions. They always require multifaceted answers, but dang these are tough!
    I’m much more about expected health and looks of a dog. I can still provide one plenty of exercise (and have a treadmill for “off” days), so I wouldn’t worry too much about a pup having too much energy. Of course, I say this from the safety of having only cats.
    Love that bag! I can see how it called to you 🙂

    Like

  4. lisa says:

    These answers always require so much deep thought. I commend you for being able to focus long enough to share these tidbits of info with us! And I cry when bad things happen to any dog…even the bad ones because deep down inside, I know they are only bad because they’ve had hard lives and/or bad owners.

    Like

  5. What about a covred bridge photo? Are those common out west? Unfortunately, the extreme weather has been taking them out one by one. As for dogs, I love my lab mix but my specialty Cockapoo is the snuggle bug. He acts as dog-like as a bigger breed, but ismuch more willing to cuddle on command. Also, non shedding is a plus!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      We have several covered bridges not too far from here and I’ve gotten several pictures of those as well as some from our trip back east a few years ago. For some reason I don’t have barns. Yes, non-shedding would be a real plus. I tell people who visit that the white Shasta hair is a bonus – no charge. Bailey is part laband has completely different hair.

      >

      Like

  6. Trisha says:

    All those dog stories make me cry too. And, like you, I’ve rarely met a dog I didn’t love. And speaking of love, I love that bag!

    Like

  7. Myas says:

    Yes, love the bag…

    Like

  8. Robin says:

    I love the bag, too. The Nuthatches are so cute, gathered around the water bowl. 🙂

    Like

  9. jay53 says:

    I LOVE YOUR BAG!!! It’s even in my favourite colours! I completely understand why you had to buy it, now. It looks a perfect size, and all comfy, soft and squishy! Thanks for posting the picture!

    I love your nuthatches, too. I am a little envious because they’re quite rare birds here.

    As to the questions, there are some intriguing ones. Like you, I’d have been at school; possibly in my first few weeks in my new school and feeling a bit lost. The favourite dog breed would be easy, of course, but the scene from the past? Now that would take some thinking about! Maybe Hell’s Gate in Rotorua, New Zealand. I could have fun painting all that bubbling mud!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

