Life – the Seasons, the Changes, the Challenges

20131024-181922.jpg
The layers of leaves lying on the ground under the trees make me want to walk through them, listening to the crunch. The leaves and the colors – they say fall. We are having an incredibly beautiful fall season this year, and I am loving it. Do you supposed Mother Nature is taking pity on me, so we’ll have fall through November? Hope is eternal.

20131024-182127.jpg
In previous years, the little gooseberry leaves have browned and fallen without a display of color. This year they are smiling, showing us how pretty they are. It just takes time to grow out of that gangly stage so that beauty can begin to bloom, just like humans. We go through stages before our true beauty begins to show, but the beauty does not go away. It just changes, matures, sheds its dewy youthfulness and develops character.

20131024-182851.jpg
In every season, in every stage of life, there are surprises. Things erupt, bloom, fade; challenges rise up. Some of the surprises, some of the challenges are good and add color and joy to our lives. Some surprises, some challenges add stress and sadness. Through all of these surprises and challenges we strive to do the best we can. Sometimes we meet the challenge head on with huge success. Sometimes we are tested, pushed to our limits. Sometimes we want to hide, run away, cry “uncle!”. It is life, isn’t it?

20131024-183243.jpg
The color this year is stunning, drawing my breath away. The color this year is welcome – as it is every year, but moreso at this time of life, with the challenges we are currently working through. It pulls me outside, it reminds me that there is much in our life to be grateful for, to enjoy, to aid in our renewal. Like the seasons, life is not a constant, it does not stay forever the same.

20131024-183727.jpg
Right now, in this season of our life, when we are being consumed by husband’s evil disease, it is as if we are surrounded by an all-consuming fungus.

20131024-183856.jpg
In some ways, we are. Some days it’s hard to find the bright spots. But they are there, I must just look more closely, see more clearly, drag myself out of the doldrums.

20131024-184009.jpg
Look carefully – there are bright spots.

20131024-184051.jpg
Look closely – there are rainbows.

20131024-184132.jpg
Look deep inside, find the hope.

20131024-184248.jpg
Change is the constant.

20131024-184322.jpg

20131024-184348.jpg
In this season when life fades, enters its dormant stage, prepares for the cold hard winter that will follow, I must remember that after the winter will come spring. Spring – the season of new life, new beginnings, growth, with the hope of harmony.

20131024-185349.jpg
I cannot let the fungus into my soul, into my heart. I must remember that my life has enough. I hope your lives have enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Life – the Seasons, the Changes, the Challenges

  1. Dear Carol,
    This post is beautiful, and true.

    Like

  2. sjbchamp85 says:

    I was just thinking about you today and was wondering when we would receive another post from you. Your photos are gorgeous. please know that hugs are coming your way.

    Like

  3. Trisha says:

    Beautiful photos and beautiful words. Your strength and hope are very inspiring.

    Like

  4. Joanne says:

    Thank you for sharing the beautiful autumn colours of your world and your words of wisdom today Carol. Yes, you are wise, very wise, looking for, and discovering the bright moments in life. Sending a huge bear hug across cyberspace to you, dear friend. xxx

    Like

  5. SuziCate says:

    Yes, hope is eternal. Your photos are gorgeous as always.

    Like

  6. Robin says:

    Yes, that is life. I’m so glad Mother Nature is bringing you the beauty you need to nourish and nurture you. Wonderful, wise post, Carol. Thank you.

    Like

  7. Yes indeed, “…after the winter will come spring.” Thank you for sharing your heartwarming thoughts and beautiful pictorial.

    Like

  8. Colleen says:

    Thank you for sharing your rainbows Carol. I am glad that there is such beauty surrounding you during these challenging times. xo

    Like

  9. What an utterly lovely post!

    Like

  10. Heather says:

    Beauty changes and matures, hope springs eternal. Wishing you enough as the winter draws near, and a spring full love beauty and love. Hugs and love to you, Carol.

    Like

  11. Cee Neuner says:

    My life is enough! Gorgeous walk through your heart and yard. The colors this year are spectacular. I don’t remember an autumn as beautiful…and yes it is all for you!!

    Like

  12. Dawn says:

    Hugs to you as you enter winter. It’s a time to rest and I hope you both can find some peace there. Spring will be here soon enough. I think of you both often.

    Like

  13. Kathy says:

    I like how you look for the bright spots, but don’t shy away from the challenges and pain of your days. Knowing that the fungus will not grow out of control in your soul–not when you’re aware of the barometer of “enough”.

    Like

  14. Karma says:

    Stunning color and beautiful words and insight Carol.

    Like

  15. lisa says:

    Oh Carol, this is a wonderful post. I so enjoyed reading it today. I’ve always loved the analogy of nature and life’s challenges and beauty. You captured it perfectly.

    Like

  16. LG says:

    You filled my heart. (And eyes). What a thought to end my day with, Thank you.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

