Thinking About Mars and Venus and Other Things

20131011-130651.jpg
Sometimes I think we humans are strange creatures. Sometimes I think we forget our common sense, our learned wisdom, our fairness – most often, I think, when we get involved in a relationship. That is, a Mars and Venus, male and female, relationship. Sometimes we forget the second party to the relationship is human. Frail, imperfect. Emotions get in the way, and we do not always see clearly.

20131011-130920.jpg
Sometimes we seem to expect the other person to be a reflection of ourselves, with the same passions and personality quirks. Sometimes we forget to allow for differences. Sometimes we expect too much.

20131011-131126.jpg(photo courtesy of The Artistic One)
It is a fortunate couple that survives the differences, that accepts the imperfections, that does not expect too much of the other. Sometimes there are those couples who love fiercely and long, but who simply cannot survive as more than friends. Mars and Venus, you know? It is special when bonds exist, whether in romantic, married, or friendship relationships. We are different from one another, we women and men. It is special when we learn to celebrate those differences and be happy.

20131011-131540.jpg
There is really not a lot of significance to these thoughts racing through my brain today. A comment here or there will often set me off on a race, words streaming, screaming, looking for a way out. Those words have now found a way out.

Walking about the yard the other afternoon, attempting to make the big furry girls think they were getting a walk, the fall colors drew me in, insisted I go get the camera, record them – one more time – so they can never be forgotten. The big furry girls, by the way, were really not deceived. They knew this amble around the yard is what their mom does when she’s being too lazy to walk. Or when her body is telling her it would rather not walk very far. Because it’s getting older and sometimes it has aches.

20131011-132015.jpg
But the thing is, the fresh air feels good and I will never tire of seeing and capturing some things – the colors, the details, the birds eating seed outside my window.

20131011-132153.jpg
This is the season for celebrating the display Mother Nature creates for us. Just as spring is the season to celebrate growth and new beginnings, fall is the time to wind down, to prepare for a winter’s rest, to find harmony.

20131011-132327.jpg
The blue spruce has now shed this year’s cones and is preparing to gather its strength for the new spring that will follow this fall and the winter to come.

20131011-132509.jpg
The maple trees follow the spruce’s lead, shedding their vibrant dress, to rest, to repeat the cycle in the spring. New beginnings, growth, lush in maturity, dazzling at the peak of their growth.

20131011-132750.jpg

20131011-132804.jpg
And at the end of the day, stunning sunsets. All gifts from Mother Nature. These are some of the things that make this life enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thinking About Mars and Venus and Other Things

  1. Karma says:

    Thanks for sharing your gifts. They are lovely. Hope all is as well as can in be in your corner of the world.

    Like

  2. Carol – Karma’s right. You really do have a gift — a magical way of combining words and photographs to convey a thought, idea, or concept to your readers. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Joanne says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and the beautiful autumn colours in your garden today Carol. I witnessed the perfect male/female relationship last weekend at the wedding of my best friend. She is divorced and had vowed never to trust another man again. Sixteen years later, she has. They blend beautifully. They began their relationship as friends; perhaps that is the key? I do hope the magic they share remains. Sending loving wishes to you, as always. xxx

    Like

  4. Colleen says:

    Carol, I so agree with Laurie and Karma. You never fail to touch me, one way or another, through your words and your photos. A gift, indeed! And like Joanne, have come to understand that friendship is the key.

    Like

  5. Dear Carol,
    What a lovely blend of words and images–and the photos are perfect for the narration. I feel like one of the big furry girls, who got to tag along for a walk and a talk.

    Like

  6. Beautiful images, Carol, and I loved reading your thoughts about Mars and Venus. Yes, we women and men are so different, it’s amazing we ever find anything in common! I don’t even have much time for an amble in the yard these days, but I hope that will change after December 13, when I will change something for sure! 🙂

    Like

  7. Heather says:

    Allowing for and accepting differences can be tough, and it doesn’t come easy – at least to me. Sometimes I notice that I’m being particularly obstinate and just let go even though it makes me grumpy 😉
    With physical things, I’m not a collector, but with photos I am an absolute hoarder. Fall sends me into a collection conniption, so I understand why you head out to gather more autumn beauty.

    Like

  8. Kathy says:

    Lovely sunset photos, indeed! I think some of the most challenging times in a relationship happen when you try to change the other person, to make them more into one’s liking. That rarely (maybe never) seems to work. The happier times come when we can let them be who they are. Not always easy.

    Like

  9. lisa says:

    I so love coming to see you! Your words always seem to ring soooo true. And your photos are always so lovely. For me, Autumn is always a time of reflection and pondering of life. I’m always sad that the lushness of spring and summer are coming to a close, but I understand the need for rest (winter) before the riot of color and life begin again. Thank you for such wonderful words.

    Like

  10. Robin says:

    Thank you, Carol. I very much enjoyed your reflections and images. There is a lot of beauty, magic, and peace in this post. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

