My Day – Finale

Once my downtown assignments were taken care of, I still had more time before I could pick up the girls than the little bit of grocery shopping I had to do would take. I decided to follow Main Street down to the little park on the little lake, since I had not visited that park in a few years now.

20130928-140429.jpg
It was a blustery fall day, the clouds and sun playing musical chairs, with just the right amount of crispness in the air. As I entered the park these roses drew my attention immediately. What a pleasant surprise that they had managed to survive the frost we’d had the night before.

20130928-140723.jpg
There were trees with interesting bark;

20130928-140809.jpg
the spray of the fountain blowing in the wind;
[

20130928-140843.jpg
across the lake, the skeleton tree where the vultures hang out;

20130928-140918.jpg

20130928-140934.jpg
interesting debris along the shoreline;

20130928-141105.jpg
and, as I approached a dock, a pair of Mallards.

20130928-141201.jpg

20130928-141223.jpg
Followed by a goose

20130928-141315.jpg
or two.

20130928-141527.jpg
This white lady had a bit of limp. The crowd seems to have a goal.

20130928-141619.jpg
I see now! You see the car sitting, innocently, up ahead? If you were to stand still and watch, you would see a woman’s arm reach out the window and toss treats to the pavement. Birds, be they waterfowl or otherwise, have a radar that detects treats.

20130928-141809.jpg
Where there is water, there will be a gull.

20130928-141914.jpg
And where there are treats, there will be pigeons and a sparrow.

20130928-142012.jpg
Time now to get my ducks (or geese) in a row, pick up some groceries and two furry girls.

20130928-142108.jpg

20130928-142121.jpg
To get my fluffy, clean, non-dog-smelling girls home to enjoy the special treat they always get on grooming day. Just because.

This day, my friends, was not just a day of enough – it was a day of plenty. Many thanks to my wonderful friends who made this day possible.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Day – Finale

  1. Carol, this is a delightful post. I felt like you had taken us for a walk right alongside you. And I am glad that you were able to steal a few moments for yourself. The photos are great–I particularly enjoyed the one with the two geese in sync.

    Like

  2. Kathy says:

    Thanks for sharing the rest of your “day of plenty”. Like the birds, you were fed by an almost-invisible hand of grace.

    Like

  3. Dawn says:

    Days of plenty, every one needs one on occasion. So glad you got to enjoy yours!

    Like

  4. And purple kerchiefs β€” oh my!

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    Wondering why skeleton trees always seem to attract vultures. And what is the deal with the pile of debris. The girls look happy and clean – a day of plenty for them, too πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. It sounds like you had a wonderful day out. Hopefully that was enough to refresh your mind and body and resume your caregiver routine. All the best…

    Like

  7. I’m glad you had a day of plenty Carol. I love the bark on that tree. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Robin says:

    It looks like a delightful day, Carol. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. lisa says:

    Thanks for taking me on your tour of the park. I love the bird photos! Walking in nature is one of the best prescriptions for what ails a person, isn’t it?

    Like

  10. Karma says:

    I’m playing catch-up this morning, having been a bit asleep in the world of blogging lately and I’ve really enjoyed reading about your day. A day of taking care of things that need doing and taking care of yourself sounds like just the thing! πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

