My Day Around Town

Yesterday the Gracious One came in the morning to spend the day with husband, and the furry girls and I hopped into the van and headed to town. Well, one of us hopped in. That would be Shasta, she still hops very well. Bailey needs some assistance, and I more or less heft myself in. The furry girls had an appointment to be groomed – long overdue. I dropped them off, picked up a few items I needed from Bimart, and headed to Denny’s for some breakfast.

Except shortly after I ordered a breakfast sandwich, a very loud fight started in the kitchen and went on for too long. Several people quickly finished eating, paid and left. I sat for awhile, then one of the waitresses, who kept repeating “I hate conflict” had a meltdown and I decided the stressful atmosphere was not something I needed. So I left. I am sure they understood. If they did not, I’m sorry.

I headed downtown, where I had a 12:00 appointment for a massage.

20130927-125539.jpg
This mural on the side of a building seemed worth capturing.

20130927-125631.jpg
As did this bright purple building, the one that asked “What do you Crave?” What I craved was some breakfast, so I continued on.

20130927-125731.jpg
Until I got to this little organic food/deli, where I went in and ordered their Breakfast Biscuit – a homemade whole wheat biscuit topped with ham, cheese, scrambled egg and marionberry jam. Just what I craved. I sat at the counter, facing a window looking out on the streets outside. A reflection caught my eye.

20130927-125928.jpg

20130927-125944.jpg

20130927-125958.jpg
Two women sitting behind me to the right were having an animated conversation, and the sunlight shone in a perfect spot to highlight the hands of one of the women as she talked. If a reflection catches my eye, I must, absolutely must, pull out my camera and record it. You know what I mean, right?

When I finished eating, I had just enough time to stop at the camera shop up the street to get my passport photos taken – so that I could, finally, actually take care of my application for a replacement passport. A passport to replace the one I put in a far too safe place. Then off to my massage appointment.

20130927-130317.jpg
This is where I spent the most relaxing hour I have had in a very long time. Thank you, Information Gatherer, for the gift certificate.

20130927-130429.jpg
Leaving the salon, much relaxed and refreshed and with a lot of time to fill before the furry girls would be ready to be picked up, I spied across the street Periwinkle, a shop that carries gently used clothing and only the very nicest gently used clothing. I had not been in there for a long time, and it was calling my name. It was a profitable stop – I found a lovely knit top and and very nice tan suede/faux fur vest and only $20 for both! What a deal!

20130927-130704.jpg
Then off to City Hall to put in my passport application. Four to six weeks, they said. What they did not say was that if the government shuts down on October 1, it could be much longer. Hopefully our congress is intelligent enough to prevent that from happening. It’s hard to have a great deal of confidence in intelligence in congress anymore though. Oh well, I’m not going anywhere in the foreseeable future, so I’m not in a rush.

20130927-130925.jpg
Coming out, puppy Molly – who is obviously a lover of people – came over and introduced herself and her big brothers. Such a cutie, and her owners said it was okay for me to take a picture. I’m not sure they knew it would be on the worldwide internet however.

There was much more to my day, my lovely, leisurely day, but you will have to wait until another day to hear the rest. Perhaps tomorrow.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Day Around Town

  1. jay53 says:

    Sounds like a lovely day, Carol! So pleased you enjoyed the massage .. which was obviously much needed after the first attempt at breakfast!

    I do know exactly what you mean about having to snap pictures when you see them, and those photographs are stupendous! I LOVE the hands!

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    Sounds like you made the right call leaving Denny’s, and the marionberry jam sounds yummy.
    Loved the whole set of reflection shots – especially the third one where it looks like she is trying to lift the truck.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I think it’s interesting how we see things. I saw that shot as supplicating, making a humble petition.

      >

      Like

      • Heather says:

        It is interesting. I looked at the images first, and read second. I had no idea what was going on until I realized it was a set of hands. The gesture is certainly supplicating (in the image – who knows what the conversation was!), but my brain decided that the hands must be lifting the truck šŸ˜‰

        Like

  3. RobI says:

    I loved all of the images you captured, but I have to say that the reflections of the hands are my favorites. I often take pictures with reflections, but I didn’t know that anyone else appreciated them. Who can resist bright colored buildings, a cute puppy, and beautiful murals?

    What an awful start at Denny’s, but it seems to have worked out for the best. You ended up with a wonderful breakfast.

    I have never had a massage, although my daughter gets them regularly and absolutely raves about how relaxing they are.

    I have never had a passport. I always say: This year I will get a passport. I never do. I have to admit that I am not much of a traveler, although I wouldn’t mind driving around in an RV and seeing the sights of anywhere I can drive.

    Lucky dogs! My dogs need grooming – in the most desperate way. Alas, they must rely on me. I do not take them to a groomer – I am the groomer.

    What a productive day! Thanks for sharing it with us. The town looks like a very lovely place šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Kathy says:

    Glad you got up and left that challenging atmosphere and found your bliss for the day. So much fun! So happy the Gracious One allowed you this day of rejuvenation.

    Like

  5. Dawn says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day. Well, except for the fighting at the first restaurant. That’s pretty much unforgivable. The rest, however, was nice.

    Like

  6. Sounds like a lovely day, Carol. That egg biscuit would have met my cravings too. And the massage sounds heavenly. I think I could use one of those myself. šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. pattisj says:

    It sounds like a very restful day, I’m glad you were able to enjoy it.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

