Join Me for a Glass of Wine, Won’t You?

Tonight I’m sitting with the TV on DIY, because that’s one of my go-to-requires-no-thought stations. I seem to lean towards things that require little thought these days, especially in the evenings. Things that allow me to pay attention, or not. No real plot, no real drama. Life offers enough drama, thank you.

20130919-211112.jpg
The pictures accompanying this post will have no relationship whatsoever to the words, I suspect. I have not ventured far from home of late, so my pictures relate to what I see – my yard. Next week, however, a friend is going to come and spend time with husband in the late afternoon, and I will take one dog (two at a time is just too much, since someone has failed to train my dogs to walk nicely on leashes) and go on an adventure. A not-too-far-away adventure, but an adventure nonetheless. I am anticipating that with excitement. If it decides to rain, oh well. I shall adventure anyway. I shall not let rain nor snow nor sleet deter me.

20130919-211440.jpg
I liked this shot – because of the reflection in the window of the door. Reflections are intriguing, both those that are physical and those that are mental. It’s all in how we’re seeing life, isn’t it? This girl, the Shasta girl, is probably the one that will go on this next adventure with me. She is the younger, she is the one that is too pudgy, she is the one that needs the exercise the most. She is also the one that is most concerned with having my approval. We will look for reflections and when we find them, perhaps we will reflect. Or she will swim, and I will reflect.

20130919-211706.jpg
This Twohee was playing in the bushes outside my window. One of the windows that is in desperate need of washing. That’s on my list. The problem is, my list seems not to grow shorter each day, but longer. That’s because there are those other things not on my list that demand my more immediate attention. Like laundry. Never-ending laundry. Like getting husband coffee, then heating that coffee. And heating that coffee again. Interesting thing about husband – he never ever empties a coffee cup. He takes a couple of drinks, then wants it refilled and heated. What is that anyway? Other things not on the list that seem to take priority – my nap. Some days that nap is essential. Today was one of those days.

20130919-212154.jpg
She wants lap space. She thinks I do not need that keyboard in my lap. We have conflicting priorities sometimes.

Dinner at our house has become a bit like going to a restaurant. Except restaurants offer more of a selection and are often better than what my house offers. The Artistic One is off for a week in Hawaii – she says life is tough, but someone has to do it – so we received from her a delivery of refrigerated items that would not survive the week she is away. As a result, husband had a dinner of an artichoke and grilled salmon. Neither of those are on my list of favorites. I had a dinner of a huge salad made to my preference. Easy dinner – little prep work, little clean-up work. My kind of cooking. Rarely do husband and I eat the same things. His taste runs to beef and starch. Mine not so much. Changes occur as time goes on, and our eating choices have been an area where I have changed.

20130919-212716.jpg
This afternoon I hauled a trailer full of burnable items to our burn pit down in the back of our property and was rewarded with these. Three or four sunflower plants that have sprung up with no human assistance and have flourished with no water, other than the little Mother Nature provides in our area in the summers, or other human assistance. A lovely example of survival under difficult circumstances. These sunflowers are my friends, and now live in the house with me.

Another treat for me next week – the Gracious One will be coming to spend a day with husband and I will take the girls in to be groomed, I will wander around some stores I like to tour occasionally to see what I can see, I will have a massage (thanks to a gift certificate from the Information Gatherer) and I will take a day to follow my inclinations without concern.

So maybe life is not easy, maybe life has speed bumps – but I have these reminders that life still offers enough. That is not to say I don’t want more, but I will be happy with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Join Me for a Glass of Wine, Won’t You?

  1. Blessings to you in your circumstances. I’m sure your adventures will seem like little oases! Maybe you should get your husband one of those insulated mugs which keep coffee warm……..

    Like

  2. Joanne says:

    Carol, I so enjoyed wandering along with your thoughts today and look forward to photos of your upcoming adventures. That’s if you take a camera. You may just wish to simply enjoy the moments as they arise. Love to you. xx

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    So what kind of wine are we drinking? *grin* I usually drink a glass of Chardonnay but if you have Merlot or something else, well, I won’t complain. Glad you’ll have a day out. I see you put your pictures to the left-hand side, too. I experimented with that several times this week. By the way, my husband has to keep re-heating his coffee too. Luckily he’s still able to microwave it himself. Feelin’ for you…

    Like

  4. I am happy to hear you have some days planned for your own enjoyment. It sounds like you have been very patient and caring with husband’s needs. As much as you love him it is important to take care of yourself, too. Until then, relax with your mindless tv and have a toast to your courage and stamina. Best wishes.

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    I don’t drink wine, but I would love to sit with you and sip some fresh cider.
    It warms my heart to hear of your thoughtful friends. Enjoy whatever adventure you make with the Shasta girl. I’m sure it will be a lovely time šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    Oh definitely need a glass of wine tonight! Thanks for sharing! I started to smile as soon as you said you were going to go on an adventure! I highly recommend them. I’m so glad people are rallying around and providing these breaks for you! Can’t wait to hear about it…if you decide to share. Even if you do not…I’m going to go with you in my heart! šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. I should like to sit and share a goblet with you… keep strong.

    Like

  8. Lynne Ayers says:

    Thank you for the glass of wine, Carol. I hope you enjoy your day to follow your inclinations without concern – so necessary.

    Like

  9. Karma says:

    You’ve mentioned 2 things that my life is lacking: a glass of wine and an adventure. I would like both of these, though I suspect one is much easier to come by than the other. I wish you well and a sunny day for your adventure

    Like

  10. lisa says:

    Hope you enjoyed your wine. Sorry I wasn’t able to join you on Sunday. My muse told me to clean the house…which may qualify as an adventure. xox

    Like

  11. I’d love to join for a glass of wine, and a day of plenty! šŸ™‚ Love the picture of that cat with those green eyes….

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

