This and That, and Something Else

20130907-094623.jpg Finally, a few moments of quiet. Husband was in the hospital for a bit over a week, coming home on the 9th day. They could find no cause for his agitation and inability to sleep other than Hypoxia. Too much time on the deck with cigarettes and no oxygen, methinks. Long story short – he came home after obtaining the services of Hospice – my requirement. Life will go on now, with their assistance. We have had a flurry of visits from Hospice members, and I have found each and every one of them to be very helpful and friendly.

20130907-095121.jpg
It has been a trying period of time, as have been other times and will be more times. We will laze in the sun when that opportunity arises, we will watch the birds from our windows or the deck, we will work through the troubled times. We will squeeze as much pleasure and joy out of our life as we can, while we can. We – or I – hope the Hospice social worker can help husband work through his devils and find peace.

20130907-095445.jpg
Summer wanes, and the grass that had grown too tall as I spent my time driving into town, sitting with husband, returning home too tired to care, was mown down by a trio of my neighborhood saviors.

20130907-095624.jpg
Those saviors have taken time to come visit with husband, to pick up needed items from town for us, take my ailing van to the mechanic and return it a few hundred dollars later – with my gratitude for all of their help and my relief that I know the van is safe to drive. It is aging, as are all of us.

20130907-095804.jpg
We will reflect on life, emphasizing the bright shiny times, not dwelling on the bumpy times.

20130907-095859.jpg
In these sunset years of our lives, we will strive for calm. We have had a few instances of raised voices, impatience and frustration these past two days, trying to take care of things that are not functioning properly and find our niche in our altered lives.

We will find enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to This and That, and Something Else

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Great photos. Your choice for hospice I’m sure was hard, but will give you both some help and rest that is so much needed. Prayers and energy continually going your way.

    Like

  2. Angelia Sims says:

    Beautiful visions of peace in all your photographs. I hope they ingrain in your heart and his as Hospice extends their care. With all my heart I pray for a gentle lift of serenity. Bless you both!

    Like

  3. I know hospice is a hard decision to make but you did the right thing. Now enjoy those lingering sunsets on your deck with your husband, watching the birds you so enjoy and letting your girls frolic and bring you smiles while you reminisce about old times and how well your kids are both doing. Best wishes…

    Like

  4. jay53 says:

    Hospices can be – and most are – amazing. I’m glad you have found some hospice services.

    Striving for calm and enjoyment is enough. Nobody can reach those things all the time, so there will be times when you fail to do so, but since you are striving, you WILL achieve them more often. God bless you.

    Like

  5. Dawn says:

    This is good news on many fronts. Hospice is a wonderful thing and I’m glad you were able to get its support. I know it’s a tough decision. And I hope your husband can find some peace with their help. I’m very happy that you have wonderful neighbors to do all the things we out here in cyber land wish we could do for you. Enjoy the good parts of these days, spending time together while allowing others to do the rest of the stuff that needs doing. Hugs. So many hugs.

    Like

  6. Joanne says:

    Throughout all of these trying times Carol you have amazed me constantly by finding the most beautiful words to share your latest news with your bloggy friends. Here you are, going through what we all realise is an incredibly sad and trying time, yet you still ask for just enough. Love to you and husband, dear friend, and always wishing you enough. ***hugs***

    Like

  7. pattisj says:

    Birds and water are so entertaining. May they provide you with many smiles. How blessed to have caring, helpful neighbors. Grace and Peace to you both, dear Carol.

    Like

  8. Dear Carol,
    You made the right choice. I stayed with my mom during the last months of her life, and Hospice made all the difference. Having expert help, guidance, and relief for the caregivers made a painful experience a little easier than it would otherwise have been. Your positive attitude makes such a difference too, Carol. In fact, it makes all the difference.
    xo
    n

    Like

  9. We will find enough – so much contained in those four words.

    Like

  10. Heather says:

    Your resolute positivity and pragmatism are enviable strengths. I’m glad that everyone with hospice has been nice and helpful. Hopefully your husband makes the adjustment, too, which will surely help you on your quest to find enough. Looks like your furry and feathered friends will be there to help, too.

    Like

  11. Karma says:

    Wishing you as many bright and shiny times as possible in the days to come. I hope the sun shines brightly on your deck and sets in beautiful colors for you and yours to enjoy many times over. Love the photo of the fur-children enjoying the sunshiney deck.

    Like

  12. Simply put, I admire you Carol.

    Like

  13. Kathy says:

    I am so glad you have hospice now, Carol. Good for you. Looks like you can carve out moments of beauty amidst the daily challenges.

    Like

  14. Jayne says:

    My own experience of a hospice and hospice carers is that they made a world of difference to my family when we were losing my mother. I’m so pleased to hear you have this back-up …and clearly kind and caring neighbours.

    Like

  15. Lynne Ayers says:

    A couple of old dogs soaking up the sun – I feel like that … a lot.

    Like

  16. lisa says:

    I’m so glad you’ve accepted assistance and can take a bit of time off every now and then. The givers in your life are surrounding you with their love and support now. Now you can focus on what remaining time you have instead of worrying about everything else. Hospice is a Godsend and your neighbors sound like gems. xoxox

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

