Share Your World – 2013 Week 28

I missed Week 27 because life got in the way – or, more accurately, I let life get in the way – but now Cee has posted the week 28 challenge, so I’m going to see what I can do with that.

1. Which of Snow White’s 7 dwarfs describes you best? Plus what would the 8th dwarf’s name be? (Doc, Happy, Bashful, Sleepy, Sneezy, Grumpy, Dopey) Right off the top, I’m going to start hedging, hemming, hawing and if-ing. Which dwarf I would be depends upon the day, the circumstances and my mood. Too often these days, I would say I’m Sleepy. And Sneezy too. Some days I’m happy, some days I’m Grumpy, often I’m doing Dopey things. I used to be Bashful, now not so much. I guess with my life where it is right now, with the pill dispensing, supervising, watching over husband, trying to keep him on track, I’m most often Doc. If – there’s that if-ing thing – if I could mold life into what I want it to be and I could be the 8th dwarf, I would be Traveler.

2. Would you travel into outer space? I don’t think so. There is so much on this earth I’d like to see, so many places I’d like to visit, so many opportunities for doors to open, I could spend two lives on this earth and not be done. I’m not crazy about several hours in an airplane, I think many days, weeks or months in a spaceship would be crazy.

3. If you were a tree, would you become a book or furniture? Please describe. Considering that I believe paper books produced from the tree are on their way out for the most part, I think I’d become furniture. I love Cee’s answer to that, cannot top it and do not wish to copy it, so I think I’d be a small stand with drawers in which the small memory treasures of someone’s life would be kept. Preferably for several generations. I would contain all the elements to tell an incredible story of the lives of a family – in e-book form.

4. Which would you prefer: a wild, turbulent life filled with joy, sorrow, passion, and adventure–intoxicating successes and stunning setbacks; or a contented bordering on happy, secure, predictable life surrounded by friends and family without such wide swings of fortune and mood? Oh boy! I don’t know that I’m cut out for wild and turbulent, although there are aspects of my life that border on that. It has been filled with all of those components, and I am now of an age that contentment is important. BUT. I would not want to rule out the possibility of new adventures, so I guess I’ll go with the first option, with bits and pieces of the second thrown in for respite times.

Because for me a post is not complete without some photos, but my photo-taking is very limited to around home these days, I’m going to share a few pictures of what is blooming in my yard this week.

20130820-090806.jpg

20130820-090822.jpg Purple coneflowers – did you know these are Echinachea?

20130820-090859.jpg
Globe thistle – looks like it should be soft, but it is not.

20130820-090939.jpg
A very busy bee loving the flowers of this plant that popped up in my windmill bed. It’s vigorous and looks like it could take over the world, but I am leaving it be for now – in the hope that someday I’ll be able to identify it.

There we have it for today, a day I’m hoping will be filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Share Your World – 2013 Week 28

  1. As far as the Seven Dwarfs, your answer is perfect. None of us could be any one of those descriptions all the time; it would be pretty boring if we were. I agree 100% on space travel; why bother when there is so much on the earth to see and do? Sadly, I fear you’re right about the future of paper books, so your idea of a kind of treasure chest of memories is wonderful. The idea of the turbulent, passionate life is very enticing, but I’m not sure I could handle the down times. Lately, I’d just like to find contentment. 🙂

    Love your beautiful little buds. 🙂

    Like

  2. Loved the photos…not a fan of the dwarfs, though so I wouldn’t be able to give an answer. I would also prefer the quiet, steady rhythm of life to the wild, turbulent one, especially now that I have little ones. Great answers!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Cee certainly poses interesting questions! I also think we all are all of the 7 dwarves at one time or another. As for the last one, some of us live with joy, sorrow adventure and setbacks BECAUSE we have family and friends around! Hope your week is being kind to you.

    Like

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    I so missed you last week, but I also understand that life really gets in the way at times. I adored reading your answers. I like your little wood keepsake. How cool!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Share Your World-2013-Week-28 | WoollyMuses

  6. Robin says:

    Your answers are wonderful, and your images are beautiful. The perfect post. 🙂

    Like

  7. Dawn says:

    7 dwarfs…that brings back memories. When I was a kid we got a little ceramic dwarf from someone…maybe a grandparent….mine was Bashful because I was. I found that this year in the bottom of a box. He’s sitting on a shelf behind glass now…because he’s beautiful and a piece of my history and because I’m not so bashful anymore. Thanks for the memory!

    Like

  8. Dawn says:

    PS: LOVE your header!!

    Like

  9. love, Love, LOVE the photographs!

    Like

  10. pattisj says:

    Coneflowers are a favorite of mine. I have a habit of letting unknown things grow to see what they will do. Not all those experiments have been good! Yours doesn’t look like it wants to take over the world. 🙂

    Like

  11. Heather says:

    Traveler is a good choice. Now if you could combine Traveler with one’s chosen lifestyle, you’d be set!
    That globe thistle should be soft. You should have a stern talk with it 😉

    Like

  12. Pingback: Share Your World 2013 – Week 28 | imexcited

  13. Pingback: Share Your World – 2013 Week 28 | The World According to Lisa

  14. Pingback: Share Your World-2013-Week-30 | WoollyMuses

I'd love to hear from you!

