Morning Musings

20130801-122857.jpg
I know, I’m in a real hummingbird rut aren’t I? But you can see the streaks of color on this guy’s neck – I think he’s a male Calliope. You can see the color is there, but you don’t get the sparkle and brightness of the color because he’s in the shade, not the sun. Just like people – sometimes our color and sparkle doesn’t show because we’re in the shade. Sometimes we have days that are just hard to sparkle through – or moments, or hours. Sometimes our light needs to dim for awhile.

20130801-123121.jpg
This picture is just to prove that more than one hummingbird can feed from a feeder at a time. In past years the varieties we’ve hosted have not been so hospitable and cannot agree to spend time together. I understand having those days where you just don’t want to share your space, where putting on your happy, public face is just too much effort. But all the time? That’s not good. I’ve tried to explain to those aggressive, territorial Rufous hummers that it is possible and good to sometimes be social. I think they’ve watched too many leaders of too many countries agree to disagree. Sad.

20130801-123557.jpg
I believe this is a young oriole – what I think was its mother was at the feeder. The other morning I watched mom try to explain to youngsters that when they got hungry they should go to the feeder where they would find nourishment. Mom would eat and chatter at the young one, with the young one chattering back but apparently refusing to get the message that mom was tired of having to bring home the bacon all the time, time for the kid to get out and earn his keep.

20130801-125235.jpg
There are birds and there are clouds – can’t you just picture the angels lolling about on these fluffy clouds?

20130801-125346.jpg
Perhaps bouncing on the clouds – a huge fluffy trampoline meant just for the angels.

20130801-125448.jpg
Sometimes the angels pull out their watercolors and tint the clouds colors designed to warm the hearts and souls of those of us on the earth. Because angels are generous and loving.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Morning Musings

  1. Carol – I’m never going to look at a fluffy cloud again without thinking of you and your angelic trampoline!

    Like

  2. I just love your bird/hummingbird photos!

    Like

  3. jay53 says:

    I had no idea that hummingbirds were so aggressive – they look so delicate and sweet! Not that I have EVER seen one for myself… *Sigh*

    I love how you look for the good things in your life. The clouds are wonderful and I do love the idea of angels using them as trampolines – that one brought a smile to my face!

    Like

  4. suzicate says:

    Hummingbirds are such beautiful tiny gems!

    Like

  5. Joanne says:

    I know those days only too well Carol, when it is difficult to find your sparkle. You wish it were there, but search as you will, it simply cannot be found. I will never tire of seeing your cute little hummingbirds, and I just love the name Calliope! 🙂

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    I wasn’t sure more than one could feed at a time, or that they could sit still. I imagine the temptation to flutter about must be very strong. Perhaps they would benefit from a good bounce on the clouds.

    Like

  7. Dawn says:

    I’ve been thinking about you a lot Carol…I understand the sparkle-less moments and days. I hope each day you have at least a little sparkle…I think you might if you have hummingbirds nearby.

    I also look at clouds and imagine angels up there. For me a couple of special angels for sure.

    Hugs.

    Like

  8. LG says:

    Love the hummingbirds. You do magic with the camera, don’t you?

    Like

  9. Colleen says:

    Your photos warm my heart and soul Carol. So much beauty in your skies, there must surely be angels nearby.

    Like

  10. Karma says:

    Wonderful photos, Carol! What a sight to see 4 hummingbirds sitting together on a feeder. The only time I’ve ever seen more than one hummingbird at my feeder they were in a fierce battle for feeder territory it appears. I only get the ruby-throated on this side of the Mississippi River, so I guess they are much like your rufous. Hope you are able to find some sparkle today!

    Like

  11. lisa says:

    Our hummers are not quite so hospitable towards each other! Your cloud shots are gorgeous. And I love your sense of humor.

    Like

  12. Kathy says:

    Hummingbird ruts are not the worst thing that can happen in Life… 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

