Share Your World – 2013 Week 24

Someone has got to tell me where the heck the days – the weeks – are going! All of a sudden, it’s time for Cee’s Week 24 of sharing. It’s not only time for it, but it’s past the day the challenge was posted. Which means before I know it, it’ll be Week 25.

1. If you had to eat only three meals/food for one month, what would you choose? This question is being asked of one who eats primarily because one must – until a craving strikes. So truly as long as whatever food I had was filling, it wouldn’t matter a lot. But I’ll play along, I’ll pretend I care. Okay, so I do care for some things. It would be a soft bagel slathered liberally with cream cheese (just as bread is meant only as a vehicle for butter, bagels are meant only as a vehicle for cream cheese). A turkey sandwich with tomato, lettuce and mayo for lunch. For dinner, a big green salad (romaine lettuce preferred) with dried cranberries, boiled egg, bits of chicken, kidney beans, crispy salad topping bits, feta cheese and poppy seed dressing.

2. For your main meal do you prefer sweet and sour, hot and spicy, spicy and sweet, bitter, salty, bland or other? Well, not hot and spicy, not bitter nor bland. Sweet and sour with a touch, just a tiny touch, of spice. Mild spice.

3. Do you prefer eating things with nuts or no nuts? With nuts. I’m not crazy about almonds though, so I’d prefer to stick with walnuts, pecans or peanuts. Could we extend that to seeds? Sunflower seeds are good. Kat is doing a lot of cooking with veggies and grains this summer, and that’s yummy too. I’d have put that on my list, but she stirs up magic that is beyond what my brain comes up with and she’s not here all the time, so . . . .

4. For potlucks or parties do you cook it yourself, buy from a grocery store, or pay for catering? In the past I’ve always prepared the food I take to a potluck myself. Last year I went to a potluck but was very busy and very lazy and bought from the grocery store. Then I felt guilty about doing that, so it’s back to preparing it myself, although with husband’s health we are not doing a lot of potlucks these days.

Now for a photo – because, you know, a post is not a post without at least one!

20130724-101757.jpg Dinner the other night – I had requested fish tacos, so Kat prepared them with a green rice.

20130724-101852.jpg Preparing for an evening on the front deck with the “girls”.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Share Your World – 2013 Week 24

  1. Heather says:

    You only get to pick three meals? I do the same breakfast everyday, but food us a main pleasure of life. It’s summer though, so I’d have to pick something fresh, like margarita pizza šŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. pattisj says:

    How nice to have someone to prepare healthy meals for you. šŸ™‚ I hear so many speak of fish tacos, but there is something about the two that don’t go together in my mind! Maybe I’m not much of a fish eater.

    Like

  3. The questions are all about food this time! That salad sounds great, and healthy! Nuts are always good, and those fish tacos look delicious (as does the wine!) Have a fun night with the girls! šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. “…just as bread is meant only as a vehicle for butter, bagels are meant only as a vehicle for cream cheese.”

    Cracking up!

    Like

  5. Joanne says:

    I have never tried fish tacos Carol, and they look delicious. I must try them sometime. šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. lisa says:

    All of a sudden I’m HUNGRY!!!! And soooo ready for that last shot. What did you say? It’s not even noon here? Just sayin’. šŸ™‚ I also agree that bread is only a vehicle for butter, jelly and cream cheese! Hope you are doing well. I’m thinking about you. xoxo

    Like

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    You salad sounds delicious. It’s strange I eat my bread plain in restaurants…no butter just the bread. Bagel’s do need cream cheese though. Loved your answers as always!! Thanks for being such a strong member of SYW!

    Like

  8. Cee Neuner says:

    BTW, we can add seeds to the nut question…easily!

    Like

  9. Kathy says:

    I want one of those salads you just described. And maybe a glass of wine pretty soon. It’s been incessantly raining all weekend, except when it was drizzling…

    Like

  10. Pingback: Share Your World – 2013 Week 24 | imexcited

  11. Pingback: Share Your World-2013-Week-24 | WoollyMuses

  12. Pingback: Share Your World-2013-Week-25 | WoollyMuses

I'd love to hear from you!

