June Photo-Hunt-Thingy

For the month of June, Karma of photo hunt fame picked up a challenge from #iHeartFaces and threw it out to her readers, inviting us to participate. The challenge involved taking one photo a day for the month of June, following the list of topics for the photos given by #iHeartFaces.

I read the list – which I find to my dismay I must have deleted from my iPad – and thought to myself “Myself, how fun this will be!” I have always enjoyed Karma’s photo hunts. So I posted copies of the list in strategic places in my house as reminders. And for days 6/1 through 6/5 I did just fine. Actually, I did 6/6 also, but I’ve lost that photo apparently.

Then it all came to a screeching halt. Life distracted me, I managed to lose my impetus, I failed miserably. Although I’m sure I’ve taken some pictures that could qualify for some of the other days I cannot pretend it was done on purpose. So I can now only post those five pictures taken with the intent of participating in this hunt. You know what they say about good intentions.

20130630-162821.jpg
6/1 – me. Having a bad hair day, which is pretty typical anymore. Very thin, fine hair is not exceptionally manageable, I’ve found. Thank you chemo! I will say this – it’s easy to care for since there’s no point in actually trying to style it.

20130630-163004.jpg
Well gosh darn! 6/2 was “first thing”. I had a first thing photo, really I did! I have it no more. Sadness. So this picture is for 6/3 – “natural light”.

20130630-163120.jpg
6/4 – “half”. What more is there to be said about half a tomato?

20130630-163222.jpg
6/5 was “line”. As with many things, one can interpret “line” in more than one way. This picture shows the lines created by the openings for water to flow through on my fountain.

20130630-163350.jpg
This picture shows a “line” of cactus plants in my window. Which also create other lines.

My feeble attempt to perform – all that I can say in my defense is that it is an attempt, and at least I am not a total and complete failure. Or no show. I tried. More or less.

And that will just have to be enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to June Photo-Hunt-Thingy

  1. Well, it’s definitely good ENOUGH for me!

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    I struggle with perfectionism, and have to remind myself that sometimes a “B” is good enough! Enough will have to do ๐Ÿ™‚
    As for your hair, my husband found his thin wispy hair to be uncontrollable, so he’s been buzzing it off since his early 20’s. Not as socially acceptable for women, but the not messing with it because it’s not worth it attitude certainly is! And you can always find a cute hat, which I find to be the solution to many of my bad hair days ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. jay53 says:

    Actually, I like ALL your photos, and would say that they are all great interpretations of the theme! Pity about the one you lost, though.

    As to fine hair, I sympathise, though mine is ‘fine and thick’ rather than ‘fine and thin’. Will more of yours grow back in time? I’m certainly expecting to lose more of mine thanks to thyroid dysfunction! Maybe we’ll meet somewhere in the middle. ‘Fine and … ho-hum’ maybe?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Jay, since it’s been nearly six years since my last chemo treatment, I think not. I’m growing used to it, although sometimes vanity rears its ugly head.

      โ€œYesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present.โ€ โ€• A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

      Like

      • jay53 says:

        Well, that’s a pity … but on the other hand, I think the wispy look suits you! In fact I have always wanted to look ‘elfin’ myself. I never will, of course, even if I find myself in the same position as you do, because I have a much heavier face. I’d probably go the other way and spray what was left of my hair in bright colours and pull it up in spikes! Well, you need to work with what you have, do you not? ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I love that quote. In fact, I love Winnie The Pooh, despite never having come across the books as a child. OH did, and, with the help of his own boyhood set of A A Milne, so did our boys – and at last I got to enter the world of the ‘100 Aker Wood’ too.

        Like

  4. Karma says:

    Carol, I applaud your effort! We all know how life gets in the way. I like the photos you did choose to present. If you feel like it, go through other photos you’ve taken recently and see if you can match them up to some of the prompts (the list is on my June 1st blog post if you need it) and do another post. You know how loosey-goosey I am with so-called “rules” ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I have a confession to make: I took several of my photos for my post yesterday!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Hmmm. Maybe later today I’ll do that. Thanks for the leeway, Karma!

      โ€œYesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present.โ€ โ€• A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

      Like

  5. lisa says:

    Life does seem to get in the way many times. I find there isn’t enough time in the day for the fun things I want to do. Fun? Wonder what THAT is? But your pics are great and I applaud your efforts. I don’t think I could do a photo a day very well. So….I’m with Laura….this is definitely good ENOUGH!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    Well, I thought I’d do at least some of Karma’s photo challenge too and did I? No. Not one. Even though she pointed out twice during the month that I had photos that would fit. So even though you feel you only did some it was certainly way more than I got done! ๐Ÿ™‚ And I loved them all.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Bubble Wrap | Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  8. Carol, these are wonderful photos, all of them! You have such a good eye for light and composition. I enjoyed just as much the stories that you tell for each photo.
    Sending hugs, Naomi

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

