It’s Like a Heat Wave

But it’s not burning in my heart – it’s the sun shining down unfettered by clouds and high pressure moving in to provide a few days of scorching our land. And our bodies. Activity will be limited. That cleaning out the stuff stored in the garage project will wait until the weather cools. Any outside activity will wait. Inside activity will be diminished.

20130629-093628.jpg
Just a few days ago we had rain. And cool. One of those morning, the sun was bursting through a space in the clouds, rising over the hill behind us, smiling a good morning wish. I smiled back and enjoyed its momentary glory.

20130629-093801.jpg
Adding to the “currently in bloom” theme later that day as I wandered about, camera in hand. Dianthus are blooming wildly just now in their multiple shades of red and pinks. Do you find yourself smiling at pretty blooms, or is it that I am strange?

20130629-093943.jpg
This morning, before it gets too hot, I have been sitting outside enjoying my wake-up cups of coffee – two cups, followed by tea. Today the choice is Pomegranate Pizzazz. Later this day, as the temperatures climb and my body warms beyond its comfort zone, I will change to pomegranate lemonade. That counts as a serving of fruit, right? Applebee’s first introduced me to pomegranate lemonade and I decided it should be easy to recreate at home with pomegranate juice and lemonade. Works wonderfully, except I mistakenly grabbed a can of frozen pink lemonade – not my best move.

20130629-094333.jpg
Sitting on my front deck, my little spot of paradise, this morning, the peace and quiet has been interrupted sporadically. The orioles do not like the furry girls and me on the deck. They prefer to sip their nectar with no one around. I have little sympathy, since I am the one that provides their nectar. The Scrub Jays squabble, seemingly unable to share space in the feeder. It will easily accommodate more than one of them, but they think not.

20130629-094544.jpg
The flowers scent the air, the birdsongs are added perfume – when they are songs rather than complaints. All of this = enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Like a Heat Wave

  1. SuziCate says:

    Your photographs always bring a smile to my face and warmth to my heart!

    Like

  2. I second the motion, SuziCate. I too always enjoy Carol’s photographs.

    Like

  3. jay53 says:

    No, you’re not unusual – I smile at flowers, too! And I smile at insects and birds and all kinds of small creatures!

    LOVE the peony!

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    I’m a blossom lover, too 🙂 Wish I had your peonies!

    Like

  5. Kathy says:

    I am feeling so sorry for all of you folks who are sweltering. I wouldn’t mind sweltering–but only a tiny bit. We have it pretty cool here, yet. Your flowers are gorgeous and lush.

    Like

  6. lisa says:

    That’s one of the reasons God created flowers…to see us smile! 🙂 Dianthus is blooming in our yard as well, but our temps in the upper 70s are still below normal. Can’t complain…last year we were in the 100s by now! Love, love, LOVE the peony blossom!

    Like

  7. Beautiful photos, Carol!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

