WordPress Family Award

It’s time for me to stop procrastinating I think. Weeks ago, Tamara of a Matter of Perspective nominated me for the WordPress Family Award.

20130617-090011.jpg
Although I did thank Tamara, I was negligent in publicly acknowledging this award, so now I shall attempt to rectify that. The requirements for this award are:

1. Display the award logo on your blog. Check.
2. Link back to the person who nominated you. Check.
3. Nominate 10 others you see as having an impact on your WordPress experience and family.
4. Let your 10 Family members know you have awarded them.

As to 3 and 4 – y’all know how I am about that. Each and every blog I read regularly is part of my blog world family, and most of you know who you are. There are blogs I read but don’t often comment on – you can attribute that to laziness I think, or a lack of time – but most often I hit that “like” button, if you have one. It goes like this: I have a really hard time singling out favorites, so if you want to play along – perhaps you have favorites that you’d like to mention – go for it! You are worthy, you all contribute, you all share words, opinions, thoughts. Some enlightening, some fun, some thoughtful. All of them have a value.

So Tamara, thank you once again.

Now a few pictures to share, maybe with some words. We’ll see what comes out of this brain this morning.

20130617-090823.jpg Yes, I know I’m a pretty bluebird. Every year we seem to have at least one pair of bluebirds that visit our yard. The first few years, they often did not get a house for nesting because the swallows seem to be more agressive, but then most of our neighborhood families have added nesting boxes to their yards, and we installed a couple more, so now the bluebirds are able to find a cozy spot to start their families.

20130617-091126.jpg Bluebird, not on my shoulder, but still close enough to see. That works for me.

20130617-091221.jpg This is a variety of hummingbird I’ve not had at my feeder before! It appeared she was drinking the nectar, but maybe she was just investigating to see what was in those little holes. We used to have more woodpeckers when I put suet out, but then I discovered the suet attracts the starlings. Unfortunately, the starlings create too many problems for the other birds, so that had to stop.

20130617-091421.jpg One parent leaves

20130617-091445.jpg The other delivers a bite or two of food. The swallows have it down pat – crossing paths just outside the opening to the box. It takes both of them to deliver enough food to satisfy the voracious appetites of their young.

20130617-091608.jpg Ahha! Cat in the jungle. Twiggy does not venture out as much as she did a couple of years ago – I think she’s become more of a lazy cat who has figured out I will deliver food and she needn’t work too hard for it. Lily, on the other hand, comes to say hello periodically during the days, but spends most of her time on the hunt.

That’s it for today – I’ll go see now if I can be productive. In the meantime, have a day filled with enough!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to WordPress Family Award

  1. Kathy says:

    Congratulations on your award, Carol. Enjoyed looking at the pictures, and, as always, contemplating “enough”.

    Like

  2. Thank you for taking me on your morning walk, Carol! Now I can start the day.

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    Congrats. Lovely photos!

    Like

  4. Congratulations on the award. I especially like the photo of the bird peeking his head out 🙂

    Like

  5. Colleen says:

    I love the way the light tangles in the pine needles and touches the bluebirds breast. And congratulations on the award 🙂

    Like

  6. Joanne says:

    Congratulations on the award Carol, but asking to choose favourites is just too big an ask when you love an appreciate every person in your blogging world family.
    I love your tiny bird friends, they are so different to my garden visitors. It seems to me that bird families have their own distinctive personalities, wherever in the world they live, just as people do. 🙂

    Like

  7. Heather says:

    You are certainly a deserving recipient of the award; you are an excellent blogging family member!
    Like Lauri, I like the one of the bird peeking out. It perfectly captures a sense of urgency but carefulness. I didn’t realize starlings were such pests, but one of my best friends watched as a baby robin that had been born on her front porch was killed by a crow 😦
    Your photos are much happier!

    Like

  8. lisa says:

    Congrats on your award. I, for one, am so very happy you are part of my bloggy family! And, as always, I love your bird shots. 🙂 Hope your Hump Day is fantabulous.

    Like

  9. Karma says:

    Always love seeing your bird shots from across the other side of the continent, some the same as what I see here, some so very different. I have a bird i.d. question I’m trying to figure out this morning but so far have had no luck. Love the “jungle cat” picture!

    Like

  10. Well deserved – congratulations! And the birds are lovely!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

