Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow and Shades of Purple

“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present.”
― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

A.A. Milne’s Winnie-the-Pooh has been on my mind the past few days. It was my son’s favorite when he was little, and I’m feeling the urge to read it again. I’m feeling the urge to have the paper copies. The original Winnie-the-Pooh, before Disney adopted him.

20130531-091016.jpg

I was looking for a signature for my outgoing email, a Winnie-the-Pooh quote, and I came across this one. I realized, in reading it, that I believe this is what I believe. Suzicate had two recent posts that set me thinking – the first about believing and the second about adjusting – or sacrifice, depending upon your viewpoint. The dawn came, reading those posts and finding this quote.

20130531-091530.jpg

Yesterday is history, and there is no point in dwelling on it. Learn what we can from it and move on. I say this – yet I spend more time than I care to admit to wishing I could have done this or that differently – things that affected those whom I love. I am working on that. I am working on remembering that it is history and cannot be changed, so dwelling and regretting really serves no purpose.

20130531-091718.jpg

Tomorrow? We can make all the plans we want for tomorrow, and that is a good thing. But those plans may or may not come to fruition, and if they do not – adjust. Make the best of it. Move on. We make the choice whether we consider having to change our plans a sacrifice or an adjustment. We make the choice whether to deal with things as gracefully and graciously as possible, or whether to make ourselves miserable with regret.

20130531-092041.jpg
We make the choice whether to learn from our experiences, whether to soak up what we can and let the rest roll off our backs or to live in misery because something did not go as we wanted.

20130531-092226.jpg

Today? Today is a gift – the present. I woke up today to the real world. I was able to get out of bed. I was able to move around freely. I was able to enjoy the sunshine, the blue sky, the rain drops coming from the clouds that are smooth and gray or roiling and dramatic. I was, I am, able to enjoy whatever the world has in store for me. Today.

Today is enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow and Shades of Purple

  1. SuziCate says:

    Wise and lovely words, Carol. Truly, each day is a gift…it is ours to enjoy however we can with whatever adjustments life calls for. It’s good to try to see all the blessings each days brings.

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    And this post is a present too. I agree 100%, and still, it’s good to have a reminder. May all your days be filled with presence and presents of enough 🙂

    Like

  3. I knew Winnie-the-Pooh was full of knowledge. Wondered why nobody agreed with me… Great post and lovely pictures. Thank you for reminding all of us to live the day.

    Like

  4. Kathy says:

    This is so lovely. Funny, just read another blog about Winnie the Pooh a few minutes ago. It must be a day for his wisdom. I so agree with what you’ve written here. Hard to do some days, but so worth it when we realize this and can act from these truths.

    Like

  5. jay53 says:

    This is a very wise post. I think it’s why we love dogs so much: not only are they wonderful, soft, warm, non-judgemental creatures, but they live so much in the present that their joys or sorrows are immediate and bring us so much in sympathy with them.

    We love Winnie The Pooh here, too. We still have the set of paperbacks that OH had as a child, and both our children had them read to them when they were young. Looking forward to reading them to the twins when they are older!

    Like

  6. What beautiful thoughts and photos. Even the leaves look gorgeous with the raindrops dripping off of them. And, of course, I love the lilacs. They are a gift of the present.

    Like

  7. Dawn says:

    Pooh has always been very wise. And it takes a wise reader to realize that. You remind me to remember to enjoy today. Thanks. And hugs.

    Like

  8. lisa says:

    Pooh Bear is such a wise philosopher, isn’t he? I’ve been having some Eeyore days lately and this piece of wisdom seems very appropriate. I love the shot of your leaves!

    Like

  9. Karma says:

    It seems that the wisdom of Pooh has been making the rounds of the blogosphere as of late. Love the purply post. I hope the rain is easing up where you are.

    Like

  10. Kathy says:

    Hope you are doing OK this week, Carol.

    Like

  11. Joanne says:

    What a beautifully written and wise post this is Carol! I’m so pleased to know that you enjoy Pooh Bear’s wisdom too, just as I do. So simple, yet so profound. Love to you, my friend. 🙂

    Like

  12. Dear Carol,
    This is a beautiful and inspiring post. I think you just get better and better.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

