Share Your World – 2013 Week 19

Woo Hoo! Last week, in jest, I suggested a question Cee should ask as part of my answer to her question regarding what I always take with me wherever I go. This week she used that question! I am honored! An internet recognition – does that mean I’m “somebody”? Anyway, I certainly cannot ignore this week’s sharing, can I?

1. On a vacation what you would require in any place that you would stay? Question came from Wanderings of an Elusive Mind The obvious first: cleanliness, a comfy bed, shower, a refrigerator and microwave is nice, a coffee pot. However, the most important would be electricity so I can charge my electronic gadgets, and INTERNET! Life without internet is not life! Gone are the days of my youth when I was comfortable camping in a basic camper; now I am not especially willing to do with any less than at least a KOA Kabin – where they have internet. I don’t need luxury really, although I wouldn’t turn it down. I must confess to really loving the beds and bedding in the Hampton Inns.

2. If you were or are a writer do you prefer writing short stories, poems or novels? I guess I’d have to choose short stories because I doubt I could build a plot to take me through a whole novel. A poet, I am not, so that lets out poems. My preference though is blogging, or something very similar – a place where I can do stream of consciousness or rant or rave about whatever is on my mind at the moment. Something that doesn’t require a great deal of planning.

3. What’s your favorite song of the moment? I tend to have the same favorite songs most of the time. Hallelujah is one that always gets me – I think I have it in MP3 form by several artists. More recently, Carrie Underwood’s Temporary Home and Mama’s Song. Philip Phillips Home. Cry Me A River, that one is another that I have by multiple artists – Julie London (of course), Susan Boyle and more recently, Angie Miller who is currently an American Idol contestant. Sucker for nostalgia, I am.

4. If you were to buy a new house/apartment what is the top items on your wish list? Windows, lots of windows. An open floor plan. No carpet, all laminates – less work to keep up than hardwood. With all those windows, some kind of view of green – mountains would be fine, ocean would be wonderful, river or lake would work as an ocean-replacement. No desert. I am not a desert person.

20130507-100146.jpg
The perfect KOA cabin in Deadwood, South Dakota. I am deep in concentration, writing a blog to keep family and friends up to date on our travels. Don’t know what’s up with the brim of the hat folded back – dorky!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World – 2013 Week 19

  1. Carol – ” Hallelujah is one that always gets me.”

    Me too. KD Lang is my all-time favorite version (although Bon Jovi comes in at a really close second)…

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    Aw, I like your dorky hat 🙂
    The only real travel requirements I have are electricity and cleanliness. I would like to request memory foam mattresses, but don’t see that happening any time soon.
    Favorite songs are like favorite foods – it all depends on the mood I’m in.

    Like

  3. cobbies69 says:

    I like your choice of music.. and open plan with lots of windows..;)

    Like

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    HI Carol, you are famous and a star in my world!!! Love the photo of you writing. The song Hallelujah is always a favorite and “Let There be Peace On Earth”. I loved your answers as always!

    Like

  5. Colleen says:

    Hallelujah for me too. KD Lang’s version is still my favorite. We saw her sing this at the Mountain View Winery last summer and it was amazing. Leonard Cohen’s version is a close second. Your house plan sounds perfect!

    Like

  6. Nothing better than writing outdoors on a patio, Carol. I love houses with lots of windows too. Have you ever been to Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater?

    Like

  7. pattisj says:

    Hampton Inns are nice, I agree. Love the look of the cabin–might have to check into those one of these days.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Share Your World–2013 Week 19 | A New Day Dawns

  9. Pingback: Cee’s Share Your World | Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

I'd love to hear from you!

