Sunday Sunrise

As the sun rises over the hill in the east on this Sunday morning, I sit in my chair, by my window, with my cup of coffee. I watch the swallows carrying nesting materials into the houses, the hummingbird flitting around the feeder but not lighting long enough for my camera to capture him. I know it is him, because the early morning sun caught the red sparkles on his throat. It is early in the season, and my camera will capture him more than once before it ends, I am certain. The orioles are back too – I have caught glimpses of them with my eyes. Not the camera. You’ve seen their pictures in past years, but I will share again. Because they are such beauties, such bright spots in the days.

Early this past week I wandered about the yard near the house, enjoying the gifts of the earth in the spring, camera in hand.

20130505-064235.jpg
In my morning room, as I go out the door, I see my Christmas Cactus has decided to become a May Cactus, gracing us with her lovely flowers once again. I hope this is just a welcome to spring and not a sign that she is having a breakdown of some sort – getting her schedule confused. Her spots of color are very very welcome in the winter and I would miss them if they did not arrive.

20130505-064550.jpg
The little Grape Muscari, members of the Hyacinth family I believe, are the loveliest blue. I have planted masses of them around the pullout bed and once the crocus are done, while the daffodils are smiling at us, before the tulips show their shining faces, these little guys glow with joy. It’s contagious, that joy. I find myself smiling at them as I walk by. One of those times I am very glad I am not being watched – no one about to say “look at that crazy old lady, walking around her yard smiling, talking to – what? – there’s nothing there but flowers”. Bad enough they might hear my conversations with my furry girls.

20130505-064936.jpg
The little snub-nose daffodil with a lop ear. I have planted hundreds of daffodils meant for naturalizing since we moved here. They survive and multiply because the critters that delight so in my tulip bulbs cannot touch the daffodil bulbs. They know there is a toxin in those bulbs that will upset their tummies, if not create greater problems for them.

20130505-065214.jpg
The angels of daffodils, these delicate little girls. Their color is so soft and gentle, you can almost hear the swish of their wings when your back is turned. When you look at them, innocence prevails; they do not give away their secret. But I know, because I am the crazy old woman who talks to her flowers. And her furry girls.

20130505-065343.jpg
These – the queens of the daffodil world – stand tall and proud, flaunting their beauty. Defying someone to tell them they are not the rulers, the ones in charge. You see them only because they choose to allow it.

20130505-065855.jpg
Pulmonaria perhaps – I will not swear I have that name right – little stragglers from the parent I planted several years ago. These blue flowers with touches of raspberry pink are another of the spring visitors. Have you noticed that early spring seems to be a season of blue and yellow, with occasional touches of pinks and whites? Later in the spring the reds will appear.

20130505-070128.jpg
A tiny little pansy, the only bloom on the remnant of the plant put into this spot a couple of years ago. This year she shall be replaced – very soon now. I have bought a new resident for this cup of soil.

20130505-070254.jpg
A section of creeping myrtle – there are lots of these in my front yard just off my deck. Soon I will move to that deck for my morning coffee, where I will have full view of their perky little faces although their bloom period is not as long as I would like.

That is the tour of the garden close by the house. Inside the house, a bouquet of the double daffodils, whose heads are heavier than their stems are strong, so as they open and lean to the ground, I cut and bring in for inside enjoyment. My vase of sunshine.

20130505-070559.jpg
The sun has risen higher in the sky now, my coffee mug is empty and I find my world has enough. I hope your world also has enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday Sunrise

  1. sjbchamp85 says:

    Beautiful garden, beautiful words from a beautiful lady. Hugs to you.

    Like

  2. lisa says:

    Spring has sprung and what lovely shots you’ve shared! I wish my Christmas cactus was a May cactus. It hasn’t bloomed for a couple of years. I really like your Grape Muscari shot. Have a wonderful Sunday. xox

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Like each season as it arrives, these are all my favorites! The little grape hyacinths are so sweet, and they smell it too 🙂 Perhaps one of these years I will get around to planting some more bulbs. In the meantime, I’m working on the herbs.

    Like

  4. Kathy says:

    Thanks for starting your morning with us. Admiring that Spring has arrived at your place and you already have hummingbirds! We’re thinking of putting up our feeder later this week, but wondering if the late spring will delay the birds?

    Like

  5. Karma says:

    I love your garden tour, this is a wonderful time of year. I know what you mean about walking the yard with a smile on your face. Daffodils and others that are starting to bloom right now like bleeding hearts and lilacs have the same effect on me. Later this month, my beloved bearded irises will bloom, and I literally squeal with glee when I see them!

    Like

  6. Carol – Your photographs are like a healing tonic. They lift, Lift, LIFT the spirit!

    Like

  7. Joanne says:

    Carol, all of the flowers are just beautiful! The cactus in the first photo looks like one we have here and it’s called a Zygo Cactus (oh, I just looked it up, it’s also known as a Christmas cactus! I didn’t know that.)

    Who says you’re crazy talking to the flowers and fury girls, doesn’t everyone? I do! 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

