Flip Flops and Sparkly Toes

20130425-092416.jpg

While the midwest suffers a very long, snowy winter, we are having an unusually early, warm spring. Today is supposed to get up to 70, and I am ready! This year’s flip flops and sparkle on my toes, what more could a girl (no matter the age) want?

It is precisely this weather that has kept me away from blogging. Also from doing much reading of blogs. I keep getting behinder and behinder. I have been trying to get the spring yard cleanup done, as well as taking care of laundry and husband who has been having a bad couple of weeks. I think I need more days in my weeks. The yard is looking better, and I have hopes of getting the major part of the pine needle/pine cone cleanup done while we are still able to burn that debris. But it requires diligence, energy and time – none of which I seem to have enough of.

It will be done, however, and time to relax will follow.

In the meantime, for those of you still suffering with grumpy old man winter in your faces, spring will come. Because spring always does come. Eventually. Take deep breaths, have a hot cup of the beverage of your choice and if that doesn’t work, bring out the wine. Or hot toddies.

For all of you, I wish you enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Flip Flops and Sparkly Toes

  1. SuziCate says:

    It has been such crazy up and down weather here. One day I’m in shorts and slip flops and the next I’m in jeans and turtle necks…I even had to turn the heat back on…and now will probably have to go back to the AC again! What’s that groundhog’s name? I think he’s pipolar!

    Like

  2. Carol – I love the photo! Gosh, but it makes be believe that spring just might, maybe, perhaps, grace us with her presence one of these days. She’s flirted a bit, shown a floral petticoat or two, but then — coy lass that she is — runs and hides.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Announcing Spring and My Return to Blogging |

  4. That’s pretty spiffy nail polish, Carol! I’m so glad you are out in the garden. I spent a couple of hours in mine yesterday, and it was therapeutic. I have to write a bio for a friend, but have promised myself more garden time as a reward–it’s supposed to go up to 72 degrees today, a welcome change from 40 degrees and raining!

    Take good care of yourself. Don’t worry about the blog–it will always be there, and you gotta make hay while the sun shines.
    Hugs,
    Naomi

    Like

  5. Joanne says:

    It’s such a big job cleaning up the garden after a season has passed that keeps you indoors. Our summer months keep me indoors and the clean-up when the weather begins to cool is enormous, although very enjoyable. I had been wondering how you were, not having heard from you for a while, so thank you for letting us know you are well and busy. You really do look ready for the sun with your sparkles and flip-flops (we call them thongs over here!) Sending feel-better-soon wishes to husband. xxx

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    I was looking at my gardens tonight. There is SOOOOO much to do. The weeds have almost totally taken over. It’s going to take hours of back breaking labor to even make a dent. I am worried.

    Like

  7. Dawn says:

    PS: Love the toes and flip flops!

    Like

  8. The wine, the hot toddies, the flip flops and glittery nail polish! Who could not love it all? And then spring has arrived (at least for you…. For me it’s eternal summer and way too hot)! I’m glad you’re feeling happy, Carol. 🙂

    Like

  9. Angelia Sims says:

    So pretty!!! I love Spring. It seems to have lasted longer this year. I have been lack on blogging and visiting blogs too. I have been planning a party for the last month and it has taken everything I have. 🙂

    Like

  10. Heather says:

    I’m just happy someone is enjoying flip-flop weather – and the sparkly toes don’t hurt either 😉
    I’ll be joining you this weekend in yard work…finally. Yay!

    Like

  11. lisa says:

    Thanks for reminding me I need a pedicure! Cute sparkly toes!! Weather is suppose to straighten up this weekend with temps in the 60s and 70s. Hopefully we’ve turned the corner. Have a fabulous Friday and weekend ahead. xoxo

    Like

  12. Kathy says:

    This is the sweetest post–wishing well for those of us who have been burdened by winter for far too long. And then posting flip-flops and sparkly toes! Wow…you’ve given us hope. (And so has the weather, lately, finally, thank goodness.)

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

