Easter Spring Hunt

Typically, families organize Easter Egg Hunts for Easter morning. Those times of laughter and joy as we watch (or maybe even help) our little ones hunt for the brightly colored eggs the Easter Bunny deposited in our yards, or local parks or at Grandma and Grandpa’s house. I remember those times well, but now my children are no longer little, nor are my grandchildren, so coloring and hiding eggs is not in our Easter schedule.

Instead, it seemed to be an appropriate time to go out for an Easter Spring Hunt – a hunt for new beginnings. That’s what Easter is about, isn’t it? New beginnings? I found several, which I want to share with you.

20130403-101741.jpgOrnamental plum makes promises. First come the flowers, then the leaves.

20130403-101851.jpg Trumpet vine – a tiny new leaf. Possibilities of bright orange flowers later to please the viewer and the hummingbirds.

20130403-101957.jpg Flop-eared daffodil, the first to bloom.

20130403-102037.jpg Daffodils to come, with my shadow waiting in the background.

20130403-103148.jpg Helleborous – a subtle sign that winter is fading.

20130403-103227.jpg My shadow needed to stretch and sharpen those claws.

20130403-103312.jpg Wheelbarrow garden, waiting for assurance that warmth will last so it’s empty corner can be filled with brightly blooming flowers.

20130403-103411.jpg Lilac bud. First come the leaves, then the flowers. Those lovely, sweet-smelling flowers that take me back to childhood.

20130403-103502.jpg Against the rain-threatening skies, a baby honeysuckle vine leaf.

20130403-103555.jpg Crocus, these white – the pretty little dancers that are the first to welcome the promise of spring.

20130403-103650.jpg Tulip starters. The one flower bed that the critters have not yet invaded, so my tulips are safe.

20130403-103745.jpg Striped squill. I planted lots of these years ago, a few remain.

20130403-103823.jpg Willow sprouts – aren’t they a nice, cheery spring green?

20130403-103905.jpg Pretty happy-faced primrose, still in their little pots clustered in the hanging basket. Once their bloom period is complete, they will find their way to a new home in the dirt. For now, they live where I can see them from my morning window or my front deck, and they make me smile and remind me that new beginnings are there.

On another happy note, my dear daughter Kat, who has been trying to find a teaching job in Southern California for a few years now (she got her Master’s Degree just as the economy tumbled into oblivion), has broadened her search and decided to join her brother in foreign school teaching. She has schools in southern South Korea, China and Venezuela interested. Venezuela and South Korea have made offers. We think South Korea may win. New beginnings for her, too. Happiness for me – I love when my kids are feeling good about themselves and their lives!

Wishing for all of you new beginnings, continuation of happiness and lives filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Easter Spring Hunt

  1. Oh, Carol! What a lovely, uplifting tribute to Spring! Just what I needed today! It’s still dismal and snowing here in the Northeast, and everyone, including myself, is grumpy and frumpy. You brought me the nicest smiles! Thank you!

    Like

  2. Colleen says:

    Than you for the lovely wishes to take into this day Carol. And for the gift of your photos! I’m glad to hear your daughter may soon be using her teaching skills. And I so understand how you feel, when our children are happy in their lives it somehow steadies our own lives. Lily has a look of such bliss on her little face as she does her kitty yoga and communes with her tree 🙂

    Like

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    I’m so glad that you are finally get some sense of spring!! Great photos as always!

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    This is my favorite way to welcome spring – by searching for all its subtle signs 🙂 I’m hoping to see them in my area soon!
    Hooray for Kat! Your children are braver than me – the thought of being so far from my language and loved ones has kept me from ever pursuing anything similar. And now I’ve purchased a home I don’t want to leave…

    Like

  5. Jane says:

    I’ve been on pins and needles waiting for spring to arrive. (Darn that silly groundhog!) Beautiful photos!

    Like

  6. lisa says:

    You’re teasing me! Send those beautiful buds my way! On a related note, I hear about an “adult Easter egg hunt” where they put those little airline liquor bottles in eggs and hide them. Sounds like a great game! HAHAHAHAHA!!

    Like

  7. What a clever idea for an Easter Hunt. New beginnings – just perfect. Love all the photos but had a good giggle at the Shadow one. Looks like she’s fallen asleep against the tree 😀 Would make a perfect “morning after” photo 🙂 . Great news for your daughter. Wishing her all the best.

    Like

  8. Jayne says:

    Normally I’d see that your signs of spring are not as far advanced as ours but the old Jet Stream has foresaken us, meaning that our plants and trees don’t know what the heck’s going on and I’m sitting here with thermal underwear on like a ninety-year-old! I’m happy for you … now send the celestial golden orb our way for a bit …would you? 🙂

    Like

  9. Joanne says:

    When spring finally arrives in your cold climate area, it does so with such beauty, and so many surprise plants popping out of the ground, so different to the new growth I see in our warmer climate. Best wishes to Kat, I hope she finds just what she is looking for. 🙂

    Like

  10. dawnkinster says:

    Some years I dye eggs even though we don’t have kids, because it’s fun and they’re pretty. Most years not though. Love the traces of spring you found. You are ahead of us here by a week or two. Best wishes to your daughter teaching…what an adventure that will be!

    Like

  11. I can’t decide which photo I like best – the promise of spring in new buds; happy daffodils; the pretty last one; or the stretching cat! A cornucopia of smiles. Thank you 😀

    Like

  12. Karma says:

    I love your signs of spring. My daffodils are still quite a ways from blooming so it was nice to see them here. Kitty scratching at the tree is adorable.
    My Easter post was similar – all about finding signs of spring (we were on the same blogging wavelength once again 🙂 )

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

