Share Your World – 2013 Week 12

I missed last week, and don’t want to miss two weeks of Cee’s questions in a row, so here goes!

1. When anniversaries of unhappy times pop up, how do you handle them and what makes you turn your mood (attitude) around? I think I don’t dwell on unhappy times because I honestly cannot remember anniversary dates of any of them except the date of my grandson, Tobin’s death from cancer – February 17 (right, Kat?) but don’t remember the year. For several years, I included in my Christmas card scene a “Toby angel” and posted an ode Gep wrote with a picture of Toby on that date, but my Christmas card creation has dwindled and the post has done the same. For the most part, what’s past is past once I’ve dredged whatever lessons it has offered from it and I don’t dwell. Except for a few things I think were unfair to my kids as they grew up and the associated guilt.

2. Are you a cat, dog, goat or prefer the zoo person? For pets, dog and cat. Although I think sometimes it would be fun to have a goat, or chickens or a horse. Then again, those farm-type animals could also be a lot of work and expense, so I’ll stick with the dogs and cats. Definitely not birds in the house – just tooooooo messy for me.

3. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? Interesting question. Maybe between 50 and 60 – 55 sounds good. I think I was about that age before I developed any real sense. I think I was about that age when I became more mellow, and the emotions were less a roller coaster. I believe I don’t “think the age I am” most of the time – unless it’s convenient to be an “old lady”. The problem with having a 55 year-old mindset and a considerably older body is when I attempt to do some of the physical things I did at 55, my body hollers “uncle” much sooner. Very annoying!

4. Are you left or right handed? Unequivocally right-handed. My left hand is there for the purpose of providing a home for my engagement/wedding rings, helping to lift things, balance things, that type of function. It needs a lot of guidance though.

As a footnote – the vet called yesterday evening and said Bailey’s surgery went well, and she was awake. They got a lot of stones out, most of which we can have. Do I want them? Not sure. They’ll keep a couple to be tested to determine what caused them. We’ll pick her up after husband’s radiation treatment today and bring her home, which will make all of us happy – Shasta for certain. She’s been clinging to me and wandering about the house like a lost soul when I stay in one place for awhile.

There we have it for this day! For all of you out there, give your loved ones another hug, even if it’s virtual, and have a day full of enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Share Your World – 2013 Week 12

  1. I know all about having a practically useless left hand! And I agree with you about the unhappy anniversaries. I can never remember them either. I know my dad and my youngest brother always remember the dates of my mother’s and my second-youngest brother’s deaths, but I always remember their birthdays rather than their death dates. I wonder why that is and if most people are like that.

    I used to know a woman who kept birds in her house, and I don’t mean in cages. She literally let them fly around her house. And you’re right, it was really messy!! Glad to hear everyone is doing well there, Carol.

    Like

  2. I’m so glad to hear that Bailey gets to come home today – whoohoo!

    I had a nubian goat name Joseph. And though he was small, he ate ANYthing and EVERYthing he could get into. And trust me, he got into places you’d never, ever expect! He got along great with our dogs (although every now and again, he’d try to “ram” them)…

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    I don’t tend to remember exact dates of sad events either. It’s not that I try to forget, but I don’t try to remember. I think it works for me.
    For a while when I was a child, I was determined to become ambidextrous. I practiced writing with my left hand among other things; I gave it up quickly. My left hand isn’t entirely useless, but I’m definitely a righty. (Except my legs – left leg is dominant. Who knows?)
    Last – very happy for your puppy!

    Like

  4. sjbchamp85 says:

    Couldn’t agree more with your answer to the “unhappy anniversaries.” My sister-in-laws remind me of the anniversary of their parents’ deaths, and one sister reminds me of the anniversary of my parents’ deaths. Me, I prefer to remember their birthdays and the fun things we did.

    Like

  5. Cee Neuner says:

    Sounds like all is going well in your household. Hope you have all your family back with you now. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    I remember exact dates of some really sad things…but mostly try not to think of them on the anniversary now days. Glad Baily is doing well! Hope husband does well too.

    Like

  7. I’m with you on the not dwelling and definitely on the forgetting dates. Glad the surgery went well and wishing you and your family well.

    Like

  8. Dawn says:

    How’s Baily?

    Like

  9. Lisa says:

    55 sounds good. I think I was about that age before I developed any real sense. I can totally relate to that. But I still have a hard time accepting that I AM that age. And, thank you for the Baily update. I was just thinking about you all this morning. There are a few unhappy anniversaries ingrained in my mind (daughter’s miscarriage), but thankfully, more happy anniversaries tend to prevail. Hugs to you and yours. xoxoxo

    Like

  10. Kathy says:

    Glad to hear that your doggie is doing well. Am also happy to hear that you had such a positive view associated with 55. As someone at that very age, I have high hopes to be completely happy, satisfied and filled with “enough” before hitting 56. 🙂

    Like

  11. Charity says:

    I like how you said “provided a home for my engagement/wedding rings” :)!
    I loved your answers, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  12. Colleen says:

    Carol, I’m glad to hear the surgery went well and that your lovely girl will be home by the time you read this 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

