Speed Bumps, Be Gone With Thee!

You know how life sometimes throws speed bumps in your path? We’ve had a few of those in the past few years, and now one more – following too soon the one that led to husband’s brain surgery. This one not as serious, for certain, but still. A bump. In our path. I’m growing weary of climbing over those bumps.

20130318-080101.jpg Today our Bailey girl, the eldest and most gentle of our furry girls, must have surgery. A visit to the vet that was prompted by odd elimination behavior indicated bladder infection, but then. More. An x-ray was required. An x-ray that showed that her bladder is packed full of stones. Very full. Vet said the ugly word “surgery”, as soon as possible. So today, Bailey goes to the vet, to have surgery late this day, to stay at least one night.

I worry. I cannot help but worry. Bailey is one of our babies. A member of our family. She does not walk upright, she does not have an opposable thumb, she has much more hair and a long snout rather than a perky nose, but she is our girl. We love her.

On a brighter note:

20130318-080703.jpg
A certain sign of spring. A pair of bluebirds appear to be laying claim to this house, this house in my direct line of sight as I sit in my chair in the morning room.

20130318-080824.jpg
Checking it twice. Will it meet their approval? It has not been renovated since last summer, unfortunately. One of those things that fell through the crack with life events this year. Perhaps the furnishings will be acceptable to these new tenants.

These pictures have proved to me that my use of the Rebel needs more work. Since I have not ventured off the auto settings, I find that to focus on one object, to attain what I would call a “center focus”, I need to go to the “sport” setting. Full Auto has too many focus points, and gets drawn by the surroundings, so my focal point is not the same as its focal point. Life is a learning process.

Learning is much better than climbing over speed bumps. Sometimes my overloaded brain resists learning, sometimes it rejects new information imbedding itself, sometimes it fights me. So I must persist, I must let brain know that it needs to keep on working, keep on learning, stay alert, be open to new experiences.

Today my mantra is: speed bumps, be gone with thee! In my life, in your life, in the lives of all of our loved ones: Speed bumps, be gone with thee! Instead, let us all enjoy enough. No more, no less. Enough!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Speed Bumps, Be Gone With Thee!

  1. suzicate says:

    I’m sorry your Bailey Girl has to go through surgery. That’s kinda’ scary for sure. Hope she’ll be ok. Love your shots of the birds!

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    Hope everything with your baby girl goes well. May both bumps and stones be gone soon enough!

    Like

  3. Carol — I trust that everything with Bailey’s surgery went exceptionally well and that you and yours will all rest easy tonight.

    Like

  4. Madhu says:

    Hope Bailey has recovered well from her surgery Carol. Wishing all your speed bumps away 🙂

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    I hope everything went well with Bailey’s surgery. Please keep us updated. Yes, I’d like the speed bumps to be gone as well. But I’d like the pot holes to disappear too. Thinking about you and yours….xoxox

    Like

  6. Karma says:

    Hoping everything went well for Ms. Bailey. Of course we worry for the furry family members too.
    I love the bluebird photos! I do hope they decide to move in.
    By the way, I use a Rebel too. I usually leave mine on “P” mode – the camera makes nice setting choices, but also allows you to make your own adjustments in this mode, which I like very much.

    Like

  7. You’ve been hitting too many speed bumps lately, Carol. I hope Bailey is doing fine now, and I hope you are too! Hugs xxx

    Like

  8. I hope Bailey is okay. And I hope the road is smooth and steady for a while.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

