Share Your World – 2013 Week 10

Here we go, sharing some more, with more questions that will not have easy answers – at least for me. But Cee has put down the gauntlet (does one “put down” a gauntlet? If not, you get what I mean don’t you?) and I’m going to put forth my best effort.

1. If you could be any animal, what would you be? There are many wild animals that are so beautiful, so majestic, that would be tempting. As would a bird, with its ability to fly. But – and this is a very large but – their lives are too much of a challenge, too much work. If I were going to be an animal, I would want life as easy as possible, as comfortable as possible. Therefore, my choice would have to be one of my cats. One of the dogs would be okay, but I think I don’t want to be so dependent on my people’s approval, so I’ll take the cat – where I can be what I want, do what I want, have my way and have only to cuddle with my person occasionally, to look at her with big soft eyes as if she were the most important thing in the world, and she would be mine!

2.. If you had to describe your day as a traffic sign, what would it be? I pondered this question for quite awhile. I considered and dismissed several traffic signs. Given the way things have been for the past year or so, I think the sign that says “bump” would be the most appropriate.

3. What was your most memorable birthday? Would the fact that I can think of no specific birthday, none that just jumps out at me as really special, give the indication that life is boring? It’s not truly, but I think I don’t consider a birthday much more than any other day now, so I think my most memorable birthday, or day, is this one. This day, where I woke up and was able to get out of bed with clear mind and (relatively) healthy body.

4. In what do you find the simplest of joys? Oh! Each new day, each dawn, the thrusting through the soil of new growth, the bird in the tree outside my window, the birth of a new bud bursting into bloom, the antics of my furry girls, their kisses. Living, sharing time with loved ones and friends. I could go on for a very long time here.

Now a few photos, mostly of the little furry girls having a wrestling match one recent morning.

20130305-104158.jpg

20130305-104210.jpg

20130305-104221.jpg

20130305-104233.jpg
And three that were a result of playing with the Rebel’s larger lens.

20130305-104324.jpg

20130305-104337.jpg

20130305-104355.jpg

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Share Your World – 2013 Week 10

  1. “Bump” — I love it! And just look at the girls in the third photograph with their ears flattened back: “Put up your dukes!”

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    I’ve always thought horses were such magnificent creatures, but if I could be assured of a warm, safe home, it would be a dog! Your “bump” sign made me giggle. Mine might be “dangerous curves ahead” and that is not a reference to my figure. More of what life tends to throw these days. The only birthday that comes to mind is when Entrepreneur surprised me with a party on my 50th. Simple joys? Dittos your answers. Hope you have a wonderful day today, my friend. xoxo

    Like

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    I adored your answers. I usually don’t remember birthdays either since I celebrate holidays much like you do…just another day to celebrate life. I love to watch our cats wrestle/play. I love it when they are going in slow motion. Your photos are lovely as always!!! Thanks so much Carol!

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    As always, fun, honest answers. I think I’d be one of your cats, too – mine are a little too dependent for me to want to be one of them 😉
    Our cats rarely wrestle so nicely. It usually ends up in tufts of fur and angry kitties. They are old now (going on 13), and I guess they’re just grumps.

    Love the dragonfly garden ornament. Are you enjoying the Rebel?

    Like

  5. Colleen says:

    Your kitty-wrestling photos brought back memories! This is the first time in 35+ years we haven’t been sharing our space with a cat or two or more. It’s always so nice to see your two and read about their hijinks 🙂

    Like

  6. Good answers, Carol!

    Like

  7. Kathy says:

    I love that you love simple joys. The drama of watching cats wrestle! See how there’s drama everywhere? I swear that’s as exciting as making sauerkraut. Hope all is going well for you and hubby.

    Like

  8. jay53 says:

    Oh, I can answer a couple of those! My most memorable birthday was my 13th, I can tell you that, because I was very superstitious before that, well on the way to being crippled by superstitiousness, in fact. But my thirteenth birthday was such a fun day and everything seemed to go well for me and that kind of dispelled the ‘unlucky thirteen’ thing for me, and freed me from a lifetime of superstitious dread!

    Traffic sign’s easy too: ‘Multiple roundabout ahead’! Those things are fiendish, I tell you, and horribly confusing. If you don’t make the right decision extremely quickly, you’re sunk – rather like life, really.

    I love that you love the simple joys, too. I’ve always said that the way to happiness is in the appreciation of small things.

    Your cats do seem to have a happy life -no wonder you want to be one of them!

    Like

  9. I loved your answers, but why “bump”?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Joseph, thank you for your comment. “Bump” because the past couple of years have been full of them – lots and lots of speed bumps in our road of life. Husband has advanced prostate cancer, which spread to the skull and a large brain tumor developed that required two surgeries – and that’s the way it’s been. Bumpy!

      Like

  10. pattisj says:

    There’s nothing more fun than watching a litter of kittens play. Sorry to hear life has been full of bumps for you in recent years. Those are some pretty big bumps you mentioned. Hugs!

    Like

  11. Great answers, Carol. Yes, waking up each day and enjoying the simple pleasures of life all around us. That is joy. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

