Playing with the Rebel

A couple of days ago I decided to explore the world of the Rebel – husband’s Canon Rebel camera, that is. I got it for him for his birthday maybe three years ago, and he’s used it some but mostly it sits in its bag and slumbers. I have been happy with my Panasonic, although I do not have an especially critical eye; Gep has been after me to move on and up. Maybe I will, although the old Rebel may never get off auto or one of the preset scene modes.

Yesterday I wandered about the house and yard – the furry girls and I called it a walkabout but really it was more of a stroll about and I doubt it had much real exercise value. It was a good excuse to get out into the sunny outside world, albeit the limited world of our yard, and see what we could see. The camera came with two lens (lenses?) and I started out with the 18-55mm lens. Trying to understand what those classifications are all about, understand focal length, distance, whatever!

20130302-073823.jpg Before I went outside, I took a few photos inside, in the morning room as I had my morning coffee. This one is of my little glass rooster and hen I got in Beijing, sitting on the glass table top next to the poinsettia – speaking of the poinsettia, it is doing very well yet and I’m appreciating it’s bright blooms in these dreary pre-spring days.

20130302-074011.jpg Speaking of which, here is said poinsettia.

20130302-074052.jpg Pretty pink blossoms on the cyclamen. Did you know the cyclamen is in the primrose family?

20130302-074234.jpg Moving on into the yard, everyone should have a photo of the bark of the Ponderosa pine, don’cha think?

20130302-074321.jpg Everyone should also have photos of snow-melted-to-ice-laying-in-the-yard.

20130302-074409.jpg A tiny little leaf still clinging to the smokebush with late-afternoon sun lighting giving it a golden glow.

20130302-074524.jpg Now that the snow is melting, the Bailey-balls are showing up – those balls taken outside by Bailey but in all probability stolen from her by Shasta and left lying when something else got their attention. These little treats appear in the most unlikely places, and in summer often get shaved – or shredded – when they hide in the grasses and are not spotted before the mower gets there.

20130302-074720.jpg The final photo – the fronds of the Cedar tree. Do Cedar trees have fronds? It seems that should be an appropriate term for this.

That’s my tour with the Rebel and its 18-55mm lens. This morning I attached the 55-250mm lens and have taken a couple of photos, but intend to take more as the day goes on and they may become the subject of another post. Aren’t you excited? I am – at least the urge to grab the camera and go is coming back.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Playing with the Rebel

  1. I love the bark photo. Love the textures and colours.

    Like

  2. dmauldin53 says:

    Very good photos. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    At this time of year, even a little stroll-about is a nice change of pace! Good thing you’ve got the camera and lenses to play with to keep you going…that and the melting snow πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Lynne Ayers says:

    I hope playing with the “new” camera is fun and not frustrating as these things are sometimes wont to be. Follow your urges and indulge yourself .. and have fun.

    Like

  5. Kathy says:

    I like your pics, Carol. It seems like the Canon Rebel does make things sharper, stand out. Yet sometimes I miss the days of my point-and-shoot. It felt much simpler and easier to, well, simply point and shoot. Except that’s what I do with the Rebel anyway. But it’s such a Big Boy! It will be interesting to see if you get really inspired with your (husband’s) new toy.

    Like

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    Beautiful. FYI, I rarely get my camera off of auto or one of the presets. I let the camera do the thinking for me. I know how to use it, but I’m just as happy with the pre-sets. The quality on the better cameras (those that use real lenses) it worth the extra cost.

    Like

  7. Thanks for sharing the photos! Love the pine bark. Have fun exploring.

    Like

  8. It’s so great that you’re experimenting with a new camera. Good for you!! I still don’t even know how to use my Olympus PEN’s manual settings. Pathetic. I love your poinsettias and the cyclamen. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. A wonderful tour, Carol! Thanks for taking us along.

    Like

  10. dawn says:

    Nice job. I especially liked the new leaf on the smoke bush. Hints that there is hope. Oh and the tennis ball emerging from the winter. Made me smile. I never leave the auto or preset world on my camera either. Have fun!

    Like

  11. Clean, crisp, vivid photos – WOW! I’m lovin’ the detail of the tree bark.

    Like

  12. Ditto on the tree bark ~ very detailed. I also love the last photo of the cedar tree. You have a good eye!

    Like

  13. Lisa says:

    I have a Canon Rebel as well. Hope you’re having fun learning the ins and outs of it. I love your shots and find myself taking many of the same things on “walkabouts,” although I can’t seem to drag myself out into the cold lately to do them. The detail on the bark and ice is very nice.

    Like

  14. suzicate says:

    Great pics. My hubby has a Rebel as well. I’m hoping he’ll upgrade soon and hand it over to me!

    Like

  15. Colleen says:

    Oh, nice photos Carol! I’m in the process, well, pre- process would be the more accurate word, of getting a Rebel. Have always been a fan of Canon, maybe in part from being somewhat familiar with their systems. Our poinsettias are growing like crazy too. A big difference from living farther north, we were lucky if they made it to January. They just didn’t thrive in the same way, maybe not enough sun and/or warmth.

    Like

  16. jay53 says:

    I love bark photos!! The Ponderosa pine is nice.

    We have a ‘Rebel’, too, but it’s not called a Rebel over here. It’s the same camera, but in England it hasn’t a name, just a string of letters and numbers. It’s a great camera – even if you do only use it on auto!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

