Sunday – Surgery Two

We have been heaving huge sighs of relief today. Husband came through the second surgery, which lasted about 3 hours, very well it appears. The doctor said he was happier with this one, as he got “lots” of tumor out – no percentage quote this time,I suspect a little CYA. He’s scheduled a CT scan for tomorrow a.m., so I imagine either husband or both of us will get more info after he’s reviewed that. Who gets it will depend upon the time of doctor’s visit, since I cannot go to ICU before 8:30.

He is in ICU, and was talking and reasonably coherent when I was permitted to go in at 12:30 – he came out of surgery at 12:00. His right eye, which had been bulging quite a bit, appeared much more normal today, and he seemed more clear-headed this afternoon. The nurse seemed to think he might be able to go up to the neuro floor tomorrow – but much will depend on the next few hours and whether there’s any brain swelling, which the doctor said he would expect. The steroid they give him to prevent inflammation in the brain and to keep the swelling down makes his blood sugar drop, so they’re monitoring that carefully. It is also normal for the sodium level to drop and that is something else they must monitor closely.

I am appreciating the fact that I have this motel room away from the hospital – a quiet place to go for the nights, where I can relax and take care of only me. I think too often we forget about taking care of “me” during times like this. There is a woman whose husband is in ICU also – he is only 58, he had radiation for cancer in the 80s when they knew too little, and damage was done to his organs. He is on a ventilator, unable to communicate with her, totally comatose. She is scared. She is worried. Of course she is. She does not get the rest she needs. She cannot. It’s a reminder that it could be worse.

It is time for some levity, I think. Today I had salad for lunch, which is what I often have. An awful lot of healthy eating happening here, I think, so I offset it with an early dinner of a MacDonald’s burger and fries. Good move, right? Well, maybe not, but I had to go to the bank because my cash supply has gone very low – interesting how quickly that happens here – and there was a MacDonald’s right across the street from the bank. Tomorrow night – maybe Chinese. An injection of MSG, yes? But it’s okay, because that glass of red wine will get rid of those nasty oxidants. I’ve read that. It must be true. They can’t print anything that isn’t true, right?

So now I think I will go find something mindless to view. Something sleep-inducing. As in brain-numbing, although my brain seems to be a bit scattered these day, so perhaps it will not be so easily captured and numbed.

But today there is more hope. Today.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sunday – Surgery Two

  1. Dear Carol,
    I’m so glad you are taking care of yourself. I think a glass of wine sounds like a great idea. I am so glad this surgery is over and your husband is doing better.
    Thinking of you both, and sending love and good wishes,
    Naomi

    Like

  2. Madhu says:

    Yes, happy your husbands eye seems better and that you are able to get some time to yourself. Hope tomorrow brings even better news.

    Like

  3. cobbies69 says:

    Always hope Carol..;) sending feel good energies for you,,

    Like

  4. lauowolf says:

    I’m so glad it went well.
    Just take it all one day at a time, and this one was a good one.
    And the wine and the McDonalds are all fine if they keep you going, and especially if they give you a smile.

    Like

  5. Joanne says:

    What a relief he’s appearing to have improved already after the second surgery. And the McDonalds, Chinese, red wine, anything you feel like Carol, just have it. Now is not the time to concern yourself with healthy eating. Make sure you continue to take care of you, so the you can be there for your husband. xxx

    Like

  6. Kathy says:

    Glad he came through so well, Carol. Baby yourself, Baby, wrap yourself in love. You’ve been a good care-taker.

    Like

  7. Dawn says:

    So glad it seems to be going well. And that you have a retreat of sorts to retire to. Maybe a warm bath and a little mindless TV. I hope the news today is good.

    Like

  8. suzicate says:

    Glad the second surgery went well.

    Like

  9. So sorry you are having to go through this. Glad to hear there is hope and you are so right, it is vital to remember your needs at times like these. I think Mac D’s was a very good idea. The wine – even more so. It is so hard, being the one having to watch someone go through this.

    Like

  10. Heather says:

    Glad to hear the surgery has gone well. Hoping to hear a very high percent after the next CT scan.
    And Chinese sounds absolutely necessary. MSG with some extra sugar sounds like just the thing šŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Oh Carol, my heart goes out to you. I’m so glad the second surgery seemed to go well and that at least you can talk to your husband. Please, please, please take care of yourself. Times like these call for being gentle and kind to yourself. Rest a lot, eat healthy, sip on a bit of red wine: I’m sure the doctor would approved this treatment – for you, the caregiver and patient wife. Blessings on you and your family.

    Like

  12. Colleen says:

    Carol, I’m very glad hear this news. Take good care of yourself and blessings to you both.

    Like

  13. Carol – I’m so glad for the good news! And your levity made me laugh!

    Burger & fries, MSG, red wine, and trusting anything in print – you go, girl!

    Like

  14. Lisa says:

    Good news about surgery redux! There is always hope. And a few Micky D fries aren’t all bad. I think of them as comfort food! Above all, make sure you do take time to care for yourself, physically, mentally and spiritually. So it’s easier to cling to that hope!

    Like

  15. Northern Narratives says:

    So happy to hear the news. Hope that each day forward keeps getting better.

    Like

  16. Lynne Ayers says:

    Such anxious times but so glad to hear some positives. Your hotel room must be a little haven for you, I know it would be for me. Give yourself a hug and another glass of wine (of COURSE it’s true!)

    Like

  17. dawnkinster says:

    Thinking about you and your husband and hoping things are progressing well.

    Like

  18. Carol, I’ve been neglecting my email for a few days, and only just saw these posts. You and your husband are in my prayers. Good girl, making sure you give yourself a little respite. You need your rest, too – and you’re no help to anyone else if you’re wrung out and exhausted. All the best to you. XOXO

    Like

  19. Carol, I’ll keep you in my prayers each day. Good to hear you’re able to get some rest, not sure I’d be so sensible. My husband spent 3 days in a hospital a few years ago after a much less serious surgery, and I slept in the chair beside his bed. I couldn’t bring myself to leave except to run to the cafeteria to get a meal and bring it back to the room to eat it. Not a healthy way to go. You’re doing it right!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

