The Birthing of 2013

I know it was a week ago that the new year birthed, but I am behind – as usual – and I did so want to share our New Year’s Eve with you. It was ever so exciting, you know.

The Artistic One joined Gep, Kat and I – husband retired to his bed to read, being the only smart one in the bunch. We poured a glass of wine, or two, and vowed to see the sparkly Times Square ball drop to usher in another year. We were quite sure we could do this, because although we are on the west coast, we have access to the east coast channels, so our viewing of the ball drop would occur at 9:00 p.m. Pretty safe bet, yes?

We (or perhaps I, I do not quite recall) opted to usher in this new year by viewing the Fox network New Years Live show – because Philip Philips was appearing, as was Tate Stevens – for those of you who are not music show addicts, Philip won American Idol this past year and Tate was the recent winner of the X Factor. We tuned in a bit late because husband did stay up to watch the Bowl Game that was on that night, and at 8:00 p.m., when the show started, there was only a two point difference in the score – even one as heartless as I could not change channels until the game ended. As it did – but it took a very long time, it seemed, for them to play those last couple of minutes.

20130107-154557.jpg
Just a little while in, this appeared on the screen – huh? What? I mean, isn’t it bad enough that the host of the show (familiar to the kids – who, by the way, aren’t really “kids” anymore – but not to me, gratefully) was not amusing. Or entertaining. But “Girls of Las Vegas”????? Really? What has this to do with the birthing of a New Year? Where is Philip? Where is Tate? Girls of Las Vegas?

20130107-154824.jpg
Okay, perhaps she’s just enjoying the festivities. I must admit she’s cute. And very young.

Where’s Philip? Where’s Tate?

20130107-154933.jpg
Camera draws back. Oh dear. Poor child. She must be freezing! She forgot her costume, her party dress. She did forget, didn’t she? Of course she did.

20130107-155032.jpg
Kat’s Lolly is aghast! Where is Philip? Where is Tate? says she, mouth open, wine untouched. Untouched wine is a rarity for Lolly.

20130107-155123.jpg
Shasta and husband are the only smart ones. We wait. Not patiently. Finally, Tate appears, but is a disappointment. The sound system is bad. Not good. Sadness.

We flip channels. We see bits of Dick Clark’s history, we see glimpses of more Las Vegas girls, but we do not linger. Philip does not appear. I decide he was on first, before the football game ended. More sadness.

We continue to flip to see what’s going on with Dick Clark’s history and Ryan Seacrest. Woefully, Ryan is being assisted in his hosting duties by two overly-made up singer/actress people, who are overly excited about the goings-on. Over the top reactions to everything, we think. And we are not all old people here in this room.

We miss the ball drop. We finally realize my avid flipping between channels has made us miss the ball drop. It is now 9:30. The “entertainment” does not become more entertaining. The artistic one wishes us a Happy New Year and a fond goodnight and heads home. We sit awhile longer, sad.

This birthing was disappointing. But we know the year will not be.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Birthing of 2013

  1. You are all together sharing a glass of wine, and that’s what counts. The rest is quite arbitrary, really. Happy New Year, Carol!

    Like

  2. Colleen says:

    Happy New Year Carol! And smiling, our evening was almost identical except we did see Philip. Anderson and Kathy were our hosts, for the most part. And only one of us was awake to see the ball drop. The best of all wishes to both of you.

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh, the photo of Shasta is priceless!

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    I missed the ball drop, too, but I could have watched it. I kind of wanted to, but only wanted to see the ball drop because I find the festivities the same way you found them. But, the important thing is that you ushered in the New Year with good people. I’m sure it’ll be a good one πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I trust that the year will only get better for you. May you have a wonderful 2013

    Like

  6. Northern Narratives says:

    Much happiness to you in 2013 πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Dawn says:

    Well Happy New Year anyway! The ball doesn’t make the new year…we all do! Though I suppose if you were expecting to spend it with friends and family and then missed it..well I guess that would be disappointing.

    Like

  8. Lisa says:

    We didn’t even watch the ball drop anywhere! I know, that sounds almost sacrilegious doesn’t it? Just wasn’t into it this year. Sure, there was wine, but we opted for a rented movie instead. Wow, we’re sooooo exciting.

    Like

  9. Joanne says:

    I would have been disappointed if I were expecting to see Philip Philips and missed him too, Carol! We stayed at home and watched the fireworks in Sydney Harbour on TV. That was all. Oh, and I did have a glass of chamagne which made me tired, so I went to bed. The night does not, however, set the scene for the year, and I know that 2013 will bring its own kind of magic into your life. ❀

    Like

  10. Wine and family are all you really needed to usher in the new year!! I’m glad you had an, um, interesting time! I was in bed before the new year came in!! 😦

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

