The Wind is Blowing, The Snow is Snowing

But I have my loves to keep me warm. And warm jackets, gloves, hats and boots, should I feel a need to venture out in it. Yesterday we did get some sunshine, although it was quite cold.

I am feeling like my time is fractured – splintered – little shards of it scattered here and there, but none of it together enough to actually get much done. Some of that feeling is simply a result of the way things are here now. Some of it is despite my frequent proclamations that it bothers me not at all that I am not so productive, especially in the housework arena, it does bother me. Not immediately, but slowly by slowly the guilt creeps in. And then there are those beads in my craft/back/Kathryn’s bedroom, waiting for my attention. Waiting for a glimmer of creativity to burst out.

Not to mention the sweater that my son will not be getting for Christmas this year, because too often I lost my focus and made mistakes – the kind that glare, not the kind that can be called a pattern. Or a point of interest. Or a feature. Too often I had to start all over. The good thing is it should be done for next winter. Assuming the creek does not rise.

Too many things undone. I feel a need to reorganize. I think I may have to take a bloggy break, or at least a bloggy slowdown. I know the words will not be contained completely, I know that little niggly ideas will creep into my brain and then begin the push to be released, to be put down on digital paper, to be shared. Perhaps just a little less often. Perhaps this little slowdown will include less reading of blogs also, or less commenting. It does not mean I’m banishing any of you from my thoughts or my life. I just might visit a bit less often.

I think this is not just me this is happening to. Perhaps it is the season, the busy-ness of the season, but I have noticed several of you bloggers that I follow have fallen silent. Have been posting less frequently. Life has a habit of getting in the way sometimes, doesn’t it?

So, until we visit again (which could be tomorrow or next week), I wish you all enough.

In the meantime, some of the pictures from the sunny yesterday and the windy, snowy today. Clicking on any picture will start a full-size slide show.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Wind is Blowing, The Snow is Snowing

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I guess you got snow!! WOW!! Enjoy your son and don’t worry about us in the blogworld. We will still be here!!!

    Like

  2. HI Carol,
    I think it must be the season, or this ‘n’ that. Almost two weeks went by without a post, as I had out of town company and was hit by a terrible case of bronchitis, while trying to get out the presents I mail to out-of-towners. I have tried to keep up with at least reading my buddies’ blogs, but I am now well over a thousand e-mails behind, because I can’t bear to delete a friend’s post without at least a quick peek. But I posted yesterday, and have gotten a warm response, and I have given myself today to try to catch up on my reading of blogs. It’s okay to take a break and recharge your batteries, especially this time of year.

    I didn’t know you were a beader. I spent so many hours beading with the kids when they were in their early teens. It would be a luxury to take out the beads, put on a good movie and pore over the colors, put my mind to finding the patterns and making something beautiful. I expect one day I will get back to it, maybe with my as yet unborn grandchildren!

    Best wishes for a gentle and relaxed holiday, Carol. Merry Christmas to you all–give the girls a hug for me.

    Warmly,
    Naomi

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    No one will blame you if you take a little hiatus or slow down in your writing. I always marvel at those of you who can write and post every day! I don’t seem to be able to do that. I try and keep up, but all too often I’m reading 4 days worth of entries! Mind you, I love spending time with my bloggy buddies, but I think we all feel the “busy-ness” of life these days. I absolutely love your snowy photos! We had a little mini-snow event this morning. Temps are sliding downhill into the 20s with 40mph winds!

    I wish for you and yours a blessed Christmas. May your holidays be bright and your cocoa hot! xoxoxo

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Your snow is gorgeous. We’re getting buckets now, but are planning to *try* to travel in it tomorrow. Enjoy your bloggly break, and your family, holiday, knitting, sitting, cleaning, and everything in between. We’ll see you when you’re around πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. “I wish you all enough.” That’s a powerful blessing, thank you. And thank you for sharing your wonderful photographs as well.

    Like

  6. Sheri says:

    Hope your Christmas is joyous and that the New Year brings you and yours health and prosperity.

    Like

  7. I’ve noticed people have slowed down with blogging and comments as well. So have I and it’s not even really the holiday season here. Just take it easy and relax; that’s what the holiday should be about anyway. I love your snowy gallery!! Have a relaxing holiday, Carol! πŸ™‚ xxx

    Like

  8. Dawn says:

    Enjoy your rest…we’ll still be here when you return! I’ll miss you though…have a wonderful holiday. Stay warm!

    Like

  9. Angelia Sims says:

    Ohmygosh! I have been struggling SO HARD just to get ONE thing done. I make progress, but never get that completed satisfaction. So yes, I know exactly what you mean! The junco is a sweetheart for posing so nicely. And I LOVE the shot with the snow on the evergreen tree. Snow is just beautiful to me. I hope we get more than a smattering this year. πŸ™‚ Enjoy your time. Relax and soak up the goodness of the season.

    Like

  10. Karma says:

    Hi Carol! I am one of those bloggers guilty of a slow down. Other things, other thoughts, other happenings have likely caused my lack of blogginess ( is that a word? if it isn’t I think it should be, lol). I love the photos, especially of the birds. I often see birds on your blog that we don’t have here in the northeast and I enjoy it. I’m on Christmas break from school now, so after Christmas I hope to do a bit more posting. Have a wonderful Christmas if I don’t see/hear from you in the blogosphere again before then.

    Like

  11. Hi Carol,
    I have been impressed by your ability to turn out so many posts when I felt at a loss for words. I think we all reach a point when we need to reevaluate the purpose of our posts. I may return to mine in the new year, but I felt it was taking up too much time- not only writing, but taking phots and reading other blogs. I almost felt glued to my computer.
    In the past few months i have spent less time on the computer and more time doing hands on things- I joined weight watchers and go to meetings every week. I volunteer with a cancer patient 1-2 times a week, I do yoga almost daily and I have found time to do some sewing projects. This means my husband, son and sisters, mother and aunt all receive handmade presents for Christmas. A reward in its own way, and a justification of my priorities.
    No one would blame you for resetting your priorities. We would miss you, but we would all understand. Best wishes in the coming year!
    Laura

    Like

  12. jay53 says:

    I know I’m one of the bloggers who have fallen silent .. or silent-ish. You’re right, life has a habit of getting in the way, but I don’t like not blogging so often. I miss the company of fellow bloggers and I miss getting my thoughts and little stories about our life down on paper, so I’ve resolved to make an effort to blog at least twice a week beginning in the new year.

    Love the pictures – the dogs lying down in the snow make me smile. Greyhounds tend not to do that – they like soft, fluffy, warm beds to lie down on! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  13. Joanne says:

    Oh Carol, I do hope you manage to get yourself organised during your break! I have been so busy during my blogging break that I am not at all organised! Now I need to get back into the routine of blogging again, plus become organised around home and finish off a million-and-one unfinished projects. It’s hard juggling, and keeping all of the balls up in the air, isn’t it…

    Sending you and your family much love and happiness for Christmas and I do hope to see you back here soon. I will catch up on your posts that I have missed while you are away. xxx πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

