Share Your World: Week 51

What better to do on these snowy, wintry days than play along with Cee in sharing our worlds. Nothing better than enjoying a hot cup of Chai in our warm homes and sharing with one another is there? Okay, maybe that’s stretching it a bit, but it is great fun and that’s why I choose to play. Now the questions.

1. Your most favorite fiction book? Great way to start out, with a question to which an answer does not immediately pop up. I think, after having given it some thought, two books comes to mind as favorites. Both by Lisa Genova – Still Alice and Left Neglected. There are many, many other books I have thoroughly enjoyed that touched my heart, my soul, my funnybone or left me in awe, smiling, or weeping, but Ms Genova is at the top I believe.

2. What one thing you miss about being a kid? Summer days riding my bike on back roads of dirt, playing on the hillsides with my dog, my collie named Guy. The complete freedom and innocence of childhood in those days. Something kids now will never experience, I fear.

3. If you were an ice cream cone how many scoops and flavors would you be and why? Now this one is really difficult for me because I don’t know that I have ever associated flavors or scoops of ice cream with a personality. So I’ll just let the mind wander about in the world of ice cream and see what it comes up with. A scoop of minty chocolate I think – the tang of the mint is the spice of life, the chocolate chips are the sweetness of life. A scoop of orange sherbet because nothing is better on a hot summer day than the smoothness, the tiny little tang of orange sherbet. Vanilla, because we all need some blandness in life or it would become overwhelming. If there is such a flavor, strawberry cream cheese because it would feel so good.

4. What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)? Stocking shelves in a drug store. That job didn’t last long because the male manager was not a nice man and the job was dreary. I think I was around 12 when I did that. When I was 16, I worked at a movie theater in the concession stand and as a cashier. That was much more fun – lots of people to meet and unlimited popcorn.

There must be pictures today. There must be happy pictures today, so I shall share how our furry girls spend a snowy football Sunday.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Share Your World: Week 51

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Strawberry cream cheese sounds delicious….I loved your photos of your kids. Thanks so much for adding to the fun of SYW!!!

    Like

  2. Kathy says:

    Hi, Carol. Guess what–we have something in common. I stocked shelves in my dad’s drugstore starting at age twelve. For fifty cents an hour. Also waited on customers and dusted and probably sixteen other things, too. Those were the days.

    Like

  3. Your furries are beautiful! I wish that I slept that well. Fantastic post! Your blog is quite pretty, too, it makes me want to stick around and catch up on posts.

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    You might have chosen interesting flavors for your ice cream cone, but I wouldn’t want to eat that hodge podge 🙂
    I find myself wishing that my cats behaved a bit like yours. This house will have no small nick-knacks, because my cats think they are all toys with which to test gravity. Same thing for anything on top of cabinets. And last, we can have no plants 😦 Every plant I’ve ever had been dug up, eaten, or both.
    While I’m wishing, can I curl up with the dogs?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      We went through those times with our cats, but Twiggy has matured now and is no longer the terror that she was as a kitten. Lily spends a good deal of time outside, fortunately – because if she were inside for long, she would not leave things alone. That space on top of the cupboards between the two cats? Used to hold some teapots. I think Lily must take responsibility for their tumbles. And you are welcome to curl up with the dogs whenever you like. The black one, Bailey, is the older and calmer, but Shasta is more a cuddler.

      Sent from my iPad

      Like

      • Heather says:

        When do cats cease being kittens? Our terrors are going on 13! Thanks for the open invite on the puppy hugs. One day we’ll have a snuggly dog 🙂

        Like

  5. craftandchat says:

    They are all so cute! I used to have a torty cat.

    Like

  6. up, Up, UP to the top of the cupboards!

    Like

  7. dawnkinster says:

    These are hard questions! No way could I come up with a favorite book. Well. I could go look at goodreads list…but still…and icecream? My favorite thing in the whole world? What kind WOULD I be? Hmmmm….your answers were really good though!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

