Before the Storm

It is a sunny morning, but the weather folks are saying this is fleeting. They are telling us winter weather is moving in and we are to expect snow in varying quantities over the next few days.

20121213-094606.jpg Last week out my window there was none of the cold white stuff. There was sunshine and squirrels and nothing like our usual December weather. I hesitate to use the word “normal” because I think we have not had any two Decembers that are alike since we have moved here. This one has been unusually warm, for which I am appreciative.

20121213-094835.jpg

20121213-094906.jpg There have been American Goldfinch, which iBird says spend all year round in our area, but which I have seen no later than October in past years. Outside my window last week appeared a group of Goldfinch, feasting on the leftover Black-Eyed Susan seeds. Of course, as soon as I moved to pick up the camera, all but one flew off. I think there’s a rule.

20121213-095056.jpg Earlier this week, we woke up to a dusting of snow, which is still coating the ground because it has remained cold.

Today I shall fill birdfeeders, in anticipation of what might come during the next couple of days. Tomorrow I plan to go to the bigger town down the road, if the weather cooperates. I will then be prepared to hole up in my warm house over the weekend. Just in case we actually get what they are saying could be many inches of snow. I will be prepared to sit in my warm home and let my thoughts ramble. Perhaps even listen to some Christmas music. Perhaps watch some movies.

Isn’t that one of life’s treasures? Those times of being able to cuddle in your favorite spot in your warm home, just being? Just relaxing? No worries, unless the snow falls too heavily for too many days, because if I am being kept inside my warm house by things not in my control I become rebellious. It is for me to decide to stay in, not Mother Nature or mechanical failure of vehicles, or any other external forces.

So now are you asking if I am a bit of a control freak? Well you could ask that and you would not be completely wrong. I like things the way I like them. I can be flexible, although sometimes it takes me awhile to get there. In my days of youth I remember snow storms that deposited over a foot of snow, near two foot oft-times, which usually made me feel I really needed to go into town and buy something critical. Like new curtains. Those trips usually ended up with me getting stuck attempting to come back up our driveway – which thrilled the husband then not at all because he would arrive home from work in the darkness and have to first get my car out of the way before he could get his vehicle into its parking spot. It was not my fault, you understand. I didn’t ask those county snowplows to come by and deposit mounds of snow at the foot of that driveway. How was I to know my little car was so close to the ground that going through the mounds of snow would leave it high and dry, the tires no longer touching the ground? The ground that was covered with snow, so when I spun the tires over the surface it became ice. I mean really – how could I be expected to know this?

So this is where I once again must admit to being blonde, and having that blonde kick in sometimes. When I was younger. Rarely now, of course. I’m older and wiser. Really! Why do you look at me with doubt in your eyes? I think now is a good time to say so long for now – I don’t need to sit here and see that doubt twinkling at me. I get that at home all the time. For absolutely no reason!

Really! I have proof after all – the blonde now is mostly gray. Gray is much wiser.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Before the Storm

  1. lakeafton says:

    My hair left blond for white. Goldfinches turn color in the fall from yellow to olive. Maybe you knew this and still didn’t see any.

    Like

  2. From one incredibly wise gray-haired woman to another, I just love when you said, “I will be prepared to sit in my warm home and let my thoughts ramble.” Me too β€” that sounds simply delightful!

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    A control freak, you? No way! I like things the way I like them ,too…and yes, I’m flexible , too…so there, we’re NOT control freaks!

    Like

  4. I agree with Laurie, it sounds heavenly to sit in your warm cozy home and let your thoughts ramble. And listen to Christmas music. I wish I could get in the Christmas spirit, but I fear it won’t happen here for me. Enjoy your warm cozy house, Carol. Happy holidays. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. therogueandpeasantslave says:

    I’ll be happy for a little snow. So don’t fight it too hard.

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    Gray is definitely wiser!

    Like

  7. Heather says:

    I wish you just enough snow to make things look nice and Chrismas-y for when the kids arrive, but not so much that you can’t safely go get them πŸ™‚ And *of course* you’re wise. We never doubted you. I’m sure you needed those curtains anyway.

    Like

  8. Colleen says:

    Yes, agreeing, gray is wiser. And I thank the heavens for this πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Karma says:

    I like the way you think Carol. I completely agree it is nice to stay in by choice, but not when Mother Nature decrees it. I am always positive that there is plenty I could be doing out of the house when the weather dictates staying in! I love the goldfinch shots, and thanks for the reminder that I need to fill up my birdfeeders.

    Like

  10. Kathy says:

    Smiling at your post, Carol. Enjoyed looking at your outside world. Wondering if you’ve got any snow yet? It’s nice to cuddle up when it’s snowing. The thought of having to drive anywhere serious during a snowstorm is just plain daunting.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      We are getting snow showers now, but it appears we’re not going to get hit as hard as they were originally predicting. We shall see what comes.

      Sent from my iPad

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

