I am continually amazed at my kids, their strengths, their talents. This time, my son left me breathless! Please click on the link at the bottom to listen to his poem. It’s stunning!

the rogue and peasant slave

santa cruz lighthouse

I’ve been inspired lately by spoken word poetry. Last year I came across a documentary called Louder Than a Bomb about a slam poetry competition for teens.

You have got to see this film. What you might not expect when you begin watching it, is how these kids’ lives are changed through poetry. They come from inner city ghetto schools and rich, white schools on the privileged side of town, and they all come together in one place to bare their souls before each other. And through it all there is an unmistakeable sense of community that’s formed; a community that crosses all the usual socio-economic and teenage cultural boundaries. These kids are united through the power of the word. If you like this one, check out the HBO series Brave New Voices. This is an 8 episode series that follows a group of teens as they prepare and…

View original post 73 more words

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. Wow, Carol! Your son is so talented. I hope he writes a lot more. He’s truly gifted. 🙂

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    THis was great!!!!

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    Your like button has disappeared again!

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Great share, Carol. I liked it so much I got sucked in and read everything else on his site, too!

    Like

  5. Colleen says:

    Very compelling. These are words that stay with you. I really hope he continues to write!

    Like

  6. andydbrown says:

    Aha! So you’re Geoffrey’s mom! Geoffrey is a real blessing to all of us here in Oman! I was also blown away by his poetry and it was a real pleasure to hear. Blessings!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

