Because we Deserve it!

Today is my birthday. We’ll not discuss which birthday – well, maybe we won’t discuss which birthday. I have a tendency to say I’m not going to tell something about myself, and then I manage to blurt it out anyway. I can keep your secrets – not so good at keeping mine. My Facebook friends and local friends, my kids, my husband, have sent lovely birthday wishes my way. I am happy for that. It’s nice to be thought of, isn’t it?

Yesterday, the big furry girls and I headed in to town early in the day. They went in for scrubbing and polishing, and I went in to do some shopping and get my body massaged. Because we deserve it! Loreal has told me so. It turned out The Gracious One and her husband were in town too, so midway through the day and the errands, just after my heavenly rubdown, we met for lunch. A very nice lunch at that. I was happy with the day, but judging by the greeting I got when I picked the girls up, I think they are not as enthused about scrubbing and polishing as I am.

Things that go through my head – miscellaneous, random things. You know, the kind of things that may or may not make sense. Sometimes they linger long enough for me to put them down on paper. Sometimes they do not, but based on the theory that they’re still in there somewhere, I start these conversations, then stumble around to find words to enable me to call it a conversation. It seems those random thoughts have escaped captivity.

So I’ll extend an apology to my bloggy buddies – I have somehow gotten behind in reading blogs again. I don’t know how it is I keep doing that. Inefficient useage of my time, I think it is. I’m going to work on retraining myself to use my time better – there are things that need to be done, but more importantly there are creative endeavors I want to pursue, all of which are not happening. Why? Because I have become far too disorganized. I could make excuses, but that’s exactly what they’d be. Excuses.

I’ve told you before – I’ve become a music-related reality competition show addict. Dancing With the Stars just concluded their season, and I was happy with the results. Maybe in one of my next lives I’ll be gifted with grace and coordination and then I can dance. Or maybe I’ll be gifted with a voice that makes music sound good when it sings, rather than what I have – a voice that elicits the “don’t quit your day job” response. Now I am in the thick of XFactor – The Voice appeals less to me, I think because I think CeeLo is just too far out there, and Christina annoys the heck out of me. So it’s XFactor, because I can deal with Simon. Demi, I don’t know. Some of her comments have little to do with talent. Some of her comments center around her boredom, which sounds like a personal problem. Brittany – I like her better on this show that I have before, but it’s almost as if she’s afraid to say much. Or she just doesn’t have a lot going on in her head. LA is okay, although sometimes when he and Simon let their egos show it gets irritating. Oh well. The talent is interesting, but, as with American Idol, I’m not so sure about the results of the public voting. How is it that CeCe is still there and Paige is gone? For that matter, how is it that CeCe is still there, and several of the others are gone? And how can CeCe get more votes than Diamond?

I know, I know. I too remember when Sanjaya was on American Idol for a whole lot longer than his talent justified. I remember when the “cute” guys are the ones that have won, despite the fact that some who have rated below them have more talent. I guess it has to do with teeny boppers in the AI case – but CeCe? That has to be young guys voting, don’cha think?

Because I am posting this, these nonsense sentences of little to no real interest but I have a need to fill a void on my blog, I must add some photos. I have some in a folder here on this iPad taken in London, on the rainy morning I had there before I had to leave for the airport for my flight home after visiting Poland, that I think I will post here. There will be no descriptions, but you are welcome to ask questions if you like. Or ignore the photos, or enjoy them. It’s all up to you, you know. Because, with a little help from my friends, I have mastered the gallery/slideshow thing, you can click on any photo to start a slideshow.

If you’ve come this far, I may as well confess now. Today I am 71. Oh dear. I think I’d better go rest a bit.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Because we Deserve it!

  1. cobbies69 says:

    And I was going to say happy 39th.. Carol have a great day…:)

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    May you have the happiest of happy birthdays! I wouldn’t have guessed your age correctly – I would have guessed at least 5 years younger, and I’m not saying that just for internet flattery.
    I love the transition you make between your reality TV ponderings to “here are some pictures.”
    My favorite thing in those pictures is the row of tulips. None here till May.

    Like

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Happy Birthday to you !!! Age is only a number, it’s how you feel inside that really matters 🙂

    Like

  4. suzicate says:

    Here’s to many more! Happy Birthday, Carol!

    Like

  5. happy, Happy, HAPPY birthday to YOU!

    Like

  6. Sheri says:

    I must say that I’m VERY surprised at your age. I agree that I would have pegged you for at least five less. But now that I think about it, I remember when you retired, and I guess that was about five or six years ago. Hope this year brings many blessings (and plenty of “enough”) your way.

    Like

  7. Better late than never – HAPPY BIRTHDAY. The number doesn’t matter, it is what you do with the life!

    Like

  8. Cee Neuner says:

    Happy Birthday Carol,
    I really liked your blog….it was entertaining as always. The photos of London with the rain looked like just another day here in Oregon. Have a great year!!

    Like

  9. Deepali says:

    Wish you a very happy birthday and many many more happy returns! Have a g8t year!!

    Like

  10. melouisef says:

    Happy Birthday and a wonderful year to come for you
    🙂

    Like

  11. Colleen says:

    The best of all wishes to you Carol! Hope you had a lovely day!

    Admiring your photos of London in the rain and will be back tp have a closer look and finish reading your adventures in Poland. So interesting, especially with the accompanying photos. And loved your music musings, similar thoughts here.

    Like

  12. Kathy says:

    Happy Birthday again! Wow, you’re 71? I would have never guessed. Your writing never reveals an age. You know my friend Sue (whose book I won during the wild gift exchange last night)? She’s 71, too. Or maybe 72. She feels really young to me, too. Our youngest member is 42 and she was overwhelmed with hot flashes. Bet you don’t have those anymore! And, yes, actual physical books were exchanged. 🙂

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Actually, hot flashes occur on occasion, but that’s because I’m taking a hormone blocker because the breast cancer was estrogen receptive. A few more months and I’ll no longer have to take that. There are some advantages though – I can claim “too old” when I want to avoid something!

      Sent from my iPad

      Like

  13. Karma says:

    I’m late in catching up on blogs this week, so I am late to wish you a very happy birthday. It sounds like you had a good day. Oh and I love the new header on the blog – adorable.

    Like

  14. Dear Carol,
    Again you closed with a smile. Happy birthday to you! It sounded like a good one; you deserve to be pampered. It is so easy to get behind in the blogging. (I am 700 e-mails behind, and try to catch up a little every day, but there are always deadlines and visitors, and such.)

    It is so good to catch up with you!

    Best wishes,
    Naomi

    Like

  15. Lisa says:

    I hit you on your Facebook page, but Happy Birth Day again. I think the birthday month is a good idea. I get so frustrated when I see multiple posts I’ve missed on my favorite bloggy buddies. I always love seeing your comments and thank you for taking time to visit me.

    Like

  16. andydbrown says:

    Happy Birthday! 🙂

    Like

  17. I can’t believe you revealed your age in the end, Carol!! But you must be the youngest 71 year old I’ve ever had the fortune to be acquainted with! Happy belated birthday!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’m so sorry I missed this post. Like you, as you can see, I’ve gotten behind with catching up on my favorite blogs. Please forgive me… I hope your birthday was fabulous. I am really loving your new galleries. 🙂 Belated birthday hugs to you. xxx

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

