Palace on the Water

Back in Warsaw, Richard and I went to visit the Palace on the Water (Phyl had to work, unfortunately); Lazienski Palace was built on an artificial island that divides the lake in Lazienski Park into two parts. It was originally a bathhouse for the powerful aristocrat Stanislas Lubormirski, but was remodeled by Poland’s last King, Stanislas August Poniatowski (1764-95) who made it his summer residence.

20121126-115039.jpgThe palace is crowned by a balustrade that bears statues of mythological figures.

20121126-115330.jpgThe island is connected to the rest of Lazienski Park by two Ionic colonnaded bridges.

20121126-115502.jpgThe facades of the palace and the bridges are unified by a giant Corinthian order of pilasters that link the two floors and are crowned by the balustrade. Although in 1944 the Germans drilled holes in the facade of the palace in which they planted explosives, the palace came through the war in better shape than most. The explosives caused only some fire damage to the structure.

20121126-120052.jpgLazienski Park occupies 76 hectares (a hectare is approximately 2.47 acres) and was originally a very beautiful, formal park. It was burned in 1944 and when I was there in 1992 seemed to be a very casual, lovely park consisting of primarily trees and grass.

We visited the interior of the palace, but I seem to have only two photos and I cannot be certain which room they were taken in, although with the presence of the piano and what appears to be a bit of a stage, I suspect it is either the ballroom or the dining room, in which King Stanislaus held his famous “Thursday Dinners”, to which he invited artists, intellectuals and many other freemasons.

20121126-121036.jpg

20121126-121050.jpg
After exploring the palace, we enjoyed tea and crumpets. Probably more like coffee and cakes, since I am not much of a tea person.

20121126-121516.jpg

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Palace on the Water

  1. Dear Carol,
    These are great photos, and the stories really enhance the post. My favorite picture is the one of you, with your coffee. Great post!

    Like

  2. Lynne Ayers says:

    How fortunate the explosives did not do more damage. While surprisingly many of Europe’s great structures survived the wars, a lot of heritage must have also been lost.

    Like

  3. Goodness, gracious – I love the reflection you captured in the third photo!

    Like

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    I can only imagine the beauty of this place.

    Like

  5. Kathy says:

    That is you? In the third picture? Oh how neat! You like like you are having the best time being a world traveler. Wouldn’t you love a little European cup of espresso right now? (Never mind, I always thought they were too small.) Maybe a glass of wine?

    Like

  6. What a beautiful palace, Carol, and your pictures are great! I love the colonnaded bridge and the photo of you having tea and crumpets! Cute. πŸ™‚ By the way, did you get my email about creating mosaic galleries?

    Like

  7. Lisa says:

    That first shot has so much fantastic detail! Love the water reflection in the second one. And “back in the day” you were quite a looker! πŸ™‚ xox

    Like

  8. Heather says:

    I could go for a crumpet right now, with either tea or coffee! I cannot decide which of these is my favorite. I love the statues on top in the first one, and I want to spend an entire afternoon on that bridge in the second one. I also notice you’ve put up quite a festive header image…beautiful all around πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

