A Day for Giving Thanks

Although I believe we should give thanks each day that we are able to open our eyes and breathe, each day that we can spend with friends and family, each day that life gives us, I think perhaps this designated day for giving thanks requires a picture a bit more broad, a bit larger scale.

I am thankful for spacious skies

20121122-084006.jpg
I am thankful for purple mountains’ majesty

20121122-084038.jpg
I am thankful for amber waves of grain

20121122-084106.jpg
I am thankful for fruited plains

20121122-084132.jpg
I am thankful for the sea

20121122-084156.jpg
to the shining sea

20121122-084216.jpg

I am thankful to live in a country where I can give these thanks, where I can dissent when I feel the need, where I can shout, cry, laugh, love, live without fear of reciprocation.

I am thankful to have the opportunity to share these thoughts.

I hope your Thanksgiving is full, is happy and is enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Day for Giving Thanks

  1. sjbchamp85 says:

    Wow! This is the best Thanksgiving wish I’ve ever received. We definitely have enough and we count our blessings daily. Thanks for a beautiful post, Carol

    Like

  2. Kathy says:

    I am thankful for you, Carol. What a beautiful post of thanksgiving. May you have a wonderful day. And month. And year. And lifetime…

    Like

  3. Madhu says:

    So much to be thankful for! Thank you Carol. Happy thanksgiving to you too!

    Like

  4. Happy Runner says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! I love this post! 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi there! I’ve been enjoying catching up with all your posts – especially the Polish ones. I’ve never been to Poland, although I’d love to go. It looks beautiful, and I think you have shunted it up higher on my destination wish-list!
    I love your photos for Thanksgiving – and yes, you are right, every day should be thanksgiving, but it’s good that there is a day set aside for it. We don’t have that day here, or in England, but I think we should!
    I hope you are having a happy one – maybe with your family.

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    I love your list of thanks. I hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful.

    Like

  7. I love “America the Beautiful!” That song always brings tears to my eyes. Happy Thanksgiving, Carol!

    Like

  8. Pingback: 5 blog posts I loved this week « run eat life

  9. Karma says:

    Lovely post Carol. Hope you had a wonderful day yesterday.

    Like

  10. What a beautiful photographic tribute! Thank you.

    Like

  11. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and are in the midset of a great Thanksgiving weekend!

    Like

  12. Lisa says:

    For all the faults the USA has, I still think it’s the best place in which to live! Our freedoms are not to be taken lightly and we should give thanks every day for the wonderful things we have. Lovely photos and a great reminder.

    Like

  13. Dear Carol, this is a very moving post. You said it just right! I hope your Thanksgiving was a good one.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

