A Place of Peace and Harmony

Today would be a good day to visit a place of peace and harmony, I believe. Now that the rancor of the election process is becoming history, it seems a good time to set aside our differences, to accept that we are fortunate in having the freedom to have those differences and to express our feelings, and visit the parish church in Kazimierz Dolny.

The parish church was established in 1325 by King Casimir III the Great – it sits on a hill above the market square and the village, standing in its majestic beauty.

20121107-101241.jpg
Everytime I look at historical structures like this, built way back in time when manpower was all there was, when machinery to aid in construction did not exist, I marvel that they were ever created. I also wonder what loss of life that creation may have caused. Nonetheless, history stands proud and should be respected.

20121107-101521.jpg
This photo has been posted before, but it is the way into the church. We cannot enter if we do not go up these steps.

20121107-101610.jpg

20121107-101637.jpg

20121107-101649.jpg

20121107-101706.jpg
I think the pictures speak for themselves.

May I suggest that we now bow our heads and pray for teamwork, for unification, for health for our country and for all countries?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Place of Peace and Harmony

  1. Yes, Carol, we need peace and harmony now more than ever. I’m so tired of hearing all political rancor that goes with every election…. By the way, where is your Like button?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      This is where I admit to blindness and making assumptions – for whatever the reason, I did not realize I did not have a “like” button. Now I’ve found a plug-in that I think is what I want, but I’m not sure and I cannot figure out how to install it – largely because I have no idea where to find my wp-content directory. If someone could email me rather explicit instructions, I would be ever so grateful because dumb is the rule here this morning. Carol34849@gmail.com.Thank you!

      Sent from my iPad

      Like

      • Hi Carol, I know you used to have a “like” button, because I’ve used it many times. I was checking through the WordPress tools and settings to find how to do it, but now I can’t seem to find it…

        Like

  2. Heather says:

    I am so glad we went up those steps. The outside edifice is beautiful, but the inside is spectacular! Sharing non-divisive thoughts with you.

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    Bowing my head with you and admiring this sharing, Carol.

    Like

  4. suzicate says:

    I’ve been wondering where your like button is too!

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    The next four years are going to be very interesting. I agree we do need to desperately pray our leaders will come together and make decisions in keeping with our nation’s framework.

    Like

  6. Madhu says:

    Amen Carol! And thank you for showing us around this gorgeous church 🙂

    Like

  7. Joanne says:

    It’s mind-boggling to think this structure was built in 1325, without our modern day technology, yet contains such intricate detail. And yes, peace should reign, throughout our differences, throughout the world. Wouldn’t the world be a much better place if we all allowed each other the freedom to choose our own thoughts, without judgement?

    About your “like” button, I found where it is activated ~ in your dashboard go to “settings”, then “sharing”. It is the very last option on the page. Hope this helps Carol, as I was looking for the “like” button too. Shame WordPress hasn’t invented a “love” button, as some posts I read deserve more than a simple “like”. 🙂

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Oh for goodness sake! Thank you, Joanne – I went to that page but did not realize what I was looking for. Obviously I was trying to make it much more difficult than it needed to be.

      Like

  8. Northern Narratives says:

    What an amazing and beautiful church. I wish I could visit it too. Did you hear the organ play?

    Like

  9. This post is a lovely experience of reverence – thank you.

    Like

  10. dawnkinster says:

    Beautiful church. Yes, isn’t it amazing that they could have been built so long ago with manual labor and no cranes? And that they are still standing and still beautiful and not reduced to rubble simply by time? Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  11. dawnkinster says:

    OH! And LOVE the little nuthatches and the virginia creeper!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

