Just Wait a Little While

Around here we all say “if you don’t like the weather, just wait a little while. It’ll change”. I’m pretty sure that’s not unique to us, but it sure seems to apply to us.

The end of this past week, my morning window views looked like this:

20121022-111633.jpg
The fall colors down below the pond area. Those glorious golds, rusts and reds – fall’s flowers. Fall makes me smile, a lot. Spring makes me smile as I watch green sprout from the saturated soil. Summer makes me smile when I can sit outside and enjoy the summer birds and breezes. Winter – well, winter makes me smile when we get the first big snowfall, when the sun comes out after the snow falls. Winter makes me happy for awhiile, but it usually lasts a bit longer than I would prefer.

20121022-111902.jpg
The chubby little Fox Sparrow that has been visiting for awhile now and often flies into the tree outside my window. You cannot see in this photo, but the feathers on his back are brown with a bit of russet and look like velvet. His breast and stomach are white with the same russet brown spots, not quite stripes. This is the first year I remember seeing him, although he could have been here before and I didn’t notice.

20121022-112054.jpg
Then there is Squi, who visits on a regular basis now. I think on this particular morning, he was not especially happy because the tray feeder was pretty empty and he was forced to forage from the hanging feeder. Sometimes I am not as attentive to his needs as he’d like me to be. Personally, I think he should just be grateful that I lobbied for, and won, permission for him to visit.

20121022-112242.jpg
The Fox Sparrow again, but at the base of the feeder on a sunny afternoon.

Then, this morning – well, this morning dawned dismal and rainy. That was okay, we haven’t had much rain so a rainy day was quite welcome. I’m ready to burrow inside, reading, perhaps watching a movie. But. Then. It. Changed.

20121022-112641.jpg
Do you see it? Yep. Exactly. Disgusting, isn’t it? Too early, isn’t it? That’s what I thought. Yes, it was snow. It has stopped now, and the little bit that is on the ground will go away soon. But still. Still. It is November. Winter won’t be here until December, right? The calendar does not lie, does it?

Maybe Mother Nature doesn’t check the calendar. That’s probably what’s wrong.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Just Wait a Little While

  1. Lisa says:

    I don’t think Mom Nature owns a calendar. We’re having temps in the 80s this week! Methinks she just likes to toy with us…much like Lucy. 🙂

    Like

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    We also see the fox sparrow once in a while. I like its long red brown tail. Next time you see those snow clouds, send them to Minnesota 🙂

    Like

  3. danajoward says:

    Lovely post Carol. I enjoy the little stories with your photos and you can keep that first little snow. I am not ready for the snow to fly yet. I do love those first snows thought…fresh snow that no one or animal has walked through. Thank you for sharing your wonderful photos and yes…Wait long enough, it will change 😉

    Like

  4. Carol – It’s not polite to say the four-letter “S” word! At least not in October. Good heavens! At least wait until after Thanksgiving.

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    Even in southern Ohio I trick-or-treated a few times in the snow. I’m not ready for it to stick around yet (and neither are the trees with their snow-catching leaves still attached), but I like the harbingers. If you can’t fight it, you might as well enjoy it? Hope you curled up with a book or movie or nap in a cozy place 🙂

    Like

  6. dawnkinster says:

    I just told my husband yesterday that I thought I was done photographing fall colors and it could snow now. I think I should be careful what I wish for.

    Like

  7. I love all the seasons too, Carol, even winter, and I’m happy with anything brought with the changes, even snow in November. That’s one thing I find so boring about Oman. Hot, hot and more hot. Blah…..

    Like

  8. Judy Staines says:

    Aagh! Yes, it is too early!! We were promised snow in OCTOBER here in England, but so far, so good; no snow yet.

    Beautiful pictures. I love the little birds, and your visiting squirrel!

    Like

  9. Angelia Sims says:

    Oh my! Poor dear. 😦 At least it stopped.

    Like

  10. Colleen says:

    Pretty little thing, your fox sparrow. We used to have them visit when we lived on the Island but haven’t noticed them here, in our corner of California. I remember well what those first early snow falls though we haven’t actually experienced them for quite a few years now.

    Like

  11. Joanne says:

    This whole post made me smile Carol (but your photos and words usually bring a smile to my face anyway!) Your squirrel friend and the Fox Sparrow are just gorgeous! Which state do you live in? I’ve just realised that I don’t know exactly where you live, but surely it must be in one of the northern states, as you have snow already. 🙂

    Like

    • Carol says:

      We live in south-central Oregon just on the east side of the cascades. We are in a small sliver of Oregon that runs colder than the rest of the state, just about 35 miles south of Crater Lake.

      Sent from my iPad

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

