Share Your World – Week 41

There is something about the first couple days of the week lately, where I fall behind and then have to scurry to catch up. It is when I discover I haven’t read my blogs for a few days and omigosh, how do I keep getting myself into this situation? that the “like” button becomes my best friend. Then I feel a bit guilty, and promise myself that I won’t continue to let this happen. Until the next week, when I find I have let it happen. Again. So here I am, a couple days late (and yes, a dollar short) finally getting to Cee’s Share Your World. The questions, and my answers, follow:

1. If you could be any animal, what would you be? I think maybe one of my cats. Or the cat belonging to anyone who lets their animals run things. A dog would be good, but cats get away with more – rarely is a cat expected to be trained, other than the litter box thing. People just think cats will be cats, but yet they can also be lovely cuddly friends too. When they choose to. Yep, that’s what I’m going to be next.

2. What makes you feel the most secure? I think the knowledge that I have gotten through difficult times before, that I am a survivor. That, and faith that I will be given the strength I need, and that I have loved ones – family and friends – to lean on if I must.

3. Have you ever jumped out of a plane? If you haven’t, would you want to? No, I have not. I think it would not be possible for me to jump out of a plane, if for some insane reason I ever thought I might want to, because I do not do edges. And to jump out, you’d have to go over that edge. Nope. Think I would not even get close enough to that big open door to consider jumping.

4. Are you a listener or talker? A bit of both, I think. I fear that sometimes I get a bit overanxious to share my viewpoint, however. Except if I’m on the phone – unless it’s business, I prefer not to ever have to listen or talk on the phone. I developed a very strong dislike for phones when I worked in escrow in Southern California, where the bulk of every day was spent on the phone. Phone ear was a common thing, and earrings had to be chosen by how well they would adapt to phone at the ear. Or I’d walk around all day with one earring off.

Of course, there must be photos with every post, so here are some photos from the most recent trip to the Wetlands.

20121003-091249.jpga treetop bird – a Northern Flicker

20121003-091324.jpg

20121003-091336.jpg

20121003-091346.jpgAn American Bittern – I’d never seen one of these before.

20121003-091426.jpg

20121003-091446.jpg

20121003-091501.jpg

20121003-091517.jpgThis poor swallow looks like he has damaged wings. Seeing things like this make me want to cry.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Share Your World – Week 41

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Hi Carol, you do know that cats own us. They train us quite well to be their best buddies. Being a cat in our house would be fun too. Great answers as always. I so enjoy reading your answers and seeing photos that you always attach. And you are not a dollar short.

    Like

  2. Your wetlands photos are so wonderful, Carol. Wish I had wetlands here!! I love the answer you give about being a survivor. We all have difficult things to get through, and it feels like such an accomplishment when we make it through. It IS such an accomplishment. I wonder how many people just give in, throw in the towel.

    I’m glad you’re a talker and listener equally. I can see that. There’s nothing more difficult for me than having to pull out a conversation out of someone. But someone who can equally give and take, that is perfect!!

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    You answers are always great. Detailed, nuanced, and honest (at least I *think* they’re honest ;).
    I am sentimental about nature too, and nature unfortunately does not share my concern. I hate seeing damaged animals and feel pangs of guilt every time I see an animal dead on the highway.

    Like

  4. Georgia says:

    I like your expression ‘I don’t do edges’ and I can totally relate.

    Like

  5. My cat Truman thinks he is a person and I am his pet. Seriously. He runs his roost. If you come back a cat you would be most welcome Carol.

    So maybe the phone thing is smoething more people feel and I just did not know. I dislike talking on the phone, will do it when I have to. I also usually screen calls too I have been feeling like both these aspects were needed to be lept secret until I turned 50. No more I own what I feel.
    Now if someone finds something “distasteful I just chalk it up to being eccentric.

    Great SYW! ~ BB

    Like

  6. Carol – Like you, I am oh-so-not a phone person. No ma’am. No way. No how. Love the photos!

    Like

  7. Robin says:

    Beautiful photos, Carol. Even if the swallow has a damaged wing, it looks like it managed to fly to where it has perched – maybe that is good news.
    Your challenge questions: I hate phones, but I have two family members who can manage to keep me on for more than an hour – Ugh! I would be a dog – even though being a cat wouldn’t be terrible. I would never jump from a plane either – unless crashing was the other option. Talking or listening – I always hope to one day become a better listener; but sometimes, it is good to be able to carry on a conversation or make small talk, so talking isn’t all bad.

    Like

  8. I love all the bird photos!

    Like

  9. Lisa says:

    From one “late” to another….I hope everyone forgives and forgets! I love the photos of the wetlands.

    Like

  10. Joanne says:

    Your jumping out of a plane answer is exactly how I feel! I’m way too cautious when it comes to such reckless activities! However, my father was a paratrooper during WWII and jumped out of multiple planes. He rather liked to boast that he had been up in a plane hundreds of times, but never landed once! 🙂

    Like

  11. Definitely either an indoor cat or an indoor dog, preferably for a spoiled rich couple, maybe like Mitt & Ann Romney…………..lol

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

