Jakesprinters Sunday Post: Favorite Places

Jake has posted his challenge for this Sunday – Favorite Places. I’ll bet you’ll never ever guess my most favorite place!

20120930-091117.jpg
A teaser glimpse, see it, see it? Between the shrubs, beyond the trees?

20120930-091153.jpg
Another view, from the southeast side. It is my front deck. Of course, what else? That spot where I spend relaxing time, late afternoon, early evening, before dinner. Sometimes other times during the day when I am not busy. Or napping. It is where I can sit in silence, hearing the sounds of nature, watching the birds and an occasional chipmunk or squirrel. It is my paradise. We are soon to be going into real fall weather if Weather.com is telling me true and I am going to miss my quiet time out there.

But that is not my only favorite place. My other most favorite place is the coast – the ocean and its shores.

20120930-091655.jpg
Whether during the day

20120930-091733.jpg
or at sunset, the ocean sounds and breezes blow away the cobwebs, sooth the soul, bring quiet and peace to the emotions. Yet, the breezes and sounds can be stimulating too, causing the heart to quicken a bit sometimes, encouraging that one breathes in deeply and breathes out slowly. Relaxation! Providing an opportunity that cannot be beat for walking at a casual pace, watching to see what can be seen, what treasure might be found in the sand, or spied on the horizon.

Favorite places – lifesavers!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Jakesprinters Sunday Post: Favorite Places

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Yes, they really are lifesavers. I like your photos.

    Like

  2. Beautiful favorite spots, Carol!

    Like

  3. Good choices, Carol! Lovely photos, too.

    Like

  4. Georgia says:

    Great photos. I think for a lot of us our favourite place is our home.

    Like

  5. Angelia Sims says:

    I agree! Favorite places are lifesavers. I love your ocean photos. They looke deserted and so peaceful. 🙂

    Like

  6. cobbies69 says:

    beautiful places they certainly are love em all…;)

    Like

  7. Those photos are awesome.:)

    Like

  8. Lynne Ayers says:

    Lady after my own heart.

    Like

  9. jakesprinter says:

    You have a great favorite spot there Carol , I really like it thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  10. Heather says:

    Terrific favorite places you’ve chosen! Enjoy the remaining time this year on your deck 🙂

    Like

  11. The ocean too Carol? You do know how to speak to this Baroness’ heart. I’ll bring the wine, red or white? Or both? Then we can jump into the car and head west to the ocean . well..maybe not right after the wine, lets take it with!
    What time did you say?

    Really great post Carol. I love the ocean shots, my very favorite place to be anytime. Except I choose not live there full time. Its my get away
    Thanks for sharing ~ BB

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Before we moved to Oregon, the coast was my dream place to live. Then I decided maybe not – maybe the rain and the wind in the winter, the lack of sun, would be just too dismal. So we are here instead. I prefer red wine, and yes, I do believe it should go with and be consumed while we are looking at the ocean and hearing the crash of the waves.

      Sent from my iPad

      Like

  12. Ohhhhhhhhhh, lovely favorite places!

    Like

  13. Front decks are something we don’t find around here. I think yours is so perfect!

    Like

  14. Joanne says:

    I don’t think I have ever seen a photo of your deck from the outside before, Carol, so this was very good to see. I already knew that it is one of your favourite places though. And yes, the ocean is both soothing and exciting. Isn’t the world beautiful? 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

