Travels to the Past – The Torture Chambers

My yesterday got filled up and my today is half full – you know what they say about it never raining but it pours – so I’m grasping this time to share the last of the Baldwin Hotel photos with you. Have to finish this you know, because now I have more to share. Which I will do – later

This chapter takes us up the back stairs:

20120909-083745.jpg
The sign on the riser being a sign of the times, I gather. A bit frightening, isn’t it?

The back stairs lead to:

20120909-083842.jpg
Yes, they call them beauty and barber shops, but truly I think they were torture chambers. You will see what I mean. In a moment.

20120909-083937.jpg
But first, the cash register that was in the barber shop. No computerized equipment back then! Now, a view further into the barber shop:

20120909-084037.jpg
Tell me this doesn’t look like a chair designed for torture. Tell me that, and I won’t believe you!

20120909-084122.jpg
And then there was this – this whatever. We think maybe a hair dryer. Or a blower to rid the neck and body of stray bits of freshly cut hair. Then again, one wonders . . .

We shall now move on to the so-called beauty shop

20120909-084552.jpg
The hair dryer – but

20120909-084627.jpg
This is what’s inside that hood. Would you put your head in there?

20120909-084708.jpg
There is this, and there is this:

20120909-084736.jpg
In my opinion, it just would not be that important to have curls! Nope, pull it back, cut it off, I think I’ll pass on the hair dressing equipment of that day. Then again, I’m not longer very big into the hair dressing equipment of this day. One of the “benefits” of my chemo and the medication I am taking is very little hair – to which I am adjusting and definitely loving the lack of attention it requires.

To complete this saga, I will share with you the little bit of remaining history of Maud Baldwin – information either shared with us during the tour or found online.

When Maud’s beloved father, George, died while serving in the senate in 1920, her mother was recovering from a stroke, and Maud was her caregiver. When her father died, she took it very hard and his death and her mother’s stroke created a need for her to manage the hotel and the other Baldwin interests. Her four brothers apparently followed their own careers and did not provide much help. It was thought that might have been, at least in part, because she inherited the bulk of her father’s estate.

Her additional responsibilities required that she give up her passion for photography, and later interfered with her love life. In 1923 she reportedly began a romance with a cook at a local restaurant, but when he left in 1924 to find his fortune in Alaska, she was not able to go with him. He did not return as had apparently been planned.

In May of 1926, just a few months before her 48th birthday, Maud drowned in the Link River near the bridge between the hotel and the Baldwin home, a part of the river known as Lake Ewauna. She left a suicide note saying she was “going insane” and that she could be found in the lake. Some speculate that Maud was heartbroken over the loss of her lover, and others suggest that exposure to the chemicals required for her photography career may have affected her mind and emotions. She may also have been depressed about the loss of her father and overwhelmed by the demands of managing his businesses and caring for her mother.

It would seem to me that all of the above would weigh very heavily on Maud, or any woman in that age or in the present time.

Some of the above information is a direct quote from http://www.oregonencyclopedia.org/entry/view/baldwin_maud_1878_1926_/

That ends this tour into the past. Thank you all for joining me!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Travels to the Past – The Torture Chambers

  1. Thank you for sharing. The poor dear lady–her story will stay with me for a while. She seems very human to me.

    Like

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    I will skip the curly hair πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Phyllis says:

    I had a permanent a couple of times with something like those curlers hanging down. They got very hot and I’m sure didn’t do my hair one bit of good. Now I love getting it cut every five weeks and that is it!

    Like

  4. Oh my gosh – TORTURE chambers, indeed!

    Like

  5. Joanne says:

    Oh dear, I joined the tour right at the end, so will have to go back and catch up!

    The old cash register is fabulous! My parents owned an old shop in the early 1970’s which had an old style cash register, but not as ornate as this one. As for the “torture chamber”, I agree with you on that one, for sure!!

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    Those rooms are fantastically scary! (Perfect timing for upcoming Halloween!) What a sad ending. I think you’re probably right about her choice. My local paper published a list of rules for the 1908-1909 for teachers that was surprisingly (to me, at least) draconian. They’ve come up a couple times in conversation now, so I think I’ll have to share them sometime soon.
    Looking forward to your other adventures πŸ™‚
    -Oh, and that sign on the steps? I worked at a high school in the north Georgia mountains, and we could DEFINITELY have used that sign! So much tobacco spit on the stairs 😦

    Like

  7. How heartbreaking. A real sign of the times. A loved one leaves with sprinkles of hope to come back, and doesn’t. Or cannot. How sad.

    This was an increduble series. thank you. Can hardly wait to see where you take us next.

    I agree too Carol, the beauty torture? I’ll let mine grow long.

    Like

  8. Kathy says:

    Poor Maud. Thank you for this tour. I am afraid some of the locals around here might spit on the steps. Yikes!

    Like

  9. Lynne Ayers says:

    I’m glad my hair have natural wave and body. Keep it short, run my fingers through it and I’m good to go.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

