Travels to the Past – part 3

20120907-090716.jpg
One of the offices on the second floor. The door at the back led to the apartment behind it. When the building was converted to a hotel, the offices were converted to sleeping rooms, I believe, perhaps adjoining rooms. I have found nothing to tell me for certain how that was handled.

20120907-090955.jpg
A child’s playroom, containing many of the toys available for children during that period. Before plastic yes, and I’ll bet some of them were painted with lead-based paints.

20120907-091123.jpg
The nursery – note the very long gowns which I assume were Christening gowns. I think it’s interesting that really things have not changed that much. Well, insofar as the basics necessary for children. The cribs, the bouncing chairs – at least that’s what the object to the right in the photo appears to be. Obviously, the materials used now are much different, but the concepts remain the same.

20120907-091516.jpg
A man’s traveling trunk. No wheels or extending handles here, and it certainly would not qualify as a carry-on.

20120907-091608.jpg
Ladies’ dresses. Lovely, aren’t they? So feminine. It would be fun, I think, to wear one of these for a special evening – minus the corset, of course – but truly I am a jeans gal and cannot imagine spending one of my regular days in a garment like this. Our lives are much different now, I think. Not to mention that now we get to be regular real people, rather than an ornament to dress a man’s arm.

20120907-091840.jpg
See the Sprectrascope on the table? A very early version of the Viewmaster. Do they even make Viewmasters anymore? Do you remember having, or at least seeing in your lifetime, a Viewmaster? Now we view our photos on a computer of some type. Or a digital frame, which cycles through a series of photos.

20120907-092047.jpg
A Seth Thomas clock; the first I’ve ever seen up close and personal.

20120907-092125.jpg
A man’s smoking table. Back in the day when a woman would have to be an extreme rebel to smoke, and before the evils of smoking, the health risks of smoking, were known. When it was still fashionable for men.

20120907-092345.jpg
Before Kindle and the Nook – before paperbacks and brightly colored paper jackets, there were these little books, a good size for carrying with you I would think. Vera Moore Jones was the daughter of one of the owners after the hotel was sold by Maud Baldwin.

That’s it for this day. Not really any historical information, but I have a bit left that I decided to save for tomorrow, when I publish the final installment of this visit. I have become quite interested in the Baldwin family, Maud in particular, who I am finding more information about than the other family members, but not as much as I would like. And with a bit more conflicting information than I would like – conflicts that make me question the accuracy of stories repeated often before they are recorded and called history.

So much relies on interpretation, doesn’t it?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Travels to the Past – part 3

  1. I love all these photos. My parents used to have an antique shop, so I think all the old style stuff just feels like home to me.

    Like

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    My grandfather smoked a pipe. I still remember the smell of the smoke. I love those little red books πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. “…but truly I am a jeans gal and cannot imagine spending one of my regular days in a garment like this.”

    Amen siSTAR!

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    I *so* enjoy being a regular person instead of an ornament πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. sjbchamp85 says:

    I, too, live most of my life in jeans. However, I have truly enjoyed those few occasions when I have been an “ornament.” Perhaps it’s because the man in my life loves me for me, but also enjoys showing me off.

    Like

  6. sjbchamp85 says:

    OK, I stand corrected. Just reread your post and you stated you wouldn’t want to spend your regular days “all gussied up.” I must concur. I guess my reading comprehension must be slowing down with age.

    Like

  7. The pieces of furniure and other artifacts are fabulous. This has been wonderful Carol, thanks for taking us along~ BB

    Like

  8. Joanne says:

    I loved taking a peek into the everyday private lives of people who lived 100 years ago! Love the dresses, which would be fun to recreate in a style more suited to today, although, like you, I live in jeans! My dad smoked a pipe. I have one of his old pipes and for many years I could still smell the tobacco odour which lingered and reminded me of him. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Lynne Ayers says:

    I remember looking at slides through a litte viewer – when you pushed down the slide a light came on … was that a viewmaster?

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

