Traveling Into the Past – continued

Today we’ll continue our tour of the old Baldwin Hotel, now a museum, with a bit more history. George Baldwin moved west (I have not learned yet from where) in 1872 to join his half-brother, Wallace. George was then 16, and was studying tinsmithing at the Academy in Ashland. The Academy was the forerunner to the Southern Oregon University.

20120906-092216.jpg
Very old dolls on a very old bed.

Eventually, George moved to Linkville (renamed Klamath Falls in 1893), married Josephine Evangeline and started his family. His daughter, Maud, was born in 1876 and was the only girl of their five children. George became active in politics and held local offices before becoming an Oregon State Senator, an office he held for two terms.

20120906-093657.jpg
One of the hotel rooms

As Maud grew up, one of her duties was to accompany her father to his social functions, a duty she was said to dislike intensely. She was the apple of her father’s eye, however, and as such was provided for very well. In 1898, Maud attended a school of photography and became a renowned photographer.

20120906-093915.jpg
Through a window, a view of a private kitchen for one of the apartments in the hotel.

20120906-094005.jpg
The sewing room – I remember my grandmother having one of the Singer treadle machines.

20120906-094052.jpg
A spinning wheel in the sewing room.

20120906-094130.jpg
Is that a steam iron on the ironing board?

20120906-094202.jpg
As the sign says, a hand painted Aladdin lamp which was converted to electricity.

20120906-094254.jpg
Many of the rooms had a bathroom containing a toilet and a tub. That looks like a hair dryer in this one to the right. The sink was in the room itself.

20120906-094522.jpg
Each room had a wood stove to provide warmth.

20120906-094606.jpg
Another room, with vanity, bed, sink and closet.

20120906-094709.jpg
A vanity, holding all of the things a lady would need to groom herself properly – in silver, of course.

Tomorrow, part 3 of our tour.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Traveling Into the Past – continued

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, they put lots of great stuff in the sewing room! Is that a button jar on the ironing board?

    Like

  2. Carol says:

    I must make a couple of corrections to the above info: Maud was born in 1878, not 1876. She began to pursue photography in earnest in 1896, but did not attend the California College of Photography until 1906. I’m finding some conflicting information, but I’m also finding much less information that I would think would be available in our digital world.

    Like

  3. As a proud 3rd generation Native Oregonian I should have known some of this and I did not. Thanks so much for this Carol. I think that you doing it as a series is such s fabulous idea. It’s also a lot of work.
    I just want you to know how much I am enjoying it. You make a wonderful guide. ~ BB

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Visiting old times makes me yearn for them, but also so grateful that I have the options I do today!

    Like

  5. The quilt hanging on the wall in the sewing room is a beauty! Not a big fan of the Pepto Bismol pink bathroom, though šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. suzicate says:

    I love old vanities and grooming tools. We had my hubby’s great grandmother’s vanity. He is in the process of refinishing it. Somewhere along the line someone thought it would be a wonderful idea to cover that beautiful wood with blue paint.

    Like

  7. I love history, and historical museums. I enjoy the way you integrate the photos and the stories, Carol. Looking forward to part three!

    Like

  8. Joanne says:

    Oh, I love the old fashined sewing room, and the old Singer treadle sewing machine! Just imagine the styles of clothing that it would have been used to make. šŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

