The Journey Ends

At last, we will now end the adventure that began in the field of wheat, a place of growth and ripening, and ended in a place of memories and finality. A place memorializing lives long lived

20120822-072150.jpg

20120822-072214.jpg

And lives cut far too short

20120822-072301.jpg

20120822-072326.jpg

Lives just reaching the age of spreading wings and taking flight

20120822-072426.jpg

20120822-072450.jpg

Lives remembered with grand slabs of engraved marble

20120822-072544.jpg

Headless cherubs

20120822-072624.jpg

Stone stacked upon stone

20120822-072705.jpg

Or a humble wooden cross

20120822-072745.jpg

Each marker a reminder of someone lost, someone loved, a life lived long, a life cut short. A life.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Journey Ends

  1. Great pictures, although the one for the daughter was just heartbreaking to see.

    Like

  2. Robin says:

    Lovely photos. I love to visit old cemeteries and read the headstones. I have to wonder about the bear…

    Like

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    Cemeteries a place full of aches and wonder. These are gorgeous stones.

    Like

  4. Carol – I enjoyed the poignant photographs. Like others, I saw what looked like a “bear” and wondered what in the world?!

    I’m glad to have seen the explanation in your response to Robin…that it’s a Native American cemetery and it’s purpose is to honor someone with the tribal name of Standing Bear.

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    A pensive and reflective post today. May we all make the most of the “dash” time between our birth and death dates. Hope you’re having a wonderful day, my friend. xoxo

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    Went to a funeral today on my lunch hour. Though he was old, it was still a life cut short.

    Like

  7. Kathy says:

    Sweet poignant sad beauty of cemeteries. So many stories buried beneath the soil, hidden behind the headstones. Great post, Carol.

    Like

  8. When I was growing up, my friend’s family lived next to a pauper’s cemetery dating from the early 1900s. It was there I learned to plant petunias, daisies and Russian sage near little markers–some illegible–the final tributes to mothers and fathers and children who finally had a place to call their own in sleep. Your pictures capture the beauty and calm of cemeteries, and they pay tribute. Your post was lovely.

    Like

  9. Carol, this was a beautiful post, both the photos and the words. It is one that will stay with me.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

