Moving on From the Amber Waves of Grain

Gep and Kat left yesterday morning, taking with them a piece of my heart, leaving behind a hollow. I miss their company, I miss laughing with them. But I have the memories of their visit, and the knowledge they will return.

Before they left, however, we had our photographic adventure, leaving the wheat field for a local graveyard. A graveyard, you say? Yes, indeed, because the Gep wanted to play around with some “spooky” effects, and Kat is always ready to be his model. What he wanted is like this (one of the photos he took that evening and edited):

20120818-094646.jpg

My job as holder of remote flash continued, and while he set up or between times, I took a few pictures too.

20120818-094737.jpg

Kat patiently waiting. We went on fewer adventures than we’d thought about doing because we found we were content in one another’s company, trying to keep cool in the unusually hot temperatures, playing Words With Friends, short evening walks, talking, laughing, watching documentaries – because Gep is a documentary fan and we found we enjoyed them too.

20120818-094953.jpg

The graveyard is for the local Indian tribe, and I suspect this is an Indian amulet of some kind. It brought to me the realization that surviving loved ones remembered still those who were no longer physically with them. The evening light striking it made it gleam – so appropriate, I thought. The graveyard is quite overgrown with native vegetation – weeds, scrub, some shrubs that may have been planted by family members.

20120818-095258.jpg

As the sun set, Gep took pictures. We chattered, we laughed, we enjoyed. We swatted mosquitoes, we lamented the number of gravestones for babies and very young children. We applauded those that lived long lives.

20120818-095435.jpg

A scraggly tree, one that fit so well the Tim Burton/Halloween mood Gep was going for.

20120818-095544.jpg

The sun setting over the hills, spreading it’s golden glow around. A day closing on lives that were already closed. A day closing on the three of us, basking and pleasuring in our lives continuing.

20120818-095750.jpg

To the west, the sun slides behind the hills.

20120818-095831.jpg

A pitchfork stuck into the ground. Laying next to it was a shovel. For weeding, or?

20120818-095933.jpg

There was a spider weaving his web between these two strings, but my flash caught mainly the shine of the – chimes? – and the growing darkness.

Our mission accomplished, we headed home, but not before I took a few more photos which I will share another day.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Moving on From the Amber Waves of Grain

  1. LKD says:

    I’m glad you had a good visit. Those are some stunning shots!

    Like

  2. cobbies69 says:

    wow this is some post, your pictures are fabulous…;)

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    What a lovely post, Carol. I felt like it was MY kids who were leaving by the time the blog ended. What an interesting idea for Gep to photograph Kat in such a spooky manner. Tell him I like that first photo and would watch the documentary. The other photos are fascinating, too. Love cemeteries, especially Native American cemeteries.

    Like

  4. Dear Carol, I know the house must be so quiet today. Be especialy kind to yourself today, maybe buy some flowers. Something truly frivilous is the way to healing an empty nest feeling.
    Please just be good to you.

    I enjoyed coming along on your adventure with you, kat & Gep. Thank you for that. I recognize landscape shots, the flatland, the mountains. Really nice! I love the 1st photo of at in her black dress, blackbird on her hand. Has all the ambiance of a spooky time.

    Take care friend~ BB

    Like

  5. Bwa haa haa [sinister laughter in case you didn’t hear it just right]… What a fun post – I especially enjoyed the first photograph!

    Like

  6. Dear Carol, your family has the same kind of fun that my family has. I love how playful and creative they are, and how much you all obviously enjoy each other’s company. And it’s really really good to know that is something you do not outgrow. Thank you for sharing those golden moments with us!

    Like

  7. Gorgeous and really compelling shots, all of them, Carol – thank you so much for sharing. You make me want to grab my camera and hit the road!

    Like

  8. Lynne Ayers says:

    Sounds like you had a good visit. It’s always hard watching them go, even if we (I) might have a (sometimes) sigh of relief at the same time.

    Like

  9. Dawn says:

    We used to just hang out together with our parents too…that was enough. We’d climb a local mountain each trip, float in the lake, watch movies but mostly just talk. You have a very special family, I can tell. How wonderful for you to have time like that. Even though it is sad to see them go. I know I used to start crying the last day as soon as I got up!

    And re: your last comment on my blog…I don’t think it’s easier to lose someone you love either way; in a freak accident or slowly with illness. My husband and I have talked about that. Both my parents left suddenly and without warning. Both of his went through the slow agony of cancer. I have to say it’s horrible either way.

    Hugs to you this weekend as you readjust to a quieter home. And hugs to your husband as well on his journey.

    Like

  10. Heather says:

    It is so hard saying goodbye to those we love, even temporary goodbyes. Tony and I visit our families down in Ohio several times a year, and it never gets easier, but the times we spend together are so special. I’m so happy that you get to have so many adventures together with your children, whether it’s wine and beer adventures on your paradise of a porch, or out-and-about adventures in the wheat fields and graveyards. May you have many such happy days together!

    Like

  11. Madhu says:

    The inevitable goodbyes are the worst part of the childrens visit home! Love the idea of a graveyard shoot….sounds ghoulish but fun 🙂

    Like

  12. Lisa says:

    I understand exactly about that hollow feeling in the heart. I’m so glad you had a good visit an I’m sure it was much too short. I, too, am fascinated by old cemeteries. Your photos of the mountains are lovely. I especially like the sunset.

    Like

  13. Karma says:

    You have such beautiful color in these photos, Carol. Just lovely. I’m happy you had a nice visit – do your children live really far away? My mom lives about a 2 1/2 hour drive away, so we have plenty of visits throughout the year.

    Like

  14. Those photos are just stunning!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

