Babies Are Busting Out All Over

Romeo and Juliet would like to announce:

20120717-135534.jpg

The impending arrival of four baby swallows! That Mating Ballet really worked after all. Kat, having a need to always know more, did a Google and learned that it may take up to 19 copulations to get the eggs fertilized.

20120717-135659.jpg

Mom will begin to incubate the eggs after she has laid the second-to-last one of the average 3 to 8 eggs a swallow will lay, with 4 or 5 being the most common. How do they know when they have only one egg left to lay? She will stay on the nest for an average of 11 minutes, then leave to search out food or perhaps to exercise for an average of 9 minutes before she returns.

20120717-135910.jpg

Quite often, while mom is taking a break, dad will stand guard, either on top of the nesting box or in the entry opening – when Mom returns, if dad is in the opening he will fly out simultaneously as she flies in. Amazing! She will incubate for 14 days, after which both mom and dad spend most of their time feeding the hatchlings until they fledge in 14 to 21 days.

20120717-140132.jpg

Coming back from the city across the mountains the other day, we saw that mom and dad Osprey were at their nest with young inside. This is an annual bit of excitement for us – checking that nest which is, coincidentally (you think?) near the fish hatchery. It appeared there were 2 young in the nest, but I could not be sure and I had my little camera that I carry in my purse, not my camera with better resolution and longer zoom. Dad is not shown, but was on a cross bar on the pole that was below the nest. Standing guard, protecting his young, apparently.

Our hummingbird population has increased and the feeder area is becoming a bit frenetic sometimes, with old man Rufous out there trying to prevent any other hummer from getting a bite to eat. There is a chance, you know, that they will drain all three feeders dry and leave him absolutely nothing. This is the normal pattern – we start with a pair of Rufous and a pair of Calliope and then the numbers grow, which I interpret to mean the young have fledged and are joining their parents in the bid for food.

Each year I am impressed and amazed by the way the birds and for that matter all animals just know what to do. They just know what is needed to produce offspring and to nurture those offspring. Without any books telling them what to do! Can you imagine that? We humans have all kinds of assistance and sources of information available, but I’m not sure we do a better job of parenting than the birds and animals do. Admittedly, none of them parent for as many years as we do, so we do have a lot more time to make mistakes – as well as a lot more time to correct mistakes. Still, against the harshest of odds, with scores of risks familiar and not, they manage to reproduce and to survive. As did our ancestors – those stalwart pioneers who sailed the ocean to begin their lives in a new land, also against the harshest of odds with scores of risks.

Survival – isn’t it just the most amazing thing in the world?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Babies Are Busting Out All Over

  1. I love to learn new things and I’m here to tell you, I learned more in this single post than I have elsewhere all week πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    Even the commonest birds are fascinating when one takes the time to observe carefully. I saw the first canaries in my yard – in two years! – today, and I have a picture very similar to your osprey that I’ll get around to sharing at some point πŸ™‚ Like Kat, after I spied the osprey, I had to “do a Google” and I suspect the osprey nest location is no accident!

    Like

  3. We love watching the birdlife outside our windows. We have hummingbirds and they are very territorial! I am enjoying following the story of your swallows.

    Like

  4. Andy says:

    Great post. The fact that countless animals worldwide seem to know exactly what to do without worrying (as far as we know!) or needing to read books like us fumbling parents points to the undeniable fact that there must be a Master Designer behind the whole thing! πŸ™‚ Not so much “survival of the fittest” as it is “incredible programming of the most minute detail”. I absolutely LOVE the header photo of the hummingbird in flight, by the way! Did you take that photo?! Wow!

    Like

  5. Awesome and informative post. I so love the photos inside the nesting box.
    I also was gently and sweetly reminded of all the years my family would look each spring and summer for the return of our osprey that ssat high above the Mckenzie river here in Oregon. What a thrill for the kids to see the couple return year after year. One year we were concerned after a bad Fall storm which took down their nest. Thankfully and amazeningly they rebuilt again in the same tree, differrent branch.
    Birds of a feathers fly together in my family. We’re all bird watchers.

    Thanks so much for such great reminders.~ BB

    Like

  6. Karma says:

    Very interesting about the habits of the swallows. Those are some neat pictures you’ve captured as well.
    I’ve heard that hummingbirds can be quite territorial. I have ruby-throated in my yard, and I’ve only ever seen one male and one female, I believe. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen the young. I’d love to some day if I could.

    Like

  7. Northern Narratives says:

    Nature is wonderful πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Delightful!

    Someone was telling me about turtles recently, and their extraordinary journeys back to where they were born in order to deposit their own eggs, and of course, the precarious process of those babies hatching and making their way into the sea safely.

    Nature is extraordinary. So many lessons for all of us.

    Like

  9. Kathy says:

    My goodness, there are babies everywhere in nature at this time of year. Enjoyed reading about birds and eggs here. Thank Kat for googling. My daughter is always doing the same.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

