Human Kindness is Overflowing

That song, I Think It’s Going to Rain Today, has been buzzing around in my head for days and days now. I’m not sure why, but whether you believe that Randy Newman was being sarcastic about the human condition or was being optimistic about it when he wrote that song, I feel it’s especially meaningful for me at this time. My interpretation goes with the optimistic – that human kindness really is overflowing, and that the lyric “I think it’s going to rain today” means that the kindness is touching me – and, of course, many others in this world. I believe the many responses I got to my Wailing post is a prime example of that kindness and how it has touched me and I simply cannot express adequately how wonderful that feels. The writing of that post was my way of getting it out of my system – for me, writing has always worked better than the talking, although once written I have no problem discussing it. I just seem to express myself more readily and more cohesively when writing. Thank each and every one of you for being!

A couple of mornings ago, looking out my living room window, I saw a pair of bluebirds checking out one of the nesting boxes husband built a couple of years ago. It has been unoccupied thus far this year, and I have hopes the bluebirds will decide to raise a family there. I wanted to share this experience, so here are the photos:

20120626-080720.jpg

20120626-080854.jpg

20120626-080915.jpg

20120626-080943.jpg

There were clouds at sunrise that morning, clouds that looked a bit foreboding but were beautiful I thought.

20120626-081417.jpg

The darkness of these clouds were a good example of the feelings reading the following article from The Week magazine gave me:

Silencing women on abortion
Jessica Valenti
TheNation.com
Republicans are rolling back women’s reproductive rights, and they “want to make sure we remain silent as they do it,” said Jessica Valenti. Consider the bizarre ban Michigan legislators imposed on state Rep. Lisa Brown after she dared to use the word “vagina” in a debate over a highly restrictive anti-abortion bill—a bill that would close most of the state’s abortion clinics and force women to carry horribly deformed fetuses to term. Brown told the male Republicans pushing the bill, “I’m flattered that you’re all so interested in my vagina, but ‘no’ means ‘no.’” The shocked Republican majority promptly banned Brown from speaking the next day. The word she used—vagina—“was so offensive, I don’t even want to say it in front of women,” said Rep. Mike Callton. Apparently, male legislators “would rather not be reminded that the vaginas they’re attempting to control have pesky women with opinions attached to them.” What really offends these men is “the idea of women controlling their own bodies and lives”; they want us to “just shut up already.” But we will not shut up.

I am not sharing this as a vote for abortion, but as an example of the foolishness of some of our legislators. That an adult male would find the word “vagina” so offensive that he could not say it in front of women is so dark ages to my way of thinking. I presume then, we should not say the word “penis” out loud either. I think men who cannot deal with words that describe body parts in a very proper way should not be the ones who make the decisions that affect not only women, but all of us. Really, guys? Really?!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Human Kindness is Overflowing

  1. TBM says:

    I love the bluebirds and I wish them many happy babies. And really, they threw a fit because she used the word vagina. Some people need to grow up and you would hope politicians could act like adults, but I guess some just can’t. What word should women use?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      TBM, as to what word women should use, if we’re referring to men like the one quoted I can think of a few. I will not, however, subject you to them.

      Like

  2. Thank you for posting this, Carol! It is scary to see that we have to fight battles for basic civil rights that I had thought were won decades ago.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Naomo, those battle seem to be continually resurrected because someone else thinks they know what is best for us than we do. It makes me so tired, so frustrated, and so certain this system needs renovating.

      Like

  3. Lynne Ayers says:

    Agreed. If a (hopefully) educated adult in a position of deliberating and deciding the course of law and government cannot say ‘vagina’ I would question his ability to fully deliberate the issues at hand with an open mind. And I loved your captions – I guess blue bird got hung up inspecting the roomy spaciousness of the subject abode.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Lynne, such a good point – how can a man (or any person) who cannot say the word “vagina” dliberate openly and fairly? I think he cannot.

      Like

  4. ladywise says:

    Wow, hard to know where to start here. First of all, the bird pictures are awesome. Adorable way to put them together.

    Second of all, I’m like you, I’m able to say way more of what I actually feel in writing because I can stay on track with what I’m talking about rather than getting off subject. I find I have to be careful there too though because I get misinterpreted sometimes or I get too deep into the subject and tend to upset people not meaning to.

    Third, really? They were insulted by the word vagina? Where do they think they came from if not a vagina! lol

    As far as abortion goes…well, I’ve never thought it should be a “one size fits all” rule of thumb. There are so many reasons to have an abortion or not that I still don’t agree that it should be a law one way or the other because it’s such a personal choice for every woman and there are so many reasons to do or not to do it.

    Just my opinions. Last I would like to add that there is no place greater (in my opinion) than here to do your wailing. Lord knows I’ve done my share of it here. The kind of person that it takes to sit down and write a blog or read another persons blog and respond to it, is the kind of person that can understand “wailing” and actually offer some relief for whatever the wailing is about. Wail away my dear for we are always here.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Tlhank you, Debra,for your visit and your comments. What you say about writing is so true for me too – it’s so easy to get sidetracked in a conversation and forget where I was headed, or to find myself trying to explain myself when I would be best off to just say what I have to say and let it lie.
      Your thoughts on abortion are mine – each woman has to make her own choices as to what she can best deal with in her life, and those who are not directly involved need to live their lives and let the rest of us do the same. My choice may not be your choice and that’s just fine. We’re all entitled to our own opinions.

      Like

  5. Angelia Sims says:

    I can think of other “words” to describe those legislators!! And I LOVE that song. It is beautiful inside and out. One of my favorite movies Beaches plays it. Brings back a lot of memories. I really do hope it rains where it is needed most.

    Like

  6. suzicate says:

    So pretty! You truly get the most spectacular shots!

    Like

  7. Amen siSTAR! (and the photos are amazing, too)…

    Like

  8. Heather says:

    Sometimes humans can be such incredible beings (your recent experiences on here, for example), and sometimes they can be such jerks. I was down in Atlanta when that whole “vagina” episode occurred – in my home state! I cannot fathom what that man was hoping to accomplish, but I hope it didn’t work out. I wish people could put their efforts into pretty much anything besides trying to control others’ lives. In other news, I am so very happy you got those bird shots! Thank you for the vicarious moments of tranquility (and cuteness) 🙂

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Aren’t we an incredibly diverse creation,we humans? Some of us make me swell up with pride, others of us make me go “say, what?”. I think what that man, that legislator in your home state, was hoping to accomplish something that I thought went away in the 60s – keeping women in the kitchen, barefoot and pregnant. In my demented way of thinking, I had this notion that there were more important issues in this country to resolve. Silly ole me!

      Like

  9. Madhu says:

    Oh we have a lot of such silly debates here! And most of that holier than thou attitude is just for public consumption. Is there really a public out there that laps this up? The private lives of these very same individuals might barely stand up to scrutiny 🙂
    Adore your bird shots and the captions.

    Like

  10. Lisa says:

    I so hope Mama Blue like the real estate picked out for her. Perhaps we’ll see shots of wee ones soon. As for the other…it’s hard to legislate morality. The people who are up in arms about body parts are an embarrassment.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

