I Don’t Want Much – Maybe Just Everything

You ever have a time where you’re sitting quietly and your mind just wanders about freely until you start noticing things? You know, those “things” that need to be taken care of. By you. Because life has not afforded you a slave. Because for some reason you’re expected to be productive and responsible. I was there this morning, and those thoughts brought me here. To what I want. To what I would ask for if I were offered a bucketful of what I wants.

1. Weedless gardens. Gardens where the weeds knew they were not welcome, and heeded my warnings because if they came to visit after having been warned, I would turn my evil eye on them and they would instantly shrivel.

2. Pine cones that, once having fallen off the tree to the ground, would walk themselves back to the burn pile where they would park themselves in a neat pile, just awaiting a burn day.

3. Pine needles that would fly off the trees, directly into the burn pile. Skip the landing on the ground part.

4. Self-cleaning floors in my house. That would include the sweeping, vacuuming, scrubbing parts. And no, not one of those robot vacuums, which I’m pretty sure my animals would consider fair game. Or at least some of them would. Bailey would view it as a threat, Twiggy would probably just stay out of its way, but Shasta and Lily? Oh my, would they have a good time with such a wonderful toy!

5. A completely dustless environment. What purpose does dust serve anyway? None that I can see. The pollen must drift, I know, or we would have no flowers or fruit, but it could be allowed to drift where it needs to go, and stay out of my house! And off my outside furniture! Leave me alone, I don’t go around bothering you!

6. Clothes that, once you put them on, automatically fit to your frame as they should. You know, one-size-fits-all that truly fits all – perfectly.

7. While we’re talking about clothes, clothes that get themselves out of the dryer, folded and put away would be good. I’ll do the putting them in the washer and moving them to the dryer parts, that’s not a problem for me. I mean, I have to do something, don’t I? Wait – why do I?

8. Meals that plan themselves, require minimum preparation and cleanup and are wonderfully delicious. Oh yes, and once the week’s menu has been planned, an order for the appropriate ingredients is automatically conveyed to the grocery store, delivered and put away.

9. Elected officials that really do want to do, and will do, what’s best for their country and its people. Who will put their promises into action and worry not at all about being re-elected or the approval of their party.

10. I don’t need a perfect world, but liberty and justice for all would be good. Peace on earth and goodwill towards fellow man would be good. A healthy environment, a cure for cancer, common sense – those would also be nice.

See, I don’t want much. Just everything.

And now, we’ve made it through the words that needed to come out, I will share some photos I took the other afternoon. Those of you who have been around for awhile know my fascination with birds and that I’m really a voyeur who gets great pleasure from watching birds bathe. Well, here’s proof!

20120622-085115.jpg
Hmmm, this is pretty nice.

20120622-085148.jpg

20120622-085215.jpg

20120622-085250.jpg
Ahhh, yes, this is very good!

20120622-085700.jpg

20120622-085733.jpg

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I Don’t Want Much – Maybe Just Everything

  1. kaodell says:

    House elves, or magic, that is the solution.

    Like

  2. Madhu says:

    If only…….what a perfect world it would be! Love the results of your voyeurism šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    I want all those things, too! We need to figure out a way…you do know women REALLY DO rule the world, so yes, we can figure it out!

    Like

  4. Sheri says:

    Once upon a time I had all of the above, except for #6 and #9. (Lived in the Philippines with a live-in housemaid.) It was truly a magical time in my life. But for now, I’d simply wish for having #9 come true. That’s what’s really important to me!

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    I think maybe if we had #10, #9 would follow? As for the rest, let me know how it works out, and I’ll start wishing too!
    For now, I’m kind of wishing I was that bird. Looks like a great time šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I’m all over #9 and #10. And I thoroughly enjoyed the vivid, engaging photographs.

    Like

  7. Lisa says:

    It helps if the birds have just a touch of exhibitionist in them too! As for those pesky distractions….have another glass of wine. They tend to not look so important! šŸ™‚ Hope you have a fantastic weekend…of bird watching.

    Like

  8. Karma says:

    What an awesome wishlist!
    I share your fascination with the bird-voyeurism. šŸ˜‰

    Like

  9. Kathy says:

    So interesting that you just posted this, Carol. I was just outside sipping tea on the deck thinking that, for most of my life, I have wanted to BE everyone. Not just Kathy. Hmmm…we humans are never satisfied. Do you think that little robin is satisfied just with being himself, the small delight of a birdbath, the simple feel of water?

    Like

  10. I love your list of wants! Wouldn’t we all love those! šŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Northern Narratives says:

    Great list. It is wonderful how you can put to words what so many of us are feeling. Love the bird photos.

    Like

  12. melouisef says:

    And dogs who do not need a bath
    šŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Hi Carol, great post! I would settle for #10!

    Like

  14. Lynne Ayers says:

    I enjoy the grunt work of gardening – makes me feel somewhat virtuous that I got all sweaty and dirty and besides, it clears my mind … mind you repetitious make-work projects caused by lazy trees that won’t spit their needles and cones onto the burn heap directly sounds less than fun … but I am definitely with you on the dust thing – if I don’t move up on that soon some of my furniture may give under the weight … and the tumbleweeds under the beds … !! World peace and miraculous healings always gets a vote of course.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

