Say What?!

A Dutch man has honored his dead cat by turning him into a helicopter. Artist Bart Jansen’s beloved cat Orville died recently after being hit by a car. Jansen had the animal stuffed and attached four vertical propellers to his paws, turning him into an “Orvillecopter” that can be flown around like a remote-controlled aircraft. Jansen insists it’s a respectful way of honoring his cat, who was named after American aviation pioneer Orville Wright. “After a period of mourning,” Jansen said, “he received his propellers posthumously.” (From The Week magazine)

Say What?!

On HGTV’s House Hunters, the woman in one couple did not want trees around her house.Why? Because she didn’t like the “noise” of birds chirping in the morning. He wants his own area, his man cave, his “sanctuary”. Sanctuary from – what? Hmmm, she doesn’t need her own space?

Say What?!

On this one, I think names and parties are interchangeable. “Obama’s attack on Romney’s governorship is “slanted” and “misleading,’’ said Josh Hicks in WashingtonPost.com.” Politicians in a political campaign and information being slanted is surprising?

Say What?!

Wait – packaging for many food products is smaller now – or at least the weight of the contents is smaller. Prices, however, have not gone down.

Say What?!

HGTV again – all these first-time property buyers “must” have stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, open floor plan, hardwood floors (laminated is not good, apparently) and all the space they want in the whole world. Apparently, none of them have heard of compromise and working their way up.

Say What?!

I’m obviously not with the current times. Stuck in the “back in the day” thing, I guess.

So we’ll just move on now to some photos we took on our trip back to Minnesota in 2009.

20120612-193202.jpg
The Needles in the Black Hills of South Dakota. Those two little dots at the top are a rock climbing instructor and his student. Thinking about the idea of rappeling down.

20120612-193407.jpg
The student gets this far – frequently. But down is a long long ways. We had to leave, but we assume she eventually did get down.

20120612-193504.jpg
In the Scandinavian Village in Minot, North Dakota, where I lived for awhile as a teenager. Much has changed since then!

20120612-193602.jpg
A statue of Hans Christian Anderson in the Scandinavian Village. Forgive the blown-out background. Not sure what happened there.

What makes you say what?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Say What?!

  1. Fun post, Carol. When we were in Scandinavia we saw several stave churches that were centuries old. I didn’t know we had one in the US. So cool!

    Like

  2. kaodell says:

    Your ancestors built a stave church with a troll, awesome.

    Like

  3. Thanks for this fun post indeed Carol !! When I read the 1st few lines I did ACTUALLY go “huh? Say what !!” LOL Enjoy the rest of your week 🙂

    Like

  4. suzicate says:

    Crazy! How and why would one even come up with the idea of turning his deceased cat into a helicopter?

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    Cat turned into a helicopter? \”Say what?\” indeed! HGTV drives me crazy when the young, first-time buyers start their wish list. But I can\’t believe the people who have a 600,000+ budget! I would love to have their job. Enjoyable post. It made me laugh as well as shake my head.

    Like

  6. Laura says:

    What was that man thinking? I could never turn my beloved pet into a toy (for lack of better word). The idea of it gives me the creeps. There is certainly some weird stuff going on these days…

    Like

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    I find HGTV’s first time home buyers so funny…..We have come to expect a lot immediately. Thanks for sharing. Love your photos too!

    Like

  8. Great one Carol! I really enjoyed the Say What’s concerning HGTV’s Property Virgins. I am so pleased to hear that I am not the only one thinking this is partly what is wrong with our world today. Expectaions of everything NOW. None of this we’ll work up to those big things, none of this we’ll uograde as we can. I saw this in my daughter #1 when she married in the late 90’s. She had nicer things than we did and we’d been married almost 30 yrs.

    Thanks for letting me rant. Always feels good after.

    Like

  9. Angelia Sims says:

    Too funny! Those house buyers in HGTV drive me nuts! Ha. Love the Scandanavian village pic. Gorgeous!

    Like

  10. Robin says:

    I don’t remember how I found your blog, but I stop by regularly to look at your beautiful photos. What funny observations in the ‘Say What’ part of the post. I think that man took the name of his cat a little too literally!

    Like

  11. Cat turned helicopter (thank goodness it was dead), sounds just plain creepy. Fly a kite. Fly a remote control plane. But bury the poor dead cat.

    Like

  12. I despise it when manufactures raise the price not by raising the price but by making the portions smaller.

    My favorite ice cream used to be $4.59 a gallon. Suddenly I noticed that I didn’t seem to get as many milk shakes from a gallon anymore. Aha! It wasn’t a gallon. It was 1.75 gallons! I started watching things and noticed that the loaf of bread was smaller but the price was the same. And on and on and on.

    By the way, my favorite ice cream is still $4.59, but it’s for a half gallon.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

